Author Topic: Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )  (Read 24651 times)

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 803
  • Thanked: 121 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #135 on: May 04, 2019, 09:36:31 »
@menion: Yeah I agree yellow road on yellow background is not very visible. I didn't choose it purposefully though, it was just what the Locus internal theme displayed. In any case, it does show the shading is getting too dark too soon. It's much the same with a LoMap and V3 renderer, though the road and background are not yellow but pale off-white.
As for the forum, I got a series of errors when I attempted to post. First, "attachment too large"; then when I changed the attachment, "posted again too soon"; then after I waited, "you have already made this post". Grrr. I had to back out and start again.


Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 

Offline jonny.blue

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 123
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Galaxy S10e
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #136 on: May 04, 2019, 09:39:08 »
Quote
Because automatic recalculation is trigger max. once per 30 seconds, ...

Knowing about this 30 secs I started a new test series ... and yes, with enough patience  ;) this is what Locus does.
But there is a second condition: recalculation only starts if you are moving.

Therefore switching programs seems to start navigation in my earlier tests ... but now I know it were the gone 30 sec and movement when I came back.

But I'm really not sure if there should be a 30sec delay ...

What is the reason for this?
Isn't the distance a better criteria?
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2673
  • Thanked: 125 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #137 on: May 04, 2019, 10:44:15 »
after each start of Beta it is not possible to download PQ´s with GCtool.
I can solve it > run update of a cache, next download of PQ´s work till next start of Beta
Locus PRO 3.46.1
 

Offline slarti76

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 208
  • Thanked: 18 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: S9, XCover 4s - Galaxy Tab S5e & S2 9.7
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #138 on: May 04, 2019, 11:05:21 »
New Beta (.10):
  • Is the map tilting gone or is there a new setting? 2-finger drag up/down doesn't do anything for me anymore
  • Nearest Points sidebar: Probably not new, but because now POIs from vector maps are also shown in raster maps, I stumbled over it: These POIs are also shown in the sidebar, which is fine - but they have the same category as my database points. It should be possibly to deselect these as an own category in the "wrench" menu - right now, they are also "Basic points". But they're completely different source and also, other than my points, have no separate Hide/Show button. So they clutter up the sidebar. (Also, please consider https://help.locusmap.eu/topic/option-inside-nearest-points-loadshow-first-xx-on-map once more, it's still a lot of taps to show all points in the vicinity, even when they are from different folders in the database).
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11781
  • Thanked: 409 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #139 on: May 04, 2019, 13:19:38 »
@john_percy
I'll discuss this with Petr this week. Not sure if a little decrease in shading is necessary because of one bad combination of yellow & yellow that is not so usual.

And forum, well, next time smaller attachments. Hard to help :).

@jonny.blue
recalculation should work also when the screen is off (except known problem to me with BRouter on Android 8). Weird. 30 second is there as a simple prevention of too frequent computations. Distance is definitely not enough to limit it. Distance even a 200m in car is really short and recalculation every few seconds, hmm not sure if ideal.

@balloni55
right after start, thanks, I'll test it.

@slarti76
tilting was again removed. It was enabled by accident, sorry.

And nearest points: good point. I've added this to list of "LoPoints improvements".
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline tommi

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1232
  • Thanked: 2 times
  • Devices: Samsung S7 + S5 + S3 + Nexus7 flo
    • View Profile
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #140 on: May 04, 2019, 14:58:01 »
if i start route planner map center to Prague :-[
in my case blank map is visible, available world map isn´t loaded.
With center button inside routplanner window, map center return to last known position
Same issue for me.
If there is a uncompleted route in route planner you can continue it. But if route planner starts from fresh map center is moved to Prague - might be handy for Menion  ;) but not for users elswhere on the world.
 

Offline Viajero Perdido

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 130
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 (Android 7), Blackview BV6000s (Android 6), Nexus 7 (2013) for Alpha/Beta testing.
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #141 on: May 04, 2019, 17:59:53 »
There was a temporary glitch with loading Pocket Queries last night.  This happened on two devices (one with Beta, one with Pro), but did not happen on a third device with Pro.  The problem was repeatable for a few minutes until suddenly it started working again.

Geocaching tools -> Load Pocket Queries
[thinks for longer than usual]
"Whoops! [very strange message and code] code: 429

Of note, I have 21 fairly full PQs available right now.  And that funny text before the "code: 429", I'm not sure that's even ASCII.

Whether this is a potential problem, you can judge better than I.

Also, in Beta, after successfully loading some PQs (no "Whoops"), I noticed it sometimes returned me to the map, sometimes returned me to the Geocaching Tools screen.  (The latter is more convenient, for loading the next set.)  Haven't yet figured out what I might've done differently.  (Dragged my finger on the screen to keep it from going asleep while processing PQs; would that change anything?)
« Last Edit: May 04, 2019, 18:15:20 by Viajero Perdido »
 

Offline CabrioTourer

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #142 on: May 04, 2019, 21:51:42 »
I don't get the point why to use x trackpoints in a row. Doesn't matter what x is. Only few of them are important. For all others you must touch one of the important ones to reach.
I mean for a lot of activities you are using streets, ways etc. So all trackpoints which doesnt touch another street/way are useless to check.
But don't know if it's easy to select.

For a starting point.
A recalculation which send me back has no real information. It's always the case that a return to the missing point will bring you back on track.
For the first recalculation it might be ok to show the point you missed (?). But maybe it's a good start to assume a "no go area" behind for the following recalculations.

If user didn't follow the advice for 30 sec or over a minute. The user might have a reason to do so.The following recalculation can respect that.

As allows just an idea.

Just a quick comment.
I'm using Locus for two years now and my example shows nothing special. This is what happened quite often to me.

 

Offline Viajero Perdido

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 130
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 (Android 7), Blackview BV6000s (Android 6), Nexus 7 (2013) for Alpha/Beta testing.
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #143 on: May 04, 2019, 22:53:47 »
I don't understand Zoom Lock.  In the beta I've assigned it to the lower-right button, and tapping it toggles between 12 / 100% and 12 / 1600% (or any other number in place of 12).

That's not intended, is it?

If it is supposed to work that way, maybe it needs another name.

Ah, I get it.  It's kind of an "alternate zoom".  I can choose 100% and other%, and toggle.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2019, 22:55:36 by Viajero Perdido »
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 803
  • Thanked: 121 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #144 on: May 04, 2019, 23:49:39 »
@Viajero Perdido:
(a) Taking your starting view as ZL12/100%, tap on the Zoom Lock button. View is now a magnified version of current zoom, say ZL12/1600%.
(b) Tap the [ + ] or [ - ] buttons and the magnification changes but the zoom is locked at ZL12.
(c) Now tap Zoom Lock to turn it off and display reverts to (say) ZL12/100%.
(d) Next time you tap Zoom Lock you will see the map view magnified by the same percentage as you left it with last in (b) above.
 
The following users thanked this post: Viajero Perdido

Offline erfi

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 192
  • Thanked: 16 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: HTC One S, Samsung S8
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #145 on: May 05, 2019, 00:24:56 »
3.37.2.10 beta: route planner starts on false position.
 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 780
  • Thanked: 46 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #146 on: May 05, 2019, 00:52:06 »
when I changed the attachment, "posted again too soon"; then after I waited, "you have already made this post". Grrr. I had to back out and start again.
has happened to me on a number of occasions too; confusing & annoying the 1st few times; now I just know how to workaround it
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11781
  • Thanked: 409 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #147 on: May 05, 2019, 10:04:12 »
@tommi, @erfi
ah, thanks for the route planner issue with the center of the screen. The same issue happens also on other secondary screens with the visible map: fixed and also fixed correct map scale, thanks.

@CabrioTourer
I'll have to look on this topic more this week, thanks.

@Viajero Perdido
I think I've got it. The issue with the loading of PQ fixed.
Importing of PQ files should finish on the map I think. App should load a PQ from the internet and start an import. If you want to import more PQ at once, isn't better to directly select all of them in the list?
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline tramp20

  • Premium
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 573
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • View Profile
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #148 on: May 05, 2019, 12:07:10 »
@menion
Since 3.37.2.10 the auto backup does no longer work on my two Z1c with custom PIE ROM.
I tried all possibilities but the date of the next backup never changes. So I assume there is a problem with the "timer" and not with write rights.


On my stock LP 5.1.1 the auto backups are fine.
Sony Xperia Z1c   Android 10
Sony Xperia Z1c   Android 5.1.1
 

Offline Viajero Perdido

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 130
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 (Android 7), Blackview BV6000s (Android 6), Nexus 7 (2013) for Alpha/Beta testing.
Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« Reply #149 on: May 05, 2019, 18:05:36 »
Importing of PQ files should finish on the map I think.
Sounds totally reasonable for most use cases.

My use case is probably less common, 7 PQs into this folder, 6 into that one, and so on.  Different folders, so different import steps.  But it's only an extra couple of taps, so I don't mind.  I mentioned it only because it seemed to be acting inconsistently.  Anyway, thanks!

PS, my opinion on slope shading:  I wouldn't lighten it tooo much.  At lower zooms, shading nicely takes the place of topo contours - which presumably disappear at such zooms.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2019, 18:14:33 by Viajero Perdido »