Author Topic: Locus Map 4, discussion  (Read 28137 times)

Offline tapio

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 385
  • Thanked: 63 times
    • View Profile
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #285 on: April 14, 2020, 13:39:53 »
It is clearly visible to me how (almost) everyone here thinks... it's expected :) ... "I need this, dot".
Nah, I think most of us are aware about many more aspects like UI clutter, change of functionality vs. user behaviour, multiple wishes resulting in additional options, resulting in software complexity... But it is not useful to always write walls of text.

So my approach now and here is: I WANT THIS, PERIOD 😁
 
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

Offline poutnikl

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 649
  • Thanked: 68 times
    • View Profile
    • My Brouter Profiles
  • Device: Xiaomi MI A2 (6G/128G) / A10 / LM3 Pro + LM4 alpha
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #286 on: April 14, 2020, 13:53:07 »
Are not all polls about what anybody wants ? But it may be what he wants for himself or what he wants for all to have overall more pros than cons.

Sent from my Xiaomi MI A2 / Android 10, via Tapatalk


Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 821
  • Thanked: 121 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #287 on: April 14, 2020, 13:54:43 »
I don't usually think "this is what I want" in response to the many and varied suggestions, but in this case I make an exception.
Some way to quick switch to manual drawing and back, please. This is what I want.

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 

Offline Menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11853
  • Thanked: 436 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 2
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #288 on: April 14, 2020, 13:56:05 »
Polls ... usually are, but we here are creating something with aware, it uses more people that just a few of us here ;).

Anyway, vote vote ... and most probably, I'll have to solve this by some additional settings for this "+" button long-click, to offer new functionality while keeping current system ...
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
Support email: locus.map@asamm.com
 

Offline freischneider

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 623
  • Thanked: 47 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung S8, Locus Pro, always newest official version
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #289 on: April 14, 2020, 16:21:03 »
What is the function of a long click on + at the moment? If we all know, we can help find a solution.
 

Offline poutnikl

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 649
  • Thanked: 68 times
    • View Profile
    • My Brouter Profiles
  • Device: Xiaomi MI A2 (6G/128G) / A10 / LM3 Pro + LM4 alpha
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #290 on: April 14, 2020, 16:53:35 »
Long +  click is currently bringing set of alternative ways of the point selection, similar to one in the navigation dialogue.

But it is the same as in LM3 Pro.

Sent from my Xiaomi MI A2 / Android 10, via Tapatalk


Offline tapio

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 385
  • Thanked: 63 times
    • View Profile
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #291 on: April 14, 2020, 21:12:08 »
Long +  click is currently bringing set of alternative ways of the point selection, similar to one in the navigation dialogue.

But it is the same as in LM3 Pro.

Sent from my Xiaomi MI A2 / Android 10, via Tapatalk

Yup, and does anybody ever need it there? But I also see, from UI perspective it makes sense.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2020, 21:14:29 by tapio »
 

Offline poutnikl

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 649
  • Thanked: 68 times
    • View Profile
    • My Brouter Profiles
  • Device: Xiaomi MI A2 (6G/128G) / A10 / LM3 Pro + LM4 alpha
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #292 on: April 14, 2020, 21:13:41 »
Or otherwise.
Is there anybody not using it ? :-)

Sent from my Xiaomi MI A2 / Android 10, via Tapatalk


Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2691
  • Thanked: 126 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #293 on: April 14, 2020, 21:16:22 »
Or otherwise.
Is there anybody not using it ? :-)
YES me  ;D
Locus PRO 3.48.2
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 821
  • Thanked: 121 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #294 on: April 14, 2020, 22:11:50 »
I didn't know it was there till yesterday

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 791
  • Thanked: 46 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #295 on: April 15, 2020, 05:18:29 »
Or otherwise.
Is there anybody not using it ? :-)
until this discussion I wasn't aware long-tap on + did anything, probably many Locus hidden gems in same category, but now I know the extra function I think its useful & consistent
 

Offline poutnikl

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 649
  • Thanked: 68 times
    • View Profile
    • My Brouter Profiles
  • Device: Xiaomi MI A2 (6G/128G) / A10 / LM3 Pro + LM4 alpha
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #296 on: April 15, 2020, 06:32:26 »
until this discussion I wasn't aware long-tap on + did anything, probably many Locus hidden gems in same category, but now I know the extra function I think its useful & consistent

Hi Andrew,

I have been trained by various  applications  and electronic devices to try long presses on control elements ...  "what if it does something ?" . Especially if I am not able to invoke a feature that is there.

I have discovered the long press "+" does what it does, without prior knowledge it should be somehow possible.

Similarly, long press "-" clears the planner (after confirmation).

Sent from my Xiaomi MI A2 / Android 10, via Tapatalk
« Last Edit: April 15, 2020, 06:35:10 by poutnikl »
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

Offline poutnikl

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 649
  • Thanked: 68 times
    • View Profile
    • My Brouter Profiles
  • Device: Xiaomi MI A2 (6G/128G) / A10 / LM3 Pro + LM4 alpha
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #297 on: April 15, 2020, 06:51:22 »
Scale ruler: I withdraw my prior comment about missing scale ruler in the planner. I was tricked by the fact that while the main map window has it at the top, the planner has it at the bottom.  In fact I had known it was there, but I had forgotten about it, while I was looking at the top, seeing a missing ruler. :-)

Sent from my Xiaomi MI A2 / Android 10, via Tapatalk

Offline lor74cas

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 312
  • Thanked: 24 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung A5 2017
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #298 on: April 15, 2020, 11:54:46 »
Hello,
I do not understand why this option is the top voted "Long click on "Route type": toggle between "manual" and "selected" routing".
"Toggle" function is a shortcut to change the profile to manual and back, it does not to draw directly a manual point.
With the direct manual point (on the + or on the profile icon, does't matter) if you need to concatenate more points you have two options:
1) with few points, use the long touch for each point
2) with a lot of points just toggle to the manual mode as always

With one point, no contest, just one long touch

I think I do not understand because someone else has different needs than me, but I'm curious.
 
The following users thanked this post: balloni55, poutnikl

Offline Menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11853
  • Thanked: 436 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 2
Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« Reply #299 on: April 15, 2020, 14:02:47 »
Few points @lor74cas
- long-click on "Route type" to add new point > logically this does not make sense as adding content is not connected to the type of added route segments
- long-click on "+" button > make sense, but unfortunately, we already have here another existing functionality

So, your requirements are loud and clear > simply and mainly quickly add a single manual segment. Unfortunately, the solution is not so simple.
And agree, the toggle option is perfectly equal to your needs, but it still saves some time.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
Support email: locus.map@asamm.com