Author Topic: "Problem with Map adding"  (Read 4979 times)

Offline air7

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Locus Pro is the best app I ever purchased.
    • View Profile
    • http://www.air7.ch
"Problem with Map adding"
« on: March 02, 2013, 12:40:55 »
Hi Menion,
it has been a long time... ;-)
I am still a heavy user of your awesome product (for dirt bike offroad navigation) and love it!
It is one of the top 5 apps on my phone ;-)

Now I have a little problem: after one of the recent updates I get the following error message every time I launch the app: "Problem with Map adding" see screenshot.

[attachment=0:2lixby08]Screenshot_2013-03-02-12-16-52.png[/attachment:2lixby08]

Any ideas?
Thank you in advance, best regards, Volker

Air7.ch
Volker Jacob
http://www.air7.ch
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Switched from iPhone4 to Galaxy S2 bcs screen
went on to -->Galaxy Note 2 --> then Note 3 --> now on Note 4 and Cat S40 rugged phone
SW: tried MotionX GPS (iOS), Google tracks and Trimble Outdoors on Android in vain
use Locus Pro since 2011 (internat. and offroad navigation, track record, share)
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11758
  • Thanked: 398 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: "Problem with Map adding"
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2013, 18:21:54 »
hmm interesting. Mainly it's quite mystery for me, why locus tests you some maps from Locus/mapsOnline directory.

May you please check your menu > maps > tab Personal, top button "Add directory" and if this dialog is line with Locus/mapsOnline directory? If so, please delete it
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline jusc

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1898
  • Thanked: 20 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 and Note 2
Re: "Problem with Map adding"
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2013, 09:40:06 »
@menion,

is it possible, that the database update, I think there was one in the past, was not made? Or do all newer releases of Locus make an update automaticly if it wasn´t made before?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Regards J.
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11758
  • Thanked: 398 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: "Problem with Map adding"
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2013, 10:08:13 »
and update of what? If I remember correctly,, SQLite maps has no update since begin.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline jusc

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1898
  • Thanked: 20 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 and Note 2
Re: "Problem with Map adding"
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2013, 10:20:30 »
ah ok, maybe I missunderstood. But some versions  of Locus ago, there was a redesgin I think. Like: please wait, Locus will now backup your ... generate... or similar (I found a zip file "before conversion..."). Seems it was something else  :)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Regards J.
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11758
  • Thanked: 398 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: "Problem with Map adding"
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2013, 10:55:33 »
yes this happen, but it was really related only to points and tracks, not to maps. Anyway here it will be different problem, but never saw it before :). I think that just by any accident, cached maps from mapsOnline are added to "Personal" maps and this may cause some troubles
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline air7

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Locus Pro is the best app I ever purchased.
    • View Profile
    • http://www.air7.ch
Re: "Problem with Map adding"
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2013, 12:50:39 »
[attachment=0:9vj095tz]51109.png[/attachment:9vj095tz]

hi, sorry for the late response:
when following your instructions I get to this screen:
What shall I do next?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Switched from iPhone4 to Galaxy S2 bcs screen
went on to -->Galaxy Note 2 --> then Note 3 --> now on Note 4 and Cat S40 rugged phone
SW: tried MotionX GPS (iOS), Google tracks and Trimble Outdoors on Android in vain
use Locus Pro since 2011 (internat. and offroad navigation, track record, share)
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11758
  • Thanked: 398 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: "Problem with Map adding"
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2013, 17:30:26 »
try to tap on line with path to mapsOnline directory and in popup window choose "Delete". After that close Locus, wait a while (5 secs) and then start it again
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline air7

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Locus Pro is the best app I ever purchased.
    • View Profile
    • http://www.air7.ch
Re: "Problem with Map adding"
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2013, 10:43:23 »
Hi Menion,
perfect - that solved it!
No more error messages ;-)
Thank you and best regards, Volker
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Switched from iPhone4 to Galaxy S2 bcs screen
went on to -->Galaxy Note 2 --> then Note 3 --> now on Note 4 and Cat S40 rugged phone
SW: tried MotionX GPS (iOS), Google tracks and Trimble Outdoors on Android in vain
use Locus Pro since 2011 (internat. and offroad navigation, track record, share)
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11758
  • Thanked: 398 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: "Problem with Map adding"
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2013, 10:50:13 »
perfect, you're welcome :)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline air7

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Locus Pro is the best app I ever purchased.
    • View Profile
    • http://www.air7.ch
Re: "Problem with Map adding"
« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2013, 01:53:00 »
still my favorite app, see homescreen  ;)
especially because of the great service!
[attachment=0:h34j47w0]Screenshot_2013-03-08-18-27-26.png[/attachment:h34j47w0]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Switched from iPhone4 to Galaxy S2 bcs screen
went on to -->Galaxy Note 2 --> then Note 3 --> now on Note 4 and Cat S40 rugged phone
SW: tried MotionX GPS (iOS), Google tracks and Trimble Outdoors on Android in vain
use Locus Pro since 2011 (internat. and offroad navigation, track record, share)
 

Offline Bengt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
  • Device: Sony Xperia Z1
Re: "Problem with Map adding"
« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2015, 14:33:40 »
I have exactly the same problem as "air7" described but I can't follow the solution from "menion" because I can't find any "Add directory"-button under "Personal". What am I missing?

Bengt

Phone: Sony Xperia Z1
Version: phone 4.4.4   Locus 3.8.2
Working directory: /storage/emulated/0/Locus
 

Offline Michal

  • Administrator
  • Apprentice of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 118
  • Thanked: 8 times
    • View Profile
    • Asamm Software
Re: "Problem with Map adding"
« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2015, 18:24:55 »
Hi Bengt, the button is in the menu in the upper right corner > Add maps > Add new file/directory
PR/support & UXW & copy, Locus team, Asamm Software, Prague