Author Topic: Recording of a track doesn't work  (Read 3064 times)

Offline welberger

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Recording of a track doesn't work
« on: April 30, 2011, 00:50:40 »
Hi,
I don't know if someone else already posted this problem - searching the forum didn't get me an answer.
So here comes my question: If I try to record a track the recording doesn't work. I already fixed the GPS settings of my phone and made sure that I get a GPS fix (usually I get one in about 30 seconds - outdoors that is). Now everything looks good: I start a recording walk or drive my way and then stop the recording now it says track xyzs saved and sure enough the track folder shows a track xyz - BUT: The track has a length of zero and also a time of zero on my phone. 1st I had it in my pocket inside its protection case then I removed the cover; the last test was carrying it in my hand - just to ensure the phone wasn't disconnected from GPS. But nothing worked - Locus just won't record the track.
Any help will greatly be appreciated.
Best
achim
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline berkley

  • Premium
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 900
    • View Profile
  • Device: 1+1, N7
Re: Recording of a track doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2011, 11:44:41 »
Hi Achim,

what settings do you use for track recording? (Check Menu, Settings, GPS or Track Recording)

Cheers, berkley
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Search before posting!!!
XDA Orbit, HTC Touch HD, SGS1, SGS2, Nexus S, S4 Active, OnePlus One, Innos D6000
OnePlus X
 

Offline welberger

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Recording of a track doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2011, 16:58:17 »
Hi,
because all my settings are in German I thought it best to post the settings as images:
[attachment=0:384nav1u]Locus Settings GPS and Track recording.jpg[/attachment:384nav1u]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline welberger

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Recording of a track doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2011, 23:01:08 »
Well!?!

Is there no solution or is there a problem to interpret my posted images? Being the 2nd the case I could provide an English translation
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11506
  • Thanked: 334 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Recording of a track doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2011, 14:13:51 »
I think that problem should be in "Maximale Genauigkeit ... " which say .. do not save points with worst accuracy then 25m. Are you sure you want this and also you have better accuracy of your GPS signal during recording?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline jusc

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1898
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 and Note 2
Re: Recording of a track doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2011, 15:47:49 »
For me this  works fine at least for cycling
Intervall (Meter) = 5
Intervall (Sekunden)=  5
Maximale Genauigkeit (Meter) = 250

J.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Regards J.
 

Offline welberger

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Recording of a track doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2011, 21:05:11 »
Quote from: "menion"
I think that problem should be in "Maximale Genauigkeit ... " which say .. do not save points with worst accuracy then 25m. Are you sure you want this and also you have better accuracy of your GPS signal during recording?

Well, because I don't really understand this parameter I set it to 25 m. I will try the settings of Jusc
Quote from: "jusc"
For me this  works fine at least for cycling
Intervall (Meter) = 5
Intervall (Sekunden)=  5
Maximale Genauigkeit (Meter) = 250

J.

As soon as I got results I will be back and share them with you - thank you for your help so far.

Achim
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline welberger

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Recording of a track doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2011, 20:38:08 »
Hi,

back again and here's the result. The settings didn't really solve the problem. But another thing did. I flashed my LG OS 2x and what you'd think: everything works just fine. Even with the phone in its case inside my trouser pocket did record the tracks I walked today.

So tomorrow I'll try the recording on my bike but I'm quite optimistic that everything'll work fine.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11506
  • Thanked: 334 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Recording of a track doesn't work
« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2011, 11:20:43 »
fine good to hear. Interesting that ROM have so influence to this service ...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline denialr150

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Recording of a track doesn't work
« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2011, 19:03:51 »
Hello! I have the same problem as you had with the Recording of a track on android , now I don't have any default software recognise the Recording of a track , but I am download software from android market.  software work with problem.Can someone help me please? Thank you!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline berkley

  • Premium
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 900
    • View Profile
  • Device: 1+1, N7
Re: Recording of a track doesn't work
« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2011, 14:59:37 »
Hi,

are you using Locus for track recording or is it any other app?

Cheers, berkley
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Search before posting!!!
XDA Orbit, HTC Touch HD, SGS1, SGS2, Nexus S, S4 Active, OnePlus One, Innos D6000
OnePlus X
 

Offline juefu2002

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Recording of a track doesn't work
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2011, 22:02:12 »
I only can record a track if I set the time interval to 0 sec. The reason is a wrong datetime. See this snippet from today's track 20110517_195143.gpx :
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"
standalone="yes"?>
<?xml-stylesheet type="text/xsl" href="details.xsl"?>
<gpx version="1.0"
 creator="Android"
 xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"
 xmlns="http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/0"
 xmlns:topografix="http://www.topografix.com/GPX/Private/TopoGrafix/0/1" xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/0 http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/0/gpx.xsd http://www.topografix.com/GPX/Private/TopoGrafix/0/1 http://www.topografix.com/GPX/Private/T ... grafix.xsd">
<trk>
<name><![CDATA[2011-05-17 19:51:43]]></name>
<desc><![CDATA[0h:0m:0s | 348m

Distanz - 348m
Punkte // POI - 50
Erstellt - 1970-01-16 03:40:51
Max. Geschwindigkeit - 5.2km/h
Min. Meereshöhe - 212m
Max. Meereshöhe - 215m
]]></desc>
<topografix:color>c0c0c0</topografix:color>
<trkseg>
<trkpt lat="47.89708468231547" lon="7.624402073782538">
<ele>214.50244140625</ele>
<time>1970-01-16T02:40:51Z</time>
</trkpt>
<trkpt lat="47.89764907256435" lon="7.625193801052845">
<ele>213.28555297851563</ele>
<time>1970-01-16T02:40:51Z</time>
</trkpt>
<trkpt lat="47.897690790552275" lon="7.625242539606226">
<ele>213.1326904296875</ele>
<time>1970-01-16T02:40:51Z</time>
</trkpt>
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Because <time> is a constant value, I get only one trackpoint, if I set the time interval to > 0 sec.
How to get the correct time information ?
By the way, this is a smart app. Congratulations !
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11506
  • Thanked: 334 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Recording of a track doesn't work
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2011, 07:06:38 »
this is really interesing :) ... OK, I'll set time for points manually during recording, because this is surely some mistake in GPS hardware ...

so please try it in next market version
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline juefu2002

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Recording of a track doesn't work
« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2011, 20:06:31 »
Thank you for quick response. Yes, this seems to be a hardware issue. Another track, recorded by Trekbuddy, shows the same wrong datetime.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »