Author Topic: Custom polygon overlay  (Read 3333 times)

Offline janeks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Custom polygon overlay
« on: November 19, 2012, 18:19:48 »
Hi,

I am looking for some way to display on a map my custom polygons as overlays.
I need base map and some polygons over them.
In best case it would be nice if I can see some identify information on these polygons some way.

Is it possible and what would be the right way to do that?

brgds
Janeks
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline berkley

  • Premium
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 900
    • View Profile
  • Device: 1+1, N7
Re: Custom polygon overlay
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2012, 14:44:19 »
Hi,

create your polygons in Google Earth on desktop PC, put your information in it, export them as kml or kmz file and put these files in the Locus directory called "mapItems". You now can use them as overlay from the data screen.

cheers, berkley
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Search before posting!!!
XDA Orbit, HTC Touch HD, SGS1, SGS2, Nexus S, S4 Active, OnePlus One, Innos D6000
OnePlus X
 

Offline gynta

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3549
  • Thanked: 40 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus live tracking service
  • Device: SM-A530F(A8) Android 8.0.0
Re: Custom polygon overlay
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2012, 15:38:31 »
You can create (not movable) polygons (and can fill them) with this option:
http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php/manual ... te_measure
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline janeks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Custom polygon overlay
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2012, 14:24:07 »
Thank you for answers.

Now I got polygons into the Locus.

So here follows the next questions:

Labels:
Is it possible to get static labels for the same polygons from KML?
Does the Locus works with KLM(XML) format specifications and I could rely on them?

Search:
Can I search within my KML by some text string in attributes?

brgds
Janeks
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Online Menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11883
  • Thanked: 444 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 2
Re: Custom polygon overlay
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2012, 14:50:25 »
labels:
static labels aren't supported. Is such feature in KML files?

unfortunately KLM (btw. what is it? cannot find any info) is for sure not supported.

search:
no, not yet
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
Support email: locus.map@asamm.com
 

Offline janeks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Custom polygon overlay
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2012, 22:56:03 »
Sorry not KLM - it was a mistake. The right one is KML  :roll:

Static labels - I saw same demo on internet:
http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Demo ... rkers.html

The one thing that it a bit confusing the users is that even if the KML element is polygon - it is treated like track.
I.e. when you like to get the info on polygon you should go througt a point of polygon - not just putting the cursor over polygon.

Are there other vector data formats supported in Locus, that could be used as user data overlays (if theyr behaviour in Locus is other)?

Probably I should use the KML tags for polygon in some different way - so that it will not be interpreted like a track/route?

brgds
Janeks
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Online Menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11883
  • Thanked: 444 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 2
Re: Custom polygon overlay
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2012, 23:10:49 »
here is list of supported tags in Locus for now http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php/manual:import_dialog

anyway I'm still gladly work on improvements of KML support, so if you give me some sample file with elements that locus now do not support, I'll try to do something with it.

about vector map formats ... if you want interact with your items a little bit, I really suggest to use KML files, as quite well supported format in Locus.

ah and last thing .. about touching a polygon. It's correct. Reason for this is, that it's much faster on mobile device. I simply check just polygon points for touching, not a whole area. Anyway I did this quite a long time ago. Device power had changed some maybe it's time to change this also :)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
Support email: locus.map@asamm.com