Author Topic: Locus Map for Garmin  (Read 2115 times)

Offline Papaluna

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung A5 2017 + Fenix 3 HR
Re: Locus Map for Garmin
« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2019, 23:12:20 »
Hello Jan,
i buied and installed premium version onto my Fenix 3HR.
I have made first navigations and didn't encountered any crash.
Pretty good.
Howsoever i'm missing really the optio to import tracks/routes.
Is it caused by the limited memory.?
Might it be an option to serve a second app with this function?
Kind regards
Gert
 

Offline Jan Čapek - WearSoft

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanked: 11 times
    • View Profile
    • WearSoft
  • Device: Samsung S7 + Garmin
Re: Locus Map for Garmin
« Reply #16 on: September 03, 2019, 10:52:11 »
Hi Gert,

thanks for feedback. Unfortunately Fenix 3 doesn't support to import track via Connect IQ app, because of missing functionalities in its old CIQ version. Honestly, I was also surprised by this limitation.

So unfortunately, it is not possible to provide this feature on this model.

Jan

 

Offline Papaluna

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung A5 2017 + Fenix 3 HR
Re: Locus Map for Garmin
« Reply #17 on: September 03, 2019, 22:07:47 »
Hi Jan,
1.
thats really strange.
I just exported a track from Locus.
I than opened the track with 'open with' option.
This offers me to choose Garmin Connect.
After this the track was imported into GC.
And from GC i can transfer the track to my Fenix 3.
So in general it is possible to transfer.
But it is really not user friendly.

2.no deviation alarm
Today navigating a track in Locus i could hear deviation alarm voice from Locus(fortunately i had forgotten to mute sounds otherwise i had missed this alarm) but doesn't see a hint on Fenix.
Bug or missing function?
Kind regards
Gert
 

Offline Jan Čapek - WearSoft

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanked: 11 times
    • View Profile
    • WearSoft
  • Device: Samsung S7 + Garmin
Re: Locus Map for Garmin
« Reply #18 on: September 04, 2019, 18:54:15 »
Hi Papaluna,

yes, this import works and I agree it is not really user-friendly. But I talked about importing via Connect IQ app like Locus Map. And that is not possible on Fenix 3 (unlike newer models which allows you to import track with two clicks via our app).

We have lots of planned features and some alert via Garmin before changing direction is one of them. The only question is how much we will be able to squeeze to already fully used memory limit on Fenix 3.

Jan
 
The following users thanked this post: Kalti94

Offline sbouju

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 69
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Mainly: One+ 6T, One+ 3T, Unihertz Jelly Pro
Re: Locus Map for Garmin
« Reply #19 on: October 08, 2019, 15:58:04 »
Garmin fenix 6 is available now, Christmas is coming soon, Locus Map for Garmin is already paid, so... ;)

Concerning the fenix 6, can have the 6x version (with cartography) any interest over le 6 version (without cartography), for using it mainly with LocusMap, for that purpose? Not speaking here of its screen (a little larger,) nor the music related fonctions.
 

Offline Jan Čapek - WearSoft

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanked: 11 times
    • View Profile
    • WearSoft
  • Device: Samsung S7 + Garmin
Re: Locus Map for Garmin
« Reply #20 on: October 08, 2019, 16:30:56 »
Hi Sbouju,

Fenix 6 is already supported, so why don't you install it? Broken maps on Fenix 6 will be fixed in next few days with new version.

EDIT: Oh, I didn't understand your answer at first.
Yes, with Fenix 6 PRO, you will have in Locus Map additional screen with Garmin maps. But with version 2.0.0, which will come in just few days, you will get another map screen in Locus Map regardless Fenix 6 model you choose to buy, so this might ease your decision. ;)

Jan
« Last Edit: October 08, 2019, 17:20:11 by Jan Čapek - WearSoft »
 

Offline sbouju

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 69
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Mainly: One+ 6T, One+ 3T, Unihertz Jelly Pro
Re: Locus Map for Garmin
« Reply #21 on: October 08, 2019, 19:11:03 »
Fenix 6 is already supported, so why don't you install it?
Good idea! I just need to make the (good!) choice for buying one of its numerous models, before this installation...  ;)
 

Offline sbouju

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 69
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Mainly: One+ 6T, One+ 3T, Unihertz Jelly Pro
Re: Locus Map for Garmin
« Reply #22 on: October 13, 2019, 12:39:45 »
I have another question: on a fenix 6 (Connect IQ compatible) but which is not "Pro" or "X" (without any Garmin original cartography), can the watch show my smartphone LoMaps current map on its screen, as can do my Sony SmartWatch 3 ?

« Last Edit: October 14, 2019, 07:48:30 by sbouju »