Author Topic: How to overlay administrative boundaries?  (Read 374 times)

Offline ColdAutumn

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Thanked: 2 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Note 8
How to overlay administrative boundaries?
« on: April 19, 2022, 06:31:33 »
I want to overlay administrative boundaries on the map. How do I do that?

Earlier, I got the method of overlay contour lines:
https://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=7643.msg66146#msg66146

Many thanks.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2022, 06:36:10 by ColdAutumn »
 

Offline john_percy

  • Expert
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 961
  • Thanked: 181 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: How to overlay administrative boundaries?
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2022, 08:01:00 »
Do you have a map with administrative boundaries that you want to use as an overlay?

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 
The following users thanked this post: ColdAutumn

Offline ColdAutumn

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Thanked: 2 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Note 8
Re: How to overlay administrative boundaries?
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2022, 10:46:36 »
Do you have a map with administrative boundaries that you want to use as an overlay?

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

Many thanks.
Administrative boundaries are available on open maps.
Such as:
https://www.openstreetmap.org/#map=16/49.9832/14.4761
https://www.openandromaps.org/en/downloads
So I speculate that both LoMaps and OpenAndroMaps should be supported, but I don't know how to activate it? I also don't know how to make a theme profile like contour lines alone?

Especially openstreet, its administrative boundaries are quite accurate and complete.
Because I have been using openstreet class map for a long time, I have observed its accuracy and completeness.
So I think the data of administrative boundaries is very complete.

Is it possible to make a separate overlay?

Many thanks!
 

Offline john_percy

  • Expert
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 961
  • Thanked: 181 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: How to overlay administrative boundaries?
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2022, 13:10:33 »
You can try the attached. Use in the same way as the contours files.
(If you are using Tapatalk app, use the link rather than the attachment)
https://kmu.files.cnow.at/s/xYbQ8XQtKKjypsW
« Last Edit: April 20, 2022, 13:13:34 by john_percy »
 
The following users thanked this post: ColdAutumn

Offline ColdAutumn

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Thanked: 2 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Note 8
Re: How to overlay administrative boundaries?
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2022, 17:22:14 »
You can try the attached. Use in the same way as the contours files.
(If you are using Tapatalk app, use the link rather than the attachment)
https://kmu.files.cnow.at/s/xYbQ8XQtKKjypsW

Many many thanks. However, it seems that there are only administrative boundaries at the state level, and none at the lower level. The OSM is actually very complete. And thank you for letting me know tapatalk.

Many thanks again.
 

Offline john_percy

  • Expert
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 961
  • Thanked: 181 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: How to overlay administrative boundaries?
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2022, 19:22:08 »
I believe OAM maps only include boundaries of admin level 1,2,3,4. I'm not sure about Lomaps but you can experiment with the theme.

Level=1 (supranational) is not rendered.
Levels 2,3,4,5,6 are rendered in this theme if they appear in the map data.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2022, 20:08:31 by john_percy »
 
The following users thanked this post: ColdAutumn

Offline ColdAutumn

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Thanked: 2 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Note 8
Re: How to overlay administrative boundaries?
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2022, 07:20:50 »
Many thanks again for your help.
I looked at them carefully. They didn't seem to include enough fine boundary data. I didn't find.
What a pity. I even found a website for the boundary from OSM:
https://osm-boundaries.com/Map

Do you work for Locus app? This app is really professional. Thank you.