Author Topic: Export rte gpx  (Read 1865 times)

Offline Maarek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Export rte gpx
« on: November 14, 2011, 19:28:50 »
It is very convinient for me to plan a trip in Locus and then export it to my Garmin device, which works better on mountain bike handlebar than SGSII.

I can easily connect SGSII to Garmin, export to gpx from Locus and copy files to garmin. It works very well. The gpx produced by Locus are imported into garmin as tracks. I just wish, I could export tracks from Locus as routes (rte/rtpt). Routes are better for navigation in garmin.

Great App!
Thanks,
Marek
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11169
  • Thanked: 265 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Export rte gpx
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2011, 16:51:43 »
hmm, is in it really big difference in both types on garmin? I'm thinking how to achieve this ... hmm
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Maarek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Export rte gpx
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2011, 14:16:11 »
In general tracks on garmin are used for recording and routes are used for navigation.
With routes on garmin you can use onroad routing and see profile from map dem data. You can also edit routes and cannot edit tracks.
When you navigate with tracks, garmin assumes that you would follow track exactly and when you don't it will not calculate remaining distance correctly.

If you can use online routing and elevation in Locus the difference between tracks and routes is not big, but if you cannot it is considerable.

Regards,
Marek
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11169
  • Thanked: 265 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Export rte gpx
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2011, 16:13:42 »
oki, good reason and problem description. I'll add this to settings ...

EDIT: half an hour work, done ;)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Maarek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Export rte gpx
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2011, 14:31:47 »
Thanks!

Edit: I have just updated Locus, tested rte export with my garmin dacota and it works perfect!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11169
  • Thanked: 265 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Export rte gpx
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2011, 11:45:02 »
fine, topic closed
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!