Author Topic: [MAPS] - Vector maps  (Read 84900 times)

Offline psuk

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #45 on: September 05, 2011, 16:53:17 »
Is it possible to convert Garmin .img to .map? TOPO Czech in Locus (or Android) is my big dream :)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline CaLocus

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #46 on: September 05, 2011, 21:46:51 »
I want to import my own map data, but I am having trouble converting to the *.map format.

I have working osm files ready, but when I use Osmosis and MapFileWriter to convert, Osmosis output is telling me "Please provide valid bounding box via command line parameter 'bbox=minLat,minLon,maxLat,maxLon'."  

Does anyone know  where to put the "bbox" command line parameter?

Thanks,
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline jusc

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1898
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 and Note 2
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #47 on: September 06, 2011, 08:41:45 »
Quote from: "CaLocus"
Does anyone know  where to put the "bbox" command line parameter?

Thanks,
http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Osmosis
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Regards J.
 

Offline jusc

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1898
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 and Note 2
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #48 on: September 06, 2011, 08:46:38 »
Quote from: "dreamteam"
A qucik question: For larger countries you have several files for downloading. Are those different files "connected" that way that if I move from one area to another that I see it or do have to manualy switch between those maps.


as far as I know it works with offline raster maps if you put the maps in a subfolder.

@menion,
does that work with vector maps too?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Regards J.
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11506
  • Thanked: 334 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #49 on: September 06, 2011, 09:43:39 »
no, this have to be done on mapsForge side. If they will be too slow, I'll start work on vector maps rendering engine by myself but I hope that this will not be needed
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline oiorokko

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #50 on: September 06, 2011, 12:12:39 »
Thanks very much for the vector maps addon.

Still I have a question about the freshness of the vector maps availible in the addon. Yesterday, when I downloaded Estonian map the date was a few days earlyer (2nd of September or so).
How often will these vercor maps be updated?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11506
  • Thanked: 334 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #51 on: September 06, 2011, 12:17:47 »
I don't know exactly yet. Generating of whole world takes around two days now, so I wanted to update maps once a month or two. I think this will be enough for most countries. And if anyone need some fresh map, I can of course generate this one specially.

I have also some troubles with generating few places. Did anyone tried Russian map? It always stop at 60% no matter what settings or computer I use ...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline oiorokko

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #52 on: September 06, 2011, 12:24:03 »
Once a month will be more than enough I believe. Thank You very much.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline CaLocus

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #53 on: September 06, 2011, 23:56:43 »
Quote from: "jusc"
Quote from: "CaLocus"
Does anyone know  where to put the "bbox" command line parameter?

Thanks,
http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Osmosis

Thanks Jusc,

But I already looked at http://http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Osmosis/Detailed_Usage and I could not find anything specific on the formating or placement of the bbox parameter except under "--write-pgsql (--wp)" and that is not what I want to do.  Everywhere I place it in the "--rx file=test.osm --mw file=test.map" command I get errors that the "bbox" is not a recognised type or does not exist.

Does anyone else have to add this command-line parameter to Osmosis?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline mmcyklo

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #54 on: September 07, 2011, 17:53:31 »
Hi Menion,

I purchased vector add on and downloaded Czech Republic. I was approx 250 MB, but when I use it it still downloading when move map or change scale. Does it mean that I need to dovnload tiles like in online maps? I tried it but app says it is not possible to download it. I thought that when I downloaded those 250 MB I have full CZ vector map in PDA..

Thx a lot for info!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11506
  • Thanked: 334 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #55 on: September 07, 2011, 18:39:49 »
it surely have. Are you sure that it's locus who still download something? You may try disable connection (airplane mode for example) and I'm sure all will works fine ...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline jones12ax7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #56 on: September 08, 2011, 04:08:22 »
Quote from: "psuk"
Is it possible to convert Garmin .img to .map? TOPO Czech in Locus (or Android) is my big dream :)

If Locus is not an absolute requirement you can convert .img to .nm2 with Mapedit and use it with Navitel. I do it with Brazilian maps. Of course, Locus is far away much better than Navitel....
« Last Edit: September 08, 2011, 04:18:06 by jones12ax7 »
 

Offline jusc

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1898
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 and Note 2
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #57 on: September 08, 2011, 08:56:01 »
Quote from: "CaLocus"
Quote from: "jusc"
Quote from: "CaLocus"
Does anyone know  where to put the "bbox" command line parameter?

Thanks,
http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Osmosis

Thanks Jusc,

But I already looked at http://http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Osmosis/Detailed_Usage and I could not find anything specific on the formating or placement of the bbox parameter except under "--write-pgsql (--wp)" and that is not what I want to do.  Everywhere I place it in the "--rx file=test.osm --mw file=test.map" command I get errors that the "bbox" is not a recognised type or does not exist.

Does anyone else have to add this command-line parameter to Osmosis?

Maybe, i didnt understand you correctly , but are you looking for this:

Extracting bounding boxes

One of the basic use cases is extracting a subset of OSM XML from a large downloaded file. You might have downloaded the world OSM (planet.osm) and want to extract some region, or maybe you have a country extract downloaded but only want one city. The simplest way to do that is by extracting a rectangle.

An example that extracts N├╝rnberg and some area around it from Germany - or maybe world - OSM:

 bzcat downloaded.osm.bz2 | osmosis
  --read-xml enableDateParsing=no file=-
  --bounding-box top=49.5138 left=10.9351 bottom=49.3866 right=11.201 --write-xml file=-
  | bzip2 > extracted.osm.bz2

This approach uses bzip2 directly for extracting and compressing, as it is claimed to be more effective than the built-in archiver.

The easiest way to get coordinates is to doubleclick the spot you want coordinates for, then click "Permalink" and grab data from URL field.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Regards J.
 

Offline mmcyklo

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #58 on: September 08, 2011, 10:32:34 »
Quote from: "menion"
it surely have. Are you sure that it's locus who still download something? You may try disable connection (airplane mode for example) and I'm sure all will works fine ...

So, I tried without internet connection (Airplane mode), but still tiles seems downloading. So, most probubly it is only reading data from this downloaded file:) Unfortunately not so quick..
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline mmcyklo

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] - Vector maps
« Reply #59 on: September 08, 2011, 10:45:47 »
Any news reg possibility to use .img?

As now Locus is able to handle vector maps, I guess it is only question to allow .img format.

Then Locus would be the best Android map app ever!!!

Menion, how about this challenge ;) ?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »