Author Topic: Locus Map 4, discussion  (Read 28151 times)

Offline freischneider

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 623
  • Thanked: 47 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung S8, Locus Pro, always newest official version
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #330 on: April 21, 2020, 19:40:43 »
LM4 is getting better. Now I don't need a sidebar anymore. I get everything in the Map Content Panel and in the 5 lines in the menu below. A big compliment to Menion.
I still have a wish. I have hidden the zoom buttons on the map but they are still there in the route planner. It also works with the scale bar. Hidden on the map and then in the route planner.
Question about the copyright sign: Is this required by law? If so, you can make it a little smaller.
 

Offline Menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11853
  • Thanked: 436 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 2
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #331 on: April 21, 2020, 22:49:26 »
@Žajdlík Josef
ah nice, thanks, I'll fix it.

Map theme ... in case, base map is "themable", the button is right next to it. It may happen that also overlay map may be "themable", in this case, there is still "Theme" button next to the base map ... little weird, but save space and it is still in the same place.

@freischneider
hehe zoom buttons ... I've spent exactly on this task 3 hours today and then I've give up :). I does not looks so, but "auto-hide" option really complicates me a life ...
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
Support email: locus.map@asamm.com
 

Offline tapio

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 385
  • Thanked: 63 times
    • View Profile
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #332 on: April 22, 2020, 12:46:36 »
Took me a while until I recognized left vs. right button functionality in the new panel, it's lovely, well done.
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 821
  • Thanked: 121 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #333 on: April 22, 2020, 17:09:58 »
Geotagged photos show a jpg placeholder in the info panel, unlike the implementation in Locus Pro. (Both shown below.) Tapping on the medium sized image/placeholder correctly gives full size image in both cases.

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2691
  • Thanked: 126 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #334 on: April 22, 2020, 18:51:23 »
Geotagged photos show a jpg placeholder in the info panel, unlike the implementation in Locus Pro. (Both shown below.) Tapping on the medium sized image/placeholder correctly gives full size image in both cases.
confirm behavior
@ John, additional question, please open the POI with PRO and take a look at attachements. For me there is mostly no preview photo of attached photos. Only name and size is displayed

@menion
what means that text? only the first listed one hast no text
« Last Edit: April 22, 2020, 18:55:02 by balloni55 »
Locus PRO 3.48.2
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 821
  • Thanked: 121 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #335 on: April 22, 2020, 19:12:10 »
@balloni55
The only attachment is the full size image. Presumably Locus generates the thumbnails on the fly.


Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 

Offline Menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11853
  • Thanked: 436 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 2
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #336 on: April 23, 2020, 19:24:05 »
Hi guys, thanks for the report about images, I'll look at it tomorrow.

After today, the new version on Google Play and also the new LM4 Alpha version with some fine-tuning of existing features.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
Support email: locus.map@asamm.com
 

Offline Žajdlík Josef

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 383
  • Thanked: 21 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia M, Alcatel One Touch II, Samsung A3 (2017)
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #337 on: April 23, 2020, 22:23:50 »
In route selection mode, the icons remain white on a light background and are not very visible.  See scr.
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 821
  • Thanked: 121 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #338 on: April 24, 2020, 12:37:55 »
Changing the style, theme or mode of an offline overlay doesn't always result in a proper screen redraw, though panning left and right usually results in a clean redraw. Sometimes however the screen is not properly redrawn on panning and multiple images result.
Screenshot 1 attached shows multiple overlay images of motorway (blue) and main road (green) in Multiply mode on panning. This occurs with both v3 and v4 maps.


Screenshot 2 shows colour change on road overlay after changing style and panning (due to style or theme change not being applied until pan).


Screenshot 3 shows a further problem, *first* display of map screen content side menu sometimes incorrectly says no map, no overlay


« Last Edit: April 24, 2020, 13:10:40 by john_percy »
 

Offline Jochen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #339 on: April 24, 2020, 15:17:07 »
Hello Menion,

is it possible to add to "Quick Settings" : Karte an Gps Position zentrieren.
I use it only, if I'm on tour. If I plan different Routes at home, I have to go to to Settings-Kartenansicht  and search for this Point, to disable it.
This is the only one, which I miss in "Quick Settings", to have quick access to the functions, which I only need, if I'm on tour.

Kind regards

Jochen 👍

 

Offline Joska

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Sony XZ2/ZX2c
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #340 on: April 24, 2020, 15:24:09 »
Hello Jochen.

If I understand right ,the use off den main button is featured with, what you want. Tapping it for longer than 1 or 2 seconds, you'll get a checkbox on the right side.

Joska
 

Offline Menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11853
  • Thanked: 436 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 2
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #341 on: April 24, 2020, 15:42:58 »
@john_percy, @balloni55
Interestingly, I have no problem with the attached photos. From where comes your images? They are taken by system camera and later added to Locus Map or directly attached in Locus Map, or any other option?

Problem with an overlay ... when any "Blend mode" is enabled, the app has serious problems, at least on my device. This happens for many months already and seems, no users complain. Anyway, don't use blend mode if they cause problems to you. What happen on your screenshots, seems to be "something more". What steps you did to get "Nothing to display" for the base map?

@balloni55
"[waypoints_category_invisible] .. how you do it? :)

@Žajdlík Josef
ah damn, even here ... thanks!

@Jochen
what is "Karte an Gps Position"?
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
Support email: locus.map@asamm.com
 

Offline freischneider

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 623
  • Thanked: 47 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung S8, Locus Pro, always newest official version
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #342 on: April 24, 2020, 15:52:05 »
@Jochen: long click on GPS below
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 821
  • Thanked: 121 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #343 on: April 24, 2020, 16:06:39 »
@menion
1. Geotagged photos were taken with phone camera and found by Locus in phone camera DCIM folder. Exactly the same behaviour for Locus quick photo point. It's the jpg icon that's the issue: Locus Pro has a middle sized version as well as a small thumbnail and full size attachment. (Edit: I've just found *one* of my photos works properly.)
2. If the blend mode doesn't work, either mend it or don't offer it! However I'd never had any problems until now. The biggest issue seems to be with Multiply blend though the failure to redraw was happening with SrcOver.
3. The "no base map" and "overlay disabled" messages only appear (sometimes) on first opening the map contents side menu immediately after loading Locus. A timing issue?


Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: April 25, 2020, 13:39:59 by john_percy »
 
The following users thanked this post: Menion

Offline Jochen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #344 on: April 24, 2020, 17:27:16 »
@menion: "Hold map center" in English. I'm sorry. I am a german user.

@Joska @freischneider : Thank you very much for your explanation. I didn't see it, although I use Locus Pro very often.
@menion: I think, this is the right place for it for instant access. Maybe it can be added in the future to the quick access panel, too. But it is not absolutely necessary.