Author Topic: Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )  (Read 11813 times)

Offline tapio

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 409
  • Thanked: 34 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Huawei Mate 20 X
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #60 on: January 05, 2019, 11:43:00 »
I cannot add waypoints to existing tracks. "+" is missing.
My BRouter profiles, based on Poutnikls: https://tiny.cc/brouterbrf
 

Offline slarti76

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 156
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Galaxy Note 4, S5neo, S4 - Galaxy Tab S2 & Pro 8.4
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #61 on: January 11, 2019, 11:57:50 »
I think I reported problems with the automatic backup before, but it's still not ok:
I have several devices where backup is turned off, but it is still executed. It's always when I have Free and Pro installed together. One thing that seems to happen very often is that a backup is done after a phone restart even if turned off. I can't give much more info, unfortunately, as I rarely see the actual backup notification, I just see the backups piling up in their folder.
Also, the GUI is still buggy: The date shown ("Next update") is obviously the last "next date" before I turned of backups. Now when I open the dialog after that date, I can't press "Save" because of the old date, even if backups are turned off. The whole date widget should be deactivated then, I'd say...
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11349
  • Thanked: 292 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #62 on: January 12, 2019, 13:24:11 »
Hi to all, long time no interesting news on dev side.

So new Beta version 3.35.2.4 is out now.

Some info:
- problem with automatic restart most probably still not solved. I'm still unable to simulate it properly.
- @slarti76, thanks for the info about the backup manager. As I know, it works correctly for me, but I'll try to play with it a little bit.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2481
  • Thanked: 97 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #63 on: January 12, 2019, 14:31:43 »

@balloni55
Search options: in case of geocaching, full-text search checks in "owner", "country", "state" and "short" and "long" descriptions. As I see, there may be a small issue in case-sensitivity (fixed now) so rather check if you use correct letter cases.

Is searching also in logs good idea? Quite a lot of text > may be false positive results + increased search time (maybe a lot).
V3.35.2.4
search work now, thanks ;)
and "search inside logs" isn´t necessary
Locus PRO 3.39.3
 

Offline tapio

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 409
  • Thanked: 34 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Huawei Mate 20 X
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #64 on: January 12, 2019, 16:01:57 »
I hope the new version is out soon. I SO MUCH can't wait to the "sort by elevation gain" feature 😁
My BRouter profiles, based on Poutnikls: https://tiny.cc/brouterbrf
 

Offline lor74cas

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 256
  • Thanked: 16 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung A5 2017
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #65 on: January 12, 2019, 16:16:06 »
I hope the new version is out soon. I SO MUCH can't wait to the "sort by elevation gain" feature
Tested
What about an advanced filter for tracks ?
Now there is just name and date.
I think that distance and elevation gain are very important too.
Something to find out:
How many tracks wirh more then 20 km and more than 1000 mt of elevation I did this year?


Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk

 
The following users thanked this post: tapio

Offline tapio

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 409
  • Thanked: 34 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Huawei Mate 20 X
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #66 on: January 12, 2019, 16:41:30 »
Yes, filters and search is rather a weak spot in Locus.
My BRouter profiles, based on Poutnikls: https://tiny.cc/brouterbrf
 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 672
  • Thanked: 24 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #67 on: January 13, 2019, 01:17:24 »
V3.35.2.4: I noticed "updated POI alerts" in the release notes, so I did a trivial test. I like the layout. But tapping the big green play button was being ignored. Maybe because GPS is disabled? There was no helpful warning message though so confusing what was wrong. I'm unable to include an inline screen capture for some reason, so attached? Is this a forum change - there used to be a link below the editor to select an IMG?
« Last Edit: January 13, 2019, 01:19:13 by Andrew Heard »
 

Offline tapio

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 409
  • Thanked: 34 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Huawei Mate 20 X
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #68 on: January 13, 2019, 08:19:22 »
As for the POI warner, an option to read max n POI would be nice. Often there's 2 or 3 and then Locus reports "2 points in range". But I'd be fine if it reads out both.
My BRouter profiles, based on Poutnikls: https://tiny.cc/brouterbrf
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11349
  • Thanked: 292 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #69 on: January 13, 2019, 16:23:03 »
Hi guys, nice feedback, thanks.

I've just today highly improved search in tracks (by distance) and also added "sort by nearest" option for track folders, so hope this helps better handle own imported tracks.

About filtering: I agree that filter for tracks is a lot less powerful then filter for points (mainly caches), but reason: I do not see any useful simply and exactly defined idea on help desk related to this problem, which means for me: no serious interest. And as usually: if I do not need & no interest = not implemented, sorry :).

@Andrew Heard
hehe, I know about the problem with the tap on "Start/Stop" button. I have the same and I just forget to test it more. Just click it more than once and it will work.
Link to attach the image ... hmm you are correct. Probably result of the update of this forum system? Fortunately seems that attachment below as you did, works correctly.

@Tapio
notification about more than one point will do not contain info about distance & angle. Not sure if this is wanted. I think that more than one point simply need a map. Notification just helps to find the right moment, when to look on the map.


Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 
The following users thanked this post: tapio

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 672
  • Thanked: 24 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #70 on: January 15, 2019, 02:59:34 »
hehe, I know about the problem with the tap on "Start/Stop" button. I have the same and I just forget to test it more. Just click it more than once and it will work.
@menion - I did try this many times but took a lot more than just a few taps. Then when it was finally enabled (red button) it also took a lot more than just a few taps to toggle to green. But on another occasion it worked first time.

One idea, maybe worth a separate topic (?) is the idea to handle color of POI alert button same as GPS & Track Record buttons - now that GPS & Track Record buttons are both green to indicate working/ enabled, how about making the POI alert button green when enabled too?

Link to attach the image ... hmm you are correct. Probably result of the update of this forum system? Fortunately seems that attachment below as you did, works correctly.
Yes works as an attachment, but the inline method of including an image was quicker & meant you could place the image at a logical position within the text - seems like a backward step (although usable).
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11349
  • Thanked: 292 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #71 on: January 15, 2019, 14:32:24 »
- problem with tap on buttons in POI alert solved. I've also improved icon so it will be in function panel green in case, POI alert is running. Thanks for tip.

- attachments, understand. Little problem. The forum already refuses some updates because it's old, we use old server infrastructure ... needs major update :/
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

Offline tapio

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 409
  • Thanked: 34 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Huawei Mate 20 X
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #72 on: January 15, 2019, 17:36:55 »
I hope the forum will have a smartphone interface one day.
My BRouter profiles, based on Poutnikls: https://tiny.cc/brouterbrf
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 658
  • Thanked: 93 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #73 on: January 15, 2019, 18:50:56 »
I hope the forum will have a smartphone interface one day.
You can use the Tapatalk app if you want a smartphone interface. I do.


Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2481
  • Thanked: 97 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Motorola G3 MM 6.01
Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« Reply #74 on: January 15, 2019, 18:57:08 »
V 3.35.2.4
in my "test preset" i set content auxiliary graphics "course line" and "heading line" and switch both on.
In all other of my presets no auxiliary grafic is set.
If i use these "test preset" once and switch back to another preset, inside all of them these both  lines are visible :-[
Restart didn´t solve it, i have to disable both lines inside settings/maps/auxiliary graphics
Locus PRO 3.39.3