Author Topic: Line width when navigating  (Read 365 times)

Offline kavetheman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
  • Device: Galaxy active tab 3
Line width when navigating
« on: June 13, 2021, 06:48:01 »
In this example I have pointed on a location on the map and told locus to navigate to it.
Here the whole route is shown:

Here it is zoomed in:

Any ideas why it is so thin and opaque sometimes? Makes it hard to see.
 

Offline 0709

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Thanked: 86 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus track navigation
  • Device: THL4000 CM12.1 (A5.1.1) SM-T235 (A5.1.1) MI A2 Lite (A9)
Re: Line width when navigating
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2021, 19:49:15 »
https://help.locusmap.eu/topic/improve-strict-navigation-mtb-comfort
This functionality could also be done by indicating the nearby target part with a different track style.
Locus Pro 3.52
 
The following users thanked this post: Menion

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Expert
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 978
  • Thanked: 81 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 v8.1, Samsung Tab A7 v10
Re: Line width when navigating
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2021, 23:55:49 »
Any ideas why it is so thin and opaque sometimes? Makes it hard to see.
the default navigation track style can be changed to other styles - main menu > Settings > Navigation > Line style. The solid line indicates your track, the clear track indicates your route. All settings are a compromise to suit the majority, but the great thing about Locus is the huge amount of customization to help those want something a little different.
LM4.3.3.8 GOLD
 

Offline 0709

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Thanked: 86 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus track navigation
  • Device: THL4000 CM12.1 (A5.1.1) SM-T235 (A5.1.1) MI A2 Lite (A9)
Re: Line width when navigating
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2021, 07:25:53 »
That is absolutely correct Andrew.

I notice that the question was not asked for the first time when using the default style.
Where in standard style the already "consumed" track part is presented 'bleached'.
It may therefore be possible to make it a little more optimal through a slightly different presentation of the idea.
I suppose (you never know) that this will be perceived as less of a nuisance then.
This is mainly to prevent the same kind of comment from popping up too often.

The target designation method does not always work flawlessly, however.
The style change of the "near target zone" is not always positioned correctly.
However, since "nobody" is "complaining" I have not gone into it anymore.
Locus Pro 3.52
 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Expert
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 978
  • Thanked: 81 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 v8.1, Samsung Tab A7 v10
Re: Line width when navigating
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2021, 00:04:38 »
A custom nav track style where the user could specify a dual combination - before/ after the current location, would be an interesting facility. That would essentially be a superset of the existing default track style. But I don't think it's high priority right now ;-)
LM4.3.3.8 GOLD
 

Offline kavetheman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
  • Device: Galaxy active tab 3
Re: Line width when navigating
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2021, 20:34:23 »
Any ideas why it is so thin and opaque sometimes? Makes it hard to see.
the default navigation track style can be changed to other styles - main menu > Settings > Navigation > Line style. The solid line indicates your track, the clear track indicates your route. All settings are a compromise to suit the majority, but the great thing about Locus is the huge amount of customization to help those want something a little different.
In my case i am stationary, I just change zoom level on the map and pan arround. I get that it might change after I have travelled a bit but this is all done 5 seconds apart from the same location
 

Offline 0709

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 90
  • Thanked: 86 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus track navigation
  • Device: THL4000 CM12.1 (A5.1.1) SM-T235 (A5.1.1) MI A2 Lite (A9)
Re: Line width when navigating
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2021, 08:50:59 »
I hope you understand correctly what exactly was meant.
Even if navigation direction command arrows are missing, indicate unambiguously the next 150 to 200 m of a route this by using a different *style.
Even at the start, you can already be positioned directly in front of a multiple-choice road fork on which you so correctly choose the right direction.

* This (first) implementation is therefore probably not quite optimal presented.
As a better looking alternative, you could indicate the next 150 to 200 m by covering the navigation line with small direction arrows. Graphics experts maybe have even better suggestions? Anyway pse KISS.

Similar: https://t.ly/iGcM
Locus Pro 3.52
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

Online Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12430
  • Thanked: 757 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 2
Re: Line width when navigating
« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2021, 11:12:48 »
Thanks Willy, perfect answer.

As mentioned earlier, this post explains exactly what you see: https://help.locusmap.eu/topic/improve-strict-navigation-mtb-comfort#comment-81562

Suggestions on how to distinguish these three lines better are of course welcome.

I see the only problem here: the app computes the moment when "after1" became "after2" as equal close to screen diameter. So in most cases, when you are centered during navigation, you always see mainly "after1". Anyway when you start moving with the map to see what is coming, you, of course, start to see "after2" track. And this ... is it a problem?
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard