Author Topic: Locus Map - cloud/sync server  (Read 921 times)

Offline michaelbechtold

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 648
  • Thanked: 53 times
    • View Profile
Re: Locus Map - cloud/sync server
« Reply #45 on: September 14, 2020, 16:18:14 »
TXs Janaton, for your explanation. As I am in Comp.Science since 40 years, I exactly understand your message.
Yet, what I propose is a UUID based on a hash of the whole record (all point or track data, no device specifics inluded!). As we are not fighting off NSA here, it can be a "cheap" one.
Then all those special cases are gone, right ?
If the hash is identical across devices, your existing algorithm will automatically do the right thing - ignore. If not, sync.
And I still do not understand what is complex about careful handling of deletions (flagging, detailed sync history, user triggered cleanup).
TXs and cheers
Michael


 
The following users thanked this post: janaton

Offline janaton

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 6
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
Re: Locus Map - cloud/sync server
« Reply #46 on: September 14, 2020, 21:05:05 »
@michaelbechtold, thanks a lot for your idea regarding generating UUID based on the object hash. This won't work in all cases (e.g. object modified on one device) but should be good enough solution for most cases :). We will definitely discuss it with @Menion during this week.

I can not tell you details about complexity on the client because I am implementing only server side. Keeping older versions in the cloud was my initial idea. I wanted to have periodical job cleaning old object versions but I was convinced by team not to do it. Several reasons (I probably do not remember all of them):
  • Main concern -  we could accidentally mess up versions and expose something obsolete
  • Additional complexity - clean up made asynchronously (implement task manager, cleanup logic located away from sync code)
  • Increased storage requirements that you need to handle history
  • We agreed that we don't want to offer versioning functionality to user thus keeping history would be more or less for support and emergency situations (something would go terribly wrong).
.

If you have some thoughts why we should reconsider current logic (not keeping history), please, share it with us. I am sure we will have some time to open this discussion within the team once more :).
 

Offline michaelbechtold

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 648
  • Thanked: 53 times
    • View Profile
Re: Locus Map - cloud/sync server
« Reply #47 on: September 15, 2020, 07:19:07 »
TXs for your nightly response, Janaton.
Let me go through the points one by one:
1) Main concern -  we could accidentally mess up versions and expose something obsolete
Much more serious is a sloppy delete - from user side as well as on your side. A code that deletes ONLY if there is a specific flag set in a DB row if very straight forward and can be verified. A "free" delete as today is more risky in any regard. Risk x (# users ...)

2) Additional complexity - clean up made asynchronously (implement task manager, cleanup logic located away from sync code)
Yes, there is some more complexity. But one more daemon running on the server does not make a huge difference. And again, cleanup logic is very simple.

3) Increased storage requirements that you need to handle history
If you want to stay in control of this, then drop my idea to have users trigger the cleanup (and yes, users may forget forever ...), but rather establish a rule like "Restore up to one week from deletion". This limits the additional storage, and lets you stay in control. A restore (triggered by a user) is a simple removal of the deleted flag, followed by a sync.

 4) We agreed that we don't want to offer versioning functionality to user thus keeping history would be more or less for support and emergency situations (something would go terribly wrong).
I do NOT propose any versioning, but only a limited safeguard against accidental deletions. Big difference!

Regards to the whole team.
Michael

 
The following users thanked this post: tapio

Offline tapio

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 385
  • Thanked: 63 times
    • View Profile
Re: Locus Map - cloud/sync server
« Reply #48 on: September 15, 2020, 15:46:36 »
Someone else mentioned it, on an otherwise working sync I see an intermediate exclamation mark on Locus main hamburger menu.

I have tested the new version now, and i like it very much! But one thing is missing, when I tap on a point in map, then I don't get the context-menu, that I am used to. (Fex guide too, detail etc).
Same what I saw? I missed the ... menu on embedded waypoints in tracks. No easy way to delete embedded WP.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2020, 15:48:56 by tapio »
 

Offline Frivold

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung s10+
Re: Locus Map - cloud/sync server
« Reply #49 on: September 16, 2020, 10:08:09 »
I now understand that this thread is meant for cloud/sync, but i will tell that the "problem" suddenly works fine! Now i get a menu-line at bottom when I show points. I really like this version of Locus, and look forward to release. Do you have an idea when it is ready?

By the way, i see that many phrases in the app is in English, but the Norwegian translation is 100%. Is it something wrong, or haven't you put the strings into translation yet?
 

Offline Frivold

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung s10+
Re: Locus Map - cloud/sync server
« Reply #50 on: September 16, 2020, 13:15:32 »
I now understand that this thread is meant for cloud/sync, but i will tell that the "problem" suddenly works fine! Now i get a menu-line at bottom when I show points. I really like this version of Locus, and look forward to release. Do you have an idea when it is ready?

By the way, i see that many phrases in the app is in English, but the Norwegian translation is 100%. Is it something wrong, or haven't you put the strings into translation yet?

Aaah! Now i know why it s suddenly working! When I have screen in full modus, the menu at bottom dont appear, when showing a point. But i turned full screen off at a moment yesterday, and then the menu work. So it is a little bug there...

Edit: The menu is there actually also in full screen, but just some pixels height, so we cant see the buttons.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2020, 13:17:56 by Frivold »