Author Topic: Display of distances  (Read 2240 times)

Offline big

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
Display of distances
« on: November 22, 2013, 21:38:25 »
Hi,

when I use the navigation, the distance is always shown in meters (depending on my metrics settings, of course...). But when I have a loooong way to travel, gui elements are to small to fit the long numbers...

Maybe it would be better to show 1354 m as 1.3 km. Looks nicer and is better readable.

Thanks!

Cheers, Lutz.
 

Offline KaHeMu

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • Kurs 335 Grad
  • Device: Samsung Tab 10.1, Huawei Y625
Re: Display of distances
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2013, 22:24:42 »
Maybe this will be your solution:
Settings/Localization/Formats/Length units set to "Metric (m/km)".
With this the units changes depending of size.

Regards,
KaHeMu
Zufall ist, wenn das Schicksal eine Maske aufsetzt, um nicht erkannt zu werden.  (Wepper)
 

Offline tommi

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1234
  • Thanked: 2 times
  • Devices: Samsung S10 + S7 + (S5 + S3 + Nexus7 flo)
    • View Profile
Re: Display of distances
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2013, 07:03:00 »
Hi,

when I use the navigation, the distance is always shown in meters (depending on my metrics settings, of course...). But when I have a loooong way to travel, gui elements are to small to fit the long numbers...

Maybe it would be better to show 1354 m as 1.3 km. Looks nicer and is better readable.

Thanks!

Cheers, Lutz.
Hi Lutz,

I guess KaHeMu's tip does the trick for you.
I seem to remember that the m-only display was made on request by users with special interests.
Cheers,
Thomas
 

Offline Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12437
  • Thanked: 762 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 2
Re: Display of distances
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2013, 11:21:12 »
yes, I may also confirm this. This new settings has one unfortunate effect. It changed default settings "km" to "m" to some users. So please check your settings and change this
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download
 

Offline big

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
Re: Display of distances
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2013, 19:25:42 »
Thanks for your quick respond! And yes, this setting does it like expected!
Must have come with an update without my notice...!
Cheers!

Gesendet von meinem GT-N7100 mit Tapatalk