Author Topic: "Screen lock" to "quick switch" or "zoom lock"  (Read 2206 times)

Offline Gammalerik

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
"Screen lock" to "quick switch" or "zoom lock"
« on: June 27, 2013, 09:04:33 »
As the title says, could it be possible to have the function "Screen lock" put into the "quick switch"-choices? Or even better, to put this function along with the litte lock-icon at the right-most bottom? (see picture for suggestion, but with a lot bigger spacing than what I did in "Paint")

The screen lock is an extremely useful function when at sea and in rain to avoid input from a wet screen that messes around wildly with random results. At times catastrophically. Especially at sea when things go a bit rough, it would be priceless to have the ability to turn this quickly on with just a single key.

[attachment=0:afyhtq9x]Screenshot_2013-06-27-08-47-06.png[/attachment:afyhtq9x]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11390
  • Thanked: 305 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: "Screen lock" to "quick switch" or "zoom lock"
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2013, 18:36:13 »
In out team, I agree with this idea, Peter not, result is ... added :)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Gammalerik

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: "Screen lock" to "quick switch" or "zoom lock"
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2013, 18:51:21 »
Lifesaver :D
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline Gammalerik

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: "Screen lock" to "quick switch" or "zoom lock"
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2013, 15:46:14 »
One more thing comes to mind: -When the "Use Hardware Buttons" is enabled, can they be excluded from screen lock?
So it is possible to zoom with volume up/down while the screen itself is locked?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11390
  • Thanked: 305 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: "Screen lock" to "quick switch" or "zoom lock"
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2013, 15:49:21 »
hard to say, even a new "lock screen" button do not have bright future :)

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=3198
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Gammalerik

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: "Screen lock" to "quick switch" or "zoom lock"
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2013, 16:03:26 »
Yup, I have cast my vote there :D
-Crossing my fingers for the active volume buttons during screen lock.
I really think this will be a valuable combination for effectiveness with a wet display that is sometimes uncontrollable and a bit self-determined to mess things up.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline Gammalerik

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: "Screen lock" to "quick switch" or "zoom lock"
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2013, 11:12:00 »
Lately I have realized that to be able to zoom with hardware buttons while the screen is locked is not only "nice to have", but quite essential in wet / marine environments :)

Real-life scenario: I was paddling the other day with Locus as my navigation unit through some narrow straights. This area was like a miniature maze of tiny islands. I needed to constantly zoom in and out to get my main bearing (zoom out) plus avoiding reefs, dead ends, etc (zoom in). As always I have the screen locked because of the water that splashes onto my screen, and makes the unit respond erratically.
-As soon as I unlock the screen to zoom the wet screen starts to act up and I try to wipe the screen dry. Not an easy task when everything is wet including my hands, my clothes etc. The relative easy operation to zoom takes sometimes minutes under such conditions. And when zooming takes place several times per kilometer, one can imagine the hassle. Everything comes to a stop.

Conclusion: When the "use hardware buttons" is enabled, they should also work also when the screen is locked. Not only is this very handy and efficient, but also a "must have" :) Please, please :)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11390
  • Thanked: 305 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: "Screen lock" to "quick switch" or "zoom lock"
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2013, 14:14:45 »
:) in next version will be additional parameter

Code: [Select]
hardware_buttons_enabled_during_screen_lock
in configuration file
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Gammalerik

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: "Screen lock" to "quick switch" or "zoom lock"
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2013, 19:19:20 »
Best developer ever 8-) Thank you so very much
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »