Author Topic: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)  (Read 53226 times)

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11302
  • Thanked: 284 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #150 on: February 03, 2017, 18:21:57 »
Hello, thanks all for valuable feedback.

Oki so next iteration step. Seem you have various opinions on activated/disabled state. Correct from technical point of view, is forget on it. There is no "active" state, because preferences are just "loaded", nothing more. On second side, I can imagine that for some users, can be idea of "activated settings" more imaginable. Let's leave this for now, so I've removed this red highlight. Preset will be just loaded, nothing more for now.

About two necessary screens to setup preset vs single screen: no discussion that single screen with all preferences will be most easy to understand. And when number of preferences remains low as is now, it should work.
One screen with switch on one side may work as well, but for me it looks like too much control buttons on single place = over-buttoned. I always liked to give users "options", so "two screens" solutions still looks for me like most feature rich and not yet too complex. Maybe more hidden and less disturbing "edit" button, should help. I'll discuss it with Petr and Michal next week.

@Andrew Heard: I'm sorry, I still do not understand what exactly is a problem with "centering". "Center" preference in preset after selection do exactly! same action, like when you tap on "center button" in bottom left corner of map screen. it probably don't work as expected only when GPS is turned off right?

@Josefe: hmm now I've changed something you liked :). Sorry

Thanks all once more. I'm going to publish new Beta version with hope, all will work as expected and wish you nice weekend!
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2469
  • Thanked: 95 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #151 on: February 03, 2017, 21:06:53 »
V 3.21.1.7
FC by adding new preset and map switch on restart are solved, thanks ;)
Locus PRO 3.38.7
 
The following users thanked this post: menion

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 665
  • Thanked: 24 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #152 on: February 03, 2017, 23:00:23 »
when you change preset, then "center" map is probably enabled. It should simulate tap on bottom left "center button" on map screen. It probably work exactly same, right?
@menion - ahh - I see, and I therefore think there is a bug, or at least improvement can be made - I don't have a valid GPS position, phone has been inside for days, so when I tap "center button" valid message is displayed "unable to obtain valid location" and position is not changed...but when I activate preset with "center button" enabled, the map position is still moved to old/ invalid position.

> it probably don't work as expected only when GPS is turned off right?
exactly - difference in behavior (as explained above)

3.21.1.7: phone locked up after making changes to preset then selecting preset

3.21.1.7: bug: tap + to add new Preset > tap Cancel > keyboard remains on screen
« Last Edit: February 03, 2017, 23:46:30 by Andrew Heard »
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2469
  • Thanked: 95 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #153 on: February 04, 2017, 13:46:12 »
question:
how can i close locus without hideing a dashboard which is visible by a active preset?
e.g.
i activate a preset and  dashboard is visble :)
after my tour i want to close locus, so normaly i click back button two times. But now after the first click dashboard disapeares  :-[ and i click back button twice  to close locus.
On next start of locus last active preset is furthermore active but without visible dashboard. I understand, locus open "last state"

Locus PRO 3.38.7
 

Offline Žajdlík Josef

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 295
  • Thanked: 14 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia M, Alcatel One Touch II, Samsung A3 (2017)
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #154 on: February 04, 2017, 18:01:14 »
Experience of practical use for day hiking in 3.21.1.7.
Functionality on my phone without problems, and create preset switching seamlessly.
When using different presets I ran into a small problem. Example: The first time I created several presets for hiking, ski and bike. The "recalculate the route," but I do not need it because even for one do not use, so I had they not been activated. For several days I created a preset "auto" and it has set a "route recalculation" priority route. Preset I tried, and then switch back to the preset "tourism". But the preset to "tourism" has been active route recalculation, and it remained settings from "auto". Navigation is therefore behaved somewhat unexpectedly. The higher amount of presets could this could happen, because nobody will remember what those older activated. The solution offers two. Either create a "basic preset" all options are active in some form of universal and apply the first and only after expre other changes in any preset, be sure to activate all functions. Each has its advantages and disadvantages.

CZ: Zkušenosti z praktického použití na celodenní turistice V 3.21.1.7.
Funkčnost na mém telefonu bez problémů, přepínání i vytváření preset bez problémů.
Při používání různých presetů jsem narazil na drobnou potíž. Příklad: Napoprvé jsem vytvořil několik presetů pro turistiku, lyže a kolo. Funkci "přepočet trasy" ale nepotřebuji protože ji ani u jednoho nepoužívám, proto jsem ji u nich neaktivoval. Za několik dnů jsem vytvořil preset "auto" a v něm nastavil "přepočet trasy" s prioritou na trasu. Preset jsem vyzkoušel a pak se přepnul zpět do presetu "turistika". Jenže v presetu na "turistika" nebyl přepočet trasy aktivní a tak tam zůstalo nastavení z profilu "auto". Navigace se tudíž chovala poněkud nečekaně. Při větším množství presetů by se tohle mohlo stávat, protože si nikdo nebude pamatovat co v těch starších aktivoval. Řešení se nabízí dvě. Buď si vytvořit "základní preset" se všemi volbami aktivními v nějaké univerzální podobě, aplikovat napřed ten a teprve po něm jiný se změnami třeba pro turistiku, nebo v každém presetu pro jistotu aktivovat všechny funkce. Každá varianta má své výhody i nevýhody.
 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 665
  • Thanked: 24 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #155 on: February 04, 2017, 22:52:40 »
question:
how can i close locus without hideing a dashboard which is visible by a active preset?
e.g.
i activate a preset and  dashboard is visble :)
after my tour i want to close locus, so normaly i click back button two times. But now after the first click dashboard disapeares  :-[ and i click back button twice  to close locus.
On next start of locus last active preset is furthermore active but without visible dashboard. I understand, locus open "last state"
@balloni55 - I just checked my 3.21.1.7- all is OK: only click back button two times to exit, still dashboard visible on 1st back button, then on restart dashboard state restored (visible or not). Selected each of 3 presets, restarted Locus, each preset correctly restored.

@menion - appears preset settings are not backed up, or not restored?
« Last Edit: February 04, 2017, 23:16:12 by Andrew Heard »
 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 665
  • Thanked: 24 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #156 on: February 04, 2017, 23:23:03 »
Experience of practical use for day hiking in 3.21.1.7.
Functionality on my phone without problems, and create preset switching seamlessly.
When using different presets I ran into a small problem. Example: The first time I created several presets for hiking, ski and bike. The "recalculate the route," but I do not need it because even for one do not use, so I had they not been activated. For several days I created a preset "auto" and it has set a "route recalculation" priority route. Preset I tried, and then switch back to the preset "tourism". But the preset to "tourism" has been active route recalculation, and it remained settings from "auto". Navigation is therefore behaved somewhat unexpectedly. The higher amount of presets could this could happen, because nobody will remember what those older activated. The solution offers two. Either create a "basic preset" all options are active in some form of universal and apply the first and only after expre other changes in any preset, be sure to activate all functions. Each has its advantages and disadvantages.
@Žajdlík Josef - I now just include every setting in every present. I think it avoids your experience.
 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 665
  • Thanked: 24 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #157 on: February 05, 2017, 03:21:13 »
I have just been reading about Presets in the Garmin eTrex 10/20/30 user manual static.garmincdn.com/pumac/eTrex_10-20-30_OM_EN.pdf - page 29. Garmin calls Presets Profiles!

Summary:
  • Preset > Add - adds new preset using existing settings
  • Preset > T:Edit meta - call this "Rename"
  • Preset > Delete - no change
  • Preset > T:Edit content - no longer needed (see next point)
  • The exact list of settings is not visible to the user. No long/ complex screens of settings  - would make Petr happy and considerably reduce programming/ translations.
  • There is zero or one active preset. As settings are changed they are automatically saved to this active preset.
  • I think it would therefore be useful to again display "active" or preset name in red, for the active preset.
  • This model has radically simpler interface but I think offers same functionality, and faster/ more efficient to use.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2017, 03:25:45 by Andrew Heard »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11302
  • Thanked: 284 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #158 on: February 05, 2017, 08:55:25 »
@balloni55: every dashboard has it's own settings that say, if dashboard should be closed by "back" button or not. You use probably dashboard that has this enabled (close by back button) and Andrew opposite.

@Andrew Heard: yep, presets are not added to backup. And thanks for tips from garmin world ... I'll look at it.

Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline lor74cas

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 245
  • Thanked: 16 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung A5 2017
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #159 on: February 05, 2017, 09:09:29 »
I have just been reading about Presets in the Garmin eTrex 10/20/30 user manual static.garmincdn.com/pumac/eTrex_10-20-30_OM_EN.pdf - page 29. Garmin calls Presets Profiles!

Summary:
  • Preset > Add - adds new preset using existing settings
  • Preset > T:Edit meta - call this "Rename"
  • Preset > Delete - no change
  • Preset > T:Edit content - no longer needed (see next point)
  • The exact list of settings is not visible to the user. No long/ complex screens of settings  - would make Petr happy and considerably reduce programming/ translations.
  • There is zero or one active preset. As settings are changed they are automatically saved to this active preset.
  • I think it would therefore be useful to again display "active" or preset name in red, for the active preset.
  • This model has radically simpler interface but I think offers same functionality, and faster/ more efficient to use.
So Garmin take a copy of current state of settings and gives it a preset name, good idea. Simple to create basic state to go back and to copy the settings of every special use.

Inviato dal mio SM-G800F utilizzando Tapatalk

 

Offline michaelbechtold

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 576
  • Thanked: 30 times
    • View Profile
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #160 on: February 05, 2017, 09:54:13 »
@Andrew Heard: yep, presets are not added to backup. And thanks for tips from garmin world ... I'll look at it.

@Menion: but they should, obviously ! Once the broader user community gets used to the new feature, they invest thought and time, so it is worth preserving in the backup set ...
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11302
  • Thanked: 284 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #161 on: February 05, 2017, 09:57:09 »
Michael, sure it should. But not when they are not yet ready. Why should I backup something, that is not yet ready for massive usage. Later, no worry.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2469
  • Thanked: 95 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #162 on: February 05, 2017, 11:13:45 »
Quote
You use probably dashboard that has this enabled (close by back button) and Andrew opposite.
exactly, sorry my fault :P
Locus PRO 3.38.7
 

Offline Žajdlík Josef

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 295
  • Thanked: 14 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia M, Alcatel One Touch II, Samsung A3 (2017)
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #163 on: February 05, 2017, 20:37:52 »
Today discovered two flaws. The presets can not activate the option "dynamic heights." Although I tick, so will not appear in the panel off / on. The second bug is covering three dots to edit the item at the lowest preset - see scr. It's not her then edit.

CZ: Dnes objeveny dvě chybičky. V presetech nejde aktivovat volba "dynamické výšky". I když ji zatrhnu, tak se neobjeví v panelu off/on. Druhá chybka je v zakrývání tří teček k editaci u nejnižší položky presetu - viz scr. Nejde ji pak editovat.






 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11302
  • Thanked: 284 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.21.x (21. 12. 2016+)
« Reply #164 on: February 06, 2017, 15:49:37 »
@balloni55: no problem :)

@Žajdlík Josef : thanks both issues fixed. I've removed "Dynamic elevations" from possible options, but remained in list. I've also prepared probably final version of "Presets", for now.

System used in Garmin is nice, but is not technically and practically possible to use complete! save/restore of all settings in Locus Map. Some of you use this already over backup manager, but it always needs a restart, so not the best solution.

So for now, let's start with list of options, that cannot be modified.
Content: fullscreen, shift map center, map resolution, map autozoom, auto-recalculate, map centering, map rotation, vector themes and dashboard.

When there will be need for another settings, we may discuss if list has still usable size or if we need introduce "advanced edit mode", that allows edit content of presets.

Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!