Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Diddi

Pages: 1 2 [3]
31
Locus Map 4, prep (Archived) / Android 11
« on: February 26, 2021, 11:20:37 »
With Android 11 this popup occurs almost every time after closing LM4 (with a delay of about 20 sec.,)
The following users thanked this post: Diddi

32
Locus Map 4, prep (Archived) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (beta)
« on: February 01, 2021, 19:11:32 »
These graphical problems may appear due to the complexity of the whole main screen layout. Fortunately, they are not serious problems.

I've added one more refresh of the "track rec button", so it should help here.
The following users thanked this post: Diddi

33
Locus Map 4, prep (Archived) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (beta)
« on: January 29, 2021, 15:54:42 »
The new version MapGooglePlay_4.0.0 - Beta 3_985_beta,  as usually at the last moment on Friday, ready to play with.

@baegas
I do not have experience with the "Dex" system, but the whole "full-screen" system needs a bigger update. I'm sure, once done, it will help on Dex as well.

@balloni55
understand your point with the "guide on" button. But it leads more to a robust setup of the bottom panel for all buttons, not just few special geocaching. And this is not planned for now.

@freischneider
the button is moved a little bit up, to be aligned with the centering button. There is nothing that may convince me that it does not look nice :).

@tapio
well, a good old Map manager has many problems, not just this one. That's why I almost two years ago started work on the new Map Manager V2. It is in Beta under the "beta" category ... but it is not yet finished. Anyway thanks for reports, mainly about deleting of the map. I'll try to look at it.
The following users thanked this post: Diddi

34
Locus Map 4, prep (Archived) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (beta)
« on: January 27, 2021, 08:38:35 »
I never considered the position of the zoom buttons as a problem. Buttons are connected to the big centering button, not directly to the center of the screen. So it depends on the screen resolution. But yes, usually they are close to the middle.

The color of the buttons is an interesting topic. A single color probably can't be always "perfect". I'll maybe try to play a little bit with shadows > thanks for the tip.

Controlling is a problem with gloves ... always. Hmm, what you need is close to the existing "Screen lock" function, except this completely disable all taps. Hmm ...
Doesn't everyone use the volume buttons with gloves? ;)
That said, I also sometimes thought it would be great to have a "limited screen lock", where zooming and panning is possible, but no other interaction (except disabling the screen lock, obviously). During a tour, I often take out the phone to look at the map, and then I want to see what's ahead, but can't pan in Screen lock mode.
Dreaming on about this, why not hide all buttons and stuff in screen lock? They are useless and give the wrong impression they are active. Then screen lock would be just the map over the full display, allowing zooming and panning, and of course the slide from the left to deactivate it. Whatcha think?
The following users thanked this post: Diddi

35
Locus Map 4, prep (Archived) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (beta)
« on: January 22, 2021, 12:20:07 »
New version *** MapGooglePlay_4.0.0 - Beta 2_984_beta *** ready-to-play!

Enjoy weekend!

@poutnikl
hmm oki, so what is the suggestion? I still use the Pixel 2 device (5''! screen) and never had a problem with this and I currently have no idea, how to make it better.
The following users thanked this post: Diddi

36
Locus Map 4, prep (Archived) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (beta)
« on: January 22, 2021, 10:10:20 »
@Diddi
ah, I got it, thanks, fixed!

@slarti76
It will be a little dynamic process. I've tested it manually on the emulator and more than 5 buttons + 1 menu looks quite bad. We will see ...

@balloni55
- quick "log in" button in the parent cache panel > you know better than me :). I just expected that this may be useful, but let's remove it. It may be added back later when needed.
- creating a waypoint is a little more complex task than it may look. It is currently tightly connected to the "waypoints" screen. So ... oki, done :)

@poutnik
what is the problem with this slider?  ;D. It jumps with certain steps (10 or 25%) and I found it quite easy to set precise value. It sounds like it does not work as expected. May you post a screenshot where may be visible a problem little bit? Thanks!

@Andrew Heard
now ok ... fine. Error 14199 is the worst that may happen. It is the last step when the app handles some negative states and this says something like: "I really do not know what happen. Server does not respond or I do not understand this answer or there is some problem with data ... sorry, do not know". So it may be a serious problem or it may be just a minor issue in my code. When this happens, it may be useful to create quickly a bug report over the system. There may be some more info ...

@slarti76
hmm, your description of how it works is precise. And a good point.
Asking for "discard" when leaving the planner is not ideal I think. I'll do something with it ... thanks!
The following users thanked this post: Diddi

37
Locus Map 4, prep (Archived) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (beta)
« on: January 11, 2021, 19:50:25 »
@Diddi
thanks for the feedback.

- top bar > maybe later. Agree that on bigger devices, there is enough space for the second panel

- cache logs: button has standard size, so clickable area is the same as for e.g. refresh button. Refresh of logs is problematic because it is not done by Locus Map directly, but it's done over 3rd party app (G4L) > complicated.

- GC side menu: hmm it was opened by a slide from the right. Right, good point. You are this first after a few months of testing who point on this problem, so definitely not a serious issue ... how to solve it, hmm  :P

- missing options in the GC menu? Should not be. You may define two quick buttons to the bottom panel. If defined, these functions are then missing in the top-right menu, so maybe this is your case?

- third shortcut > added to TODO list, thanks

- "more" below listing. Well, as you wrote above, "arrow is too small". I consider listing as very important and also app display longer part of it, so the button below makes sense to me.

- short text in popups > it is a global problem across the whole app, not just here. I'll look at it, thanks.

@slarti76
hmm ... I wrote it somewhere, not clearly, that since the new public Beta test version, we cleared the server database and switched the whole infrastructure to the final production-ready system. So now all data remains on the server like with the regular final version. But, your old app communicates still with a testing server that is already empty. Maybe from here comes a problem? I'm sure it is, there is no other explanation. So please use the new version, thanks.

@freischneider
I'm not sure if Michal wants to be already public, but yes, the work-in-progress manual is already in preparation here.

@balloni55
hmm, I was thinking about this problem before as well and agree, it may be a little more complicated. As you clearly display in the video, the map is visible only in case, point detail is not shown by click on the point directly on the map. This was previously solved by the "map" button in the bottom panel ... so return it back? Hmm ...
The following users thanked this post: Diddi

Pages: 1 2 [3]