Author Topic: [Q] double-digit numbers in distance possible?  (Read 2397 times)

Offline Christian

  • Expert
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 843
  • Thanked: 10 times
    • View Profile
[Q] double-digit numbers in distance possible?
« on: February 25, 2015, 20:10:11 »
Hi guys,
when i create a route by 'add / measure route' there is a number in the left upper corner displaying the distance of the created track like 8,3 (km). In track screen in statistics also. Is there any possibility to blow this up to double-digits after point like 8,36 ???

Christian
 

Offline jusc

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1892
  • Thanked: 20 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 and Note 2
Re: [Q] double-digit numbers in distance possible?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2015, 08:05:26 »
+1 at least for hiking/biking usefull.
Regards J.
 

Offline Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12789
  • Thanked: 930 times
  • Country: cz
    • View Profile
    • https://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 5, A12
Re: [Q] double-digit numbers in distance possible?
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2015, 08:56:40 »
hmm make knowledge of +- 50 metres really any difference? :)
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download
 

Offline jusc

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1892
  • Thanked: 20 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 and Note 2
Re: [Q] double-digit numbers in distance possible?
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2015, 10:18:09 »
Regards J.
 

Offline Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12789
  • Thanked: 930 times
  • Country: cz
    • View Profile
    • https://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 5, A12
Re: [Q] double-digit numbers in distance possible?
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2015, 18:46:57 »
Long discussion in our team due to such tiny feature. I was completely against it, anyway result was 2 for this improvement, one again and one don't know :). So in next version will be distances more precise for one extra decimal number.
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download
 

Offline Christian

  • Expert
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 843
  • Thanked: 10 times
    • View Profile
Re: [Q] double-digit numbers in distance possible?
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2015, 20:15:26 »
This tiny feature avoids using 3th party software for planing and evaluating running distances more accurately :)
Thanx jusc for support and menion for implementing this - even against his own opinion. Great!
 

Offline jusc

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1892
  • Thanked: 20 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 and Note 2
Re: [Q] double-digit numbers in distance possible?
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2015, 14:41:03 »
@Christian,
it´s what I really think. Locus is my offroad "navi" app for hiking and biking. Sometimes in the forests it could be a bit more precise.
@menion,
thank you for implementing.  ;D
Regards J.
 

Offline michaelbechtold

  • Expert
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1013
  • Thanked: 126 times
    • View Profile
Re: [Q] double-digit numbers in distance possible?
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2015, 08:33:30 »
Long discussion in our team due to such tiny feature. I was completely against it, anyway result was 2 for this improvement, one again and one don't know :). So in next version will be distances more precise for one extra decimal number.

One of the nice examples, where discussions take longer than actually doing ... :-)
Again, I like the outcome and the spirit.
 

Offline UKlocusfan

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
Re: [Q] double-digit numbers in distance possible?
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2015, 19:46:39 »
Long discussion in our team due to such tiny feature. I was completely against it, anyway result was 2 for this improvement, one again and one don't know :). So in next version will be distances more precise for one extra decimal number.

Yaaaaaaaaaay!
I'd love this!!!!
When tracking a walk and getting back to the car at the end only to see Locus says 9.9miles, its really frustrating as I'd prefer to know the extra decimal so I know if I have to walk more or less than an additional tenth of a mile.
Really hoping this does happen as its top of me list for improvements to this amazing app.
Thank you Menion.
 

Offline Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12789
  • Thanked: 930 times
  • Country: cz
    • View Profile
    • https://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 5, A12
Re: [Q] double-digit numbers in distance possible?
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2015, 20:21:07 »
funny :)
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download
 

Offline Christian

  • Expert
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 843
  • Thanked: 10 times
    • View Profile
Re: [Q] double-digit numbers in distance possible?
« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2015, 20:00:12 »
Thank you for implementing the additional number :)