Author Topic: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )  (Read 5125 times)

Offline Žajdlík Josef

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 382
  • Thanked: 21 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia M, Alcatel One Touch II, Samsung A3 (2017)
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2020, 10:58:37 »
Take a look at SCR in the previous post. This is how it looks about 3-4 seconds before the Map with Locus start information is displayed. The tablet is slow compared to current phones. It looks really weird.
 

Online balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2673
  • Thanked: 125 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2020, 14:25:58 »
Hello menion
on my new device "Galaxy XCover s4 with android 9" the mentioned note appears
https://help.locusmap.eu/topic/locus-should-detect-power-saving-mode-when-a-user-starts-recording-track#comment-79982
but in the settings I cannot find an option to deactivate the energy saving mode.
possible settings:
- optimized, this option is selected
- medium energy saving
- maximum energy saving

so far i could not detect any problems during recording even when the display was switched off for a longer time.

Have I missed something?
if not, a checkbox "do not show again" would be useful

Locus PRO 3.46.1
 

Offline lor74cas

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 312
  • Thanked: 24 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung A5 2017
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #17 on: January 20, 2020, 16:20:52 »
Hello menion
on my new device "Galaxy XCover s4 with android 9" the mentioned note appears
https://help.locusmap.eu/topic/locus-should-detect-power-saving-mode-when-a-user-starts-recording-track#comment-79982
but in the settings I cannot find an option to deactivate the energy saving mode.
possible settings:
- optimized, this option is selected
- medium energy saving
- maximum energy saving

so far i could not detect any problems during recording even when the display was switched off for a longer time.

Have I missed something?
if not, a checkbox "do not show again" would be useful

on my samsung I find:
options ---> device optimization ---> Battery --> battery use --> 3 dot upper right battery optimization
 

Online balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2673
  • Thanked: 125 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #18 on: January 20, 2020, 18:45:07 »
thanks @ lor74cas,
with my device it's totally different.
After intensive searching I found the setting to switch off the battery optimization for locus and now the warning message does not appear anymore when starting track recording.

Settings/Apps/3-dot button top right/Special access/Optimise battery usage > under "Apps not optimised" locus is not listed.
click on the down arrow > select all > scroll down and turn on the switch at Locus Map
 select again "Apps not optimised" now locus is shown in the list :)

Locus PRO 3.46.1
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11782
  • Thanked: 409 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #19 on: January 21, 2020, 09:40:55 »
Hi guys,
problem with battery optimization is really complex and I tried to describe it in my new answer here.
Shortly, if your recorded tracks do not have any gaps than there is no need to solve anything. For example on my device (Pixel2), I also see this "optimization warning" and also have no problem. It is a little unpredictable.

@balloni55, if you are interested, we are trying to collect all known optmizations on devices in topic in the manual here.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Online balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2673
  • Thanked: 125 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #20 on: January 21, 2020, 11:19:14 »
Quote
if you are interested, we are trying to collect all known optmizations on devices in topic in the manual
of course, Michal could add this info for Samsung with Android 9 to the manual
Locus PRO 3.46.1
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11782
  • Thanked: 409 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #21 on: January 21, 2020, 11:53:34 »
And isn't it already there under Samsung 7+?
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Online balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2673
  • Thanked: 125 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #22 on: January 21, 2020, 14:29:35 »
And isn't it already there under Samsung 7+?
not entirely on my Android 9
in the end i have to turn on the switch at locus in list of all apps to show locus in the list of  "Apps not optimised"
Locus PRO 3.46.1
 

Online balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2673
  • Thanked: 125 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #23 on: January 27, 2020, 14:00:46 »
Hello menion
normally the "base tab" is displayed when opening a geocache.
But with the current version the "Log tab" is opened if locus was switched on for a few minutes, even if the listing tab was open the last time the geocache was opened.
config setting: when opening Geocaching screen, first open defined tab is default= empty

EDIT:
now i figured it out, it didn´t depend on time.
After first "screen off" automatical or manual, always the "Log tab" open
« Last Edit: January 28, 2020, 19:04:43 by balloni55 »
Locus PRO 3.46.1
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11782
  • Thanked: 409 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #24 on: February 01, 2020, 21:56:22 »
After a quite long time, a new Beta version on Google Play.

Among a few fixes & updates, there is mainly a nice new service called "Web service library". Probably some of you know this older list of WMS maps we collect here. Half of them already do not work etc ...

New Beta version offers a new service that collects these web services (option "Add to library" in the context menu of any added map) and mainly offer them to users. On the background, the server test these maps every day to validate it still works correctly. We have a few things in the head to improve, but for now, some feedback will be welcome.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 
The following users thanked this post: tapio

Online balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2673
  • Thanked: 125 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #25 on: February 02, 2020, 15:35:03 »
Hello menion
normally the "base tab" is displayed when opening a geocache.
But with the current version the "Log tab" is opened if locus was switched on for a few minutes, even if the listing tab was open the last time the geocache was opened.
config setting: when opening Geocaching screen, first open defined tab is default= empty

EDIT:
now i figured it out, it didn´t depend on time.
After first "screen off" automatical or manual, always the "Log tab" open
any idea? Xcover S4 Android 9
issue after sec. 31
https://www.dropbox.com/s/s8lylt44ijpc2jn/20200202_152239.mp4?dl=0
« Last Edit: February 02, 2020, 15:37:06 by balloni55 »
Locus PRO 3.46.1
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11782
  • Thanked: 409 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #26 on: February 06, 2020, 13:42:20 »
Hello balloni,
sorry, I've forget to check it. Thanks for this video, nice and clear. Even if I follow the exact steps, I do not have the same problem, weird.
Only that I think may have effect here is the order of tabs in detail page.

What are your parameters in config.cfg for gui_point_screen_tabs_order and geocaching_screen_prefered_tab ? Thanks
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Online balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2673
  • Thanked: 125 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #27 on: February 06, 2020, 15:28:53 »
Quote
geocaching_screen_prefered_tab
> default= empty
Quote
gui_point_screen_tabs_order
14|1|11|12|13|16
i´f used this settings over years with my old Moto G3 MM6  without any problem
i think the behaviour is due to my new Samsung XCover 4s with android 9
Locus PRO 3.46.1
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11782
  • Thanked: 409 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #28 on: February 07, 2020, 09:20:34 »
Kill me, but I have no idea why this happens. All ok on my device (Pixel 2 with Android 10). It really should not depend on the Android version or device itself.

If you want to fix it, I may add some logs into next Beta and you create me a log right after the same steps as on the video, ok? Fine :).
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Online balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2673
  • Thanked: 125 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: [APP] - version 3.43.+ ( 9. 1. 2020 )
« Reply #29 on: February 07, 2020, 10:29:19 »
If you want to fix it, I may add some logs into next Beta and you create me a log right after the same steps as on the video, ok? Fine :).
thank you very much, I'll be happy to do that.
Locus PRO 3.46.1