Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - tramp20

Pages: [1] 2
1
@menion
also: since the update to 3.56.4 under android 11, locus map pro runs extremely slowly;
further problems when calling up/selecting themes: the app crashes or stops!
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

2
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.5.+ ( 1. 12. 2021+ )
« on: December 21, 2021, 08:16:05 »
"_themes" is an ugly name, also having all user content beside each other (themes, vectormaps, srtm...) is good for external backup. Better order, easier to find...

Theme attached.
I agree. It's more complicated to set up automatic backups (e.g. with FolderSync) if data like this (that I want to backup) is in different base directories, together with other data like maps (that are too big for regular backups). Same applies for mapsOnline/custom directory. Why not put all this under "data", and only the actual maps under "maps*" ?
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

3
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.5.+ ( 1. 12. 2021+ )
« on: December 17, 2021, 13:32:47 »
New version 4.5.5 is available on the Google Play.

Change in the A11+ file-system > check app settings > Misc > File manager and enjoy it ;). And please, do not forget to keep in mind (we will be writing it everywhere) > we have a temporary exception!! from the Google team. Temporary for how long? No one knows. So we have to prepare, it will end one day ...



Locus Map Pro is currently in the verification process ... we'll see how things go ...
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

4
Discussion/New features / Re: Android 11+, changes
« on: November 30, 2021, 08:24:56 »
Menion,
[snip]
I really have to agree with Michael here. I have no problem to open a Help Desc topic, that's not the point. But this is too slow for this important topic. I have friends for whom I am the "Locus guru", but who would never take the time to log in on the help desk or whatever. And they all have big maps on extSd that they can't move to internal.
And I'm still not even sure from the Manual entry: Does Locus even offer to move all data to extSd instead of intSd on first start with new version? The manual is not explicit on this. I'm honestly not willing to try out Beta this time (even though I always do), because this is obviously a one way street. I would be ok if you say "Google forces my hand, for now you'll just have to do it, and you can move to extSd, but next I will implement way to divide big and small data between intSd and extSd". But making this dependent on a lengthy voting process is very disappointing - and potentially p***ing off many users. As Michael says, don't underestimate the amount of users with cheap phones with small internal SD, slapping a big MicroSD into the slot...
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

5
Troubles & Questions / Re: ANT+ manager
« on: June 10, 2021, 10:00:25 »
Oki, fine.

More than one sensor is only doable by using "Speed" and "Speed & cadence" sensors (you may use "speed & cadence" with only "speed" sensor). Anyway the new "Sensors manager" is in preparation and this feature will be possible there.
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

6
Troubles & Questions / Re: ANT+ manager
« on: May 31, 2021, 15:41:34 »
Hi Tramp,
under the tools button in the sensor panel in the ANT manager is a "Reset" button. This may help with silent connecting done by Locus Map, so give it a try.
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

7
Hi guys,
sorry, my mistake  :-X

Will be fixed in the next version at the start of next week.
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

8
Thanks @tramp, based on this and also the second problem with crash after adding the WMS map, I've today published one more version: 3.48.2. Tested so it should work correctly now.

@balloni55
thanks, the TODO list for geocaching is growing and growing ...  ???

Some problems with backup ... there should be minor update in current version in cases, you get backups more often then planned. Anyway I still did not observe any "unsucessful" message ...
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

9
Feedback is amazing all these years ... and most probably it's the main reason I do this day by day for more than 10 years now :).

The only problem I see > my own on my working speed ... unfortunately, it won't be better :)
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

10
It is a little complicated and not always united (version numbers).

Anyway, I've just today published firstly Locus Map Free Beta on the Google Play and then Locus Map 4 Alpha here on the forum (so it has all fixes/changes of Beta as well).

Both versions have now the same version number, so if you installed LM4 Alpha, Beta should not overwrite it.
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

11
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: April 01, 2020, 15:07:54 »
@0709, @freischneider, @SonnyS
It's simple: "if it isn't broke don't fix it" > everything on Android brake from time to time and needs a rewrite. Not just stuff inside, but also UI. It is not visible, but more than 50% of my time is spent on UI updates, because with every new Android, new Android library, something stops to work correctly. If I stop changing stuff, I may also stop improving and updating ... it's not broken, so why update it.

Exactly because of what you wrote, we made a decision about Locus Map future. That's main reason, why I'll be "wasting" time and keeping Locus Classic (current Locus Map Pro) with current (as much as possible) UI, current functionality etc ... to keep users who are happy with current app .. still happy.

And who won't be worry to risk a different version, there will be a new Locus Map. Don't search for some mystery here, progress can't be stopped .. at least not progress in my head :).

Anyway, you may still notice, that even that I try to make UI easier and more logical for new users, there still be a lot of options to customize it ... I have a feeling that even more than before :).
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

12
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: December 26, 2019, 21:20:07 »
Hi,
so second alpha version with various UI/UX improvements that should solve most of the problems we discuss here. The main difference you may notice is hidden top panel & zoom buttons. It may be re-enabled over map-screen content settings.

Please just keep in mind, that what I try to achieve here with your help, is basic universal settings suitable for most of the users. Because you use the app for so long, you have specific needs, that I'm sure we will solve soon or later as well ;).

Known problems to solve (not yet always sure how or "if")
  • Too much icons in bottom panel (functions below centering button)
  • Missing "Scale lock" feature
  • Configurable number of items in main menu
  • Configurable position of zoom buttons

Download here.
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

13
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Re: [APP] - version 3.42.+ ( 5. 12. 2019 )
« on: December 09, 2019, 04:56:30 »
PS, I had to think about why that prototype screenshot was bugging me...  Now I know.

There are things covering up parts of the map.  Four round things.  The map to me is #1, it's the reason for the app.  I have Locus set up to show a clean map rectangle, and all the cruft is outside of it, in panels where it belongs.  (Other than scale and invisible [!] copyright, but close enough.)

Also, I like BIG targets for the + and - buttons.  They're quite big now, but those fat round circles in the prototype look smaller and harder to hit, certainly harder with the left thumb.

My two euro-cents...  :)
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

14
Oki, it's in new 3.42 version in Expert settings. Thanks ;)
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

15
Wenn du einen Track ohne Abbiegehinweise hast. Kannst du ihn im Routenplaner mit BRouter einfach nachplanen. Ich mache das oft. Bei ca 40 km dauert das max. 10 min.
Den Track einblenden und dann in den Routenplaner. Du setzt einen Punkt am Anfang und dann immer wieder auf der Strecke. Wenn er mal anderst plant wie du willst, kannst du mit den roten hilfspunkten einfach an eine andere Stelle ziehen. Es geht natürlich nicht wenn OSM den Abschnitt nicht als Weg hat. Da kannst du das Routingprofil dann kurz auf manuell umschalten und dann wieder auf MTB,Wandern.....
Die ersten paar mal braucht es etwas länger aber dann flutscht es ruck zuck.
Am besten wäre gleich im Routenplaner zu planen.

Das was du da manuell alles machst, könnte Locus auch automatisch machen. Dafür gibt es von mir einen Vorschlag in diesem Thema. Bei Interesse einfach Voten oder was dazu schreiben.
https://help.locusmap.eu/topic/navigation-from-track
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

Pages: [1] 2