Author Topic: No GPS Fix  (Read 2772 times)

Offline sonstwer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
No GPS Fix
« on: June 25, 2011, 20:48:51 »
Hi,

I just tried Locus Free on my HTC Desire HD with Cyanogen Mod. The problem is that Locus won't get a GPS Fix. It shows 5 satelites but no fix (I tried up to 2 hours). Other Apps like GPS Status have a GPS fix fast and realiable. Does somebody know what I'm doing wrong?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline berkley

  • Expert
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 900
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: 1+1, N7
Re: No GPS Fix
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2011, 20:56:58 »
Hi sonstwer,

probably german, but as you*re able to post your problem in english... Here we go... ;)

So what did you do?
- enabled your device's gps
- started GPS Status
- got a GPS fix
- switched to Locus
- no fix?

Did you try it outside or indoors?

If your phone has a gps fix through another app, Locus has no problem using the gps from the information the phone provides for Locus.

Cheers, berkley
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Search before posting!!!
XDA Orbit, HTC Touch HD, SGS1, SGS2, Nexus S, S4 Active, OnePlus One, Innos D6000
OnePlus X
 

Offline sonstwer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: No GPS Fix
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2011, 21:06:51 »
Quote from: "berkley"
So what did you do?
- enabled your device's gps
- started GPS Status
- got a GPS fix
- switched to Locus
- no fix?

Yes that's the way I tried it.

Quote from: "berkley"
Did you try it outside or indoors?

Both didn't work. I tried it next to the window and in the my garden. GPS Status had a fix about 10 seconds later, but Locus hadn't.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12823
  • Thanked: 952 times
  • Country: cz
    • View Profile
    • https://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 5, A12
Re: No GPS Fix
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2011, 21:32:31 »
pretty interesting. I used DHD with Cyanogen Mod till friday and no problem anytime. You may try reset A-GPS data in settings of GPS status or Locus. Maybe this helps. Also ... ehm ... did you enabled GPS in Locus satellite screen? Ah you said you saw five sats, so probably yes ...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download
 

Offline berkley

  • Expert
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 900
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: 1+1, N7
Re: No GPS Fix
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2011, 21:34:06 »
It's sometimes confusing to new users...
Ehm, did you activate the GPS in Locus itself?

Check the third from right button on the top panel.

This is a feature meant to preserve some battery, when GPS is active on the device but not needed in any other app.

Please do these steps and I*m pretty sure, it'll work ;)
- disable WiFi
- enable the GPS on your device
- start Locus Free and minimize it (don't close it!!!)
- start Google Maps (or any other software that uses GPS)
- wait untill you have a GPS fix in that app
- open Locus Free again
- see the GPS Fix!
- That's it!!!

;)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Search before posting!!!
XDA Orbit, HTC Touch HD, SGS1, SGS2, Nexus S, S4 Active, OnePlus One, Innos D6000
OnePlus X
 

Offline sonstwer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: No GPS Fix
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2011, 22:37:06 »
Ok that works. At the moment I think it was a defective contact at the antenna at my DHD. The cap at the LED flash has the antenna in it.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline berkley

  • Expert
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 900
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: 1+1, N7
Re: No GPS Fix
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2011, 06:19:08 »
Glad to hear that ;)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Search before posting!!!
XDA Orbit, HTC Touch HD, SGS1, SGS2, Nexus S, S4 Active, OnePlus One, Innos D6000
OnePlus X