Author Topic: Info about groundspeak changes  (Read 3595 times)

Offline c.s.g.

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 301
  • Thanked: 21 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 4
Info about groundspeak changes
« on: May 14, 2014, 12:12:34 »
Hello,

as you can read here, groundspeak changes the term "Stages of a Multicache" to "Physical Stage" and "Question to Answer" to "Virtual Stage".

As you can see in the attached gpx-file the corresponding child waypoints are also getting new <sym> .... </sym> tags "<sym>Physical Stage</sym>" and "<sym>Virtual Stage</sym>".

I think, there have to be some adaptions in locus, addons, ...

c.s.g.
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11251
  • Thanked: 276 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2014, 13:41:29 »
ah thank you!!

New types added (renamed)
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2457
  • Thanked: 95 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2014, 09:22:06 »
Quote
New types added (renamed)
here an example Groundspeak Listing/Locus view old listing/Locus view new listing



Locus PRO 3.38.6
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11251
  • Thanked: 276 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2014, 09:51:59 »
I did this yesterday, so please wait on next test version :)
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2457
  • Thanked: 95 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2014, 08:36:39 »
I did this yesterday, so please wait on next test version :)
waypoint, virtuell station and physical station are furtermore displayed with the same icon (blue waypoint icon)
Locus PRO 3.38.6
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11251
  • Thanked: 276 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2014, 09:52:02 »
sorry, cannot confirm. I just downloaded listing of your mentioned cache GC514D5 with one 'Virtual Stage' and it's imported correctly in new version of Locus
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2457
  • Thanked: 95 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2014, 10:11:05 »
i am confused,
you see in waypoint tab for Stage2 a "foodstep icon" ????
and
you see in waypoint tab and on map for Stage1 a "papersheet icon" ????
Locus PRO 3.38.6
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11251
  • Thanked: 276 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2014, 05:33:44 »
hmm when I import this file, I see correctly one 'Parking' and one 'Virtual/Question' waypoint
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2457
  • Thanked: 95 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2014, 12:14:59 »
hmm when I import this file, I see correctly one 'Parking' and one 'Virtual/Question' waypoint
Hello menion, you are right :D
if i use the downloaded/imported .gpx all waypoint icons fit 8)
but if i download the cache via GC4L or update a existing geocache from an PQ all icons are equal
and one other interesting thing:
in your downloaded .gpx the waypoint "Stage 2" isn´t visible in WP-list, ok there are no coords, but it is very handy if this WP exist in WP-list to add only the coords if you are on tour and don´t have to add a new WP.
I have checked this behavior with different Multicaches
Nice sunday
Locus PRO 3.38.6
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11251
  • Thanked: 276 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2014, 07:40:16 »
Ah you are correct, now I see it. It's a problem in add-on, not in Locus. Seems that they renamed all caches on gc.com, and add-on do not yet have support for these types of caches, so it send to Locus basic type - "blue eye" :). I'll notify about this to arcao and I'm sure he will fix it soon.

About missing waypoint - if you check my GPX file, I see no 'Stage 2' point in this file ...
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2457
  • Thanked: 95 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2014, 08:21:49 »
Quote
I'll notify about this to arcao and I'm sure he will fix it soon.
perfect ;)
Quote
About missing waypoint - if you check my GPX file, I see no 'Stage 2' point in this file ...
thats the point! WP-info in downloaded .gpx and WP-info from PQ/GC4L is different
in attached file "S2" is included
Quote
<wpt lat="0.0" lon="0.0">
   <name>S2514D5</name>
   <cmt><![CDATA[Jetzt schnapp dir die Beute!!]]></cmt>
   <desc><![CDATA[GC514D5 Stage 2]]></desc>
   <sym>Reference Point</sym>
   <type>Waypoint|Reference Point</type>
</wpt>
Locus PRO 3.38.6
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11251
  • Thanked: 276 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2014, 08:30:36 »
when I import file you attached, I see this:



Which is OK, isn't?
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2457
  • Thanked: 95 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #12 on: May 20, 2014, 14:10:56 »
Sorry for late response ;)
i needed some attempts to find different content of downloaded listings, since groundspeak changed wpt-types
Quote
Which is OK
your screenshot is ok, only the displayed WP-icons are wrong ???

For better understanding i use one of my own Multicaches "GC21TVZ" in which all types of wpts are used. 8)
Since groundspeak changed wpt-types, downloaded cache.gpx or PQ consist only wpts with visible coords! althought in cachelisting all wpts are build. (I think this is a bug from groundspeak)
Currently only GC4L imported caches include all wpts :) with disadantage that virtuell and physical stations are displayed with the blue wpt-icon ??? so i am not able to distinguish.
Screenshot wpts,  GC4L imported:

missing icons "physical" and "virtuell"

Screenshot wpts, PQ or .gpx imported:

missing wpts "fühlen", "rechnen", "Finale"
Locus PRO 3.38.6
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11251
  • Thanked: 276 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #13 on: May 20, 2014, 14:25:26 »
oki, then everything in Locus is ok. G4L currently do not know these two "new" types of caches, so it return to Locus waypoints with default type and icon (Reference point). Currently I need to finish some changes in Locus API. After that, Arcao (developer of G4L) will be able to update it's add-on to make it work correctly.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2457
  • Thanked: 95 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01
Re: Info about groundspeak changes
« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2014, 11:04:05 »
Quote
Currently I need to finish some changes in Locus API
have you finished this changes in the meantime?
and if, is Arco informed ?
Locus PRO 3.38.6