Author Topic: Locus Map 4, discussion  (Read 17751 times)

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2673
  • Thanked: 125 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: Hold map center
« Reply #450 on: June 23, 2020, 08:25:24 »
Normaly with this option the map is centered after a delay of 5s (or with expert settings definable) ... but in LM4 it doesn't work.
Locus PRO 3.46.1
 
The following users thanked this post: jonny.blue

Offline Ricardo Borges

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #451 on: June 23, 2020, 12:24:15 »
Normaly with this option the map is centered after a delay of 5s (or with expert settings definable) ... but in LM4 it doesn't work.
Hello Balloni55, what is the red icon on the right panel? Never saw it.

Enviado de meu Moto Z3 Play usando o Tapatalk

 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2673
  • Thanked: 125 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #452 on: June 23, 2020, 12:39:34 »
Quote
Hello Balloni55, what is the red icon on the right panel? Never saw it.
it´s a screencast recorder added as extern app for use inside locus
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.hecorat.screenrecorder.free&hl=de
Locus PRO 3.46.1
 

Offline jonny.blue

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 124
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Galaxy S10e
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #453 on: June 23, 2020, 22:10:40 »
Quote
Karte an GPS..

Oh, thanks.😎

Saw this option but didn't know what it's good for. 🤔🙂
 

Offline jonny.blue

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 124
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Galaxy S10e
Version expires 1.7.20
« Reply #454 on: June 27, 2020, 21:57:27 »
Is there a new version planned because only some few days left?

... and I forgot how to work with official version. 😁
 
The following users thanked this post: freischneider

Offline Žajdlík Josef

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 382
  • Thanked: 21 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia M, Alcatel One Touch II, Samsung A3 (2017)
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #455 on: June 28, 2020, 12:35:08 »
Would it be possible to add a version of the Climb Pro function to version 4? https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2mimn3lBN1I
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 803
  • Thanked: 121 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #456 on: June 28, 2020, 23:58:15 »
In dark mode:
1. Search text entered in Settings is almost unreadable with very low contrast
2. What is the intention for the icons for vector map themes in dark mode. Should I redesign the icon for my theme so it works against a dark background as well as a light one, or will it be automatically inverted in due course, or will there need to be two variants of icon for each theme?

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 779
  • Thanked: 46 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #457 on: June 29, 2020, 01:04:33 »
Would it be possible to add a version of the Climb Pro function to version 4? https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2mimn3lBN1I
Watching that video reminds me it would be nice to see the name of the upcoming road name, not just the command/ direction. If and when BRouter is integrated into Locus, surely this level of functionality will become possible.
 
The following users thanked this post: Žajdlík Josef

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11779
  • Thanked: 409 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #458 on: June 29, 2020, 08:55:50 »
@michaelbechtold
problem with enabled GPS is weird. I noticed it one really really long time ago. Almost impossible without simulation or till it happens to me when I'll be home (connected to PC).  :-\

@Žajdlík Josef
quick checked the video ... what is the point? The chart that display how far are you on the up or down segment during navigation? ... ah, found a nice explanation here: https://support.garmin.com/en-SG/?faq=KKRLD2Fo6MAlCXOzUZb1e9 . Well, nice but not doable in the nearest days.

@john_percy
1. top toolbar cause problems to me. I'm still unable to find a method, how to make it looks correctly. Looks, I'll after all change the color back to a darker version like in the current Locus Map version.
2. good question. Probably best will be to invert color for completely black icons in case of dark mode. I'll look at it, thanks.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 
The following users thanked this post: Žajdlík Josef

Offline poutnikl

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 607
  • Thanked: 63 times
    • View Profile
    • My Brouter Profiles
  • Device: Xiaomi MI A2 (6G/128G) / A10 / LM3 Pro + LM4 alpha
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #459 on: June 29, 2020, 13:56:51 »
Note that BRouter does not store street names in its rd5 files. So even if Brouter were integrated, it would not provide the names.

Sent from my Xiaomi MI A2 / Android 10, via Tapatalk

https://github.com/poutnikl/Brouter-profiles/wiki
When a user digs profiles up from the GitHub repositories,
they will be hopefully wrapped in some wiki knowledge....  :-)
Try also https://github.com/poutnikl/Brouter-profiles/wiki/Determining-optimal-bicycle-profile
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 779
  • Thanked: 46 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #460 on: June 30, 2020, 00:34:15 »
Note that BRouter does not store street names in its rd5 files. So even if Brouter were integrated, it would not provide the names.

Sent from my Xiaomi MI A2 / Android 10, via Tapatalk
thanks @poutnikl. So why during navigation & I assume in route itinerary can road names be displayed when using GraphHopper but not with BRouter? I made a suggestion 3 years ago on this topic but got no response. Displaying "unknown street" for every itinerary navigation turn instruction is a waste of display space.
 

Offline poutnikl

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 607
  • Thanked: 63 times
    • View Profile
    • My Brouter Profiles
  • Device: Xiaomi MI A2 (6G/128G) / A10 / LM3 Pro + LM4 alpha
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #461 on: June 30, 2020, 11:59:09 »
It is nice there is a new LM4 beta from June 29, but it still reports it's validity only to July 1.

Sent from my Xiaomi MI A2 / Android 10, via Tapatalk
https://github.com/poutnikl/Brouter-profiles/wiki
When a user digs profiles up from the GitHub repositories,
they will be hopefully wrapped in some wiki knowledge....  :-)
Try also https://github.com/poutnikl/Brouter-profiles/wiki/Determining-optimal-bicycle-profile
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 803
  • Thanked: 121 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #462 on: June 30, 2020, 12:15:43 »
In latest V4 beta, mid sized thumbnails for geotagged photos still usually return generic jpg icon, unlike in version 3. I'm not sure if that was supposed to be fixed, according to release notes.
(That's when tapping on small thumbnail picture on map and getting details screen appearing at bottom of screen. Tapping on jpg icon then gives correct large image.)


Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11779
  • Thanked: 409 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #463 on: June 30, 2020, 13:04:41 »
Street names during navigation ... I was already playing with an option to supply street names from the offline address database (as Andrew suggested). It worked, but not so fast. Anyway, with some optimizations, it may be doable ...

@poutnikl
ah ... I'm settings these time limits manually and sometimes I forget. Thanks, I'll generate a new version today (maybe tomorrow) after few more fixes.

@john_percy
hmm, problem I was solving was about thumbnails in the detail of point (attached photos). You have problem with "Geotagged photos"? Where is a problem? You see on the map corrent mini-photo icons, but in the detail of the point, there is incorrect thumbnail? From where are the photos? Anything special about it's name or path in your device?
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 803
  • Thanked: 121 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #464 on: June 30, 2020, 13:45:54 »
@menion
Photos are from phone camera, stored in normal phone folder. Either "new photo point" or simple discovery by Locus has the same result. But works fine on version 3. And one or two of my camera photos work fine in version 4.


Screenshots show pop up detail panel and result of tapping on the jpg icon.
Additional screenshot is from version 3.
« Last Edit: June 30, 2020, 13:54:48 by john_percy »