Author Topic: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )  (Read 33589 times)

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 780
  • Thanked: 46 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #135 on: April 11, 2018, 02:13:09 »
I have found one bug. Not sure if only latest beta 3.30.2.8, or also 3.30.2.5, but certainly a bug since 3.30.2 Pro. The static text fields in any custom dashboard are not updated when a preset is changed. To test: I have 1 dashboard per preset. Each dashboard has a top line with the name of the preset. For example I have dashboards/presets for riding/ walking/ driving/ default/ mapping. When I change the preset this top dashboard text line is updated in 3.30.2 Pro - of course, but with 30.30.2.8 the text is mostly not updated. Some new repaint order issue? If I exit Locus beta & restart, the top dashboard text line is updated.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2018, 02:18:23 by Andrew Heard »
 

Offline Andrew Heard

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 780
  • Thanked: 46 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy A5 Oreo/8, Lenovo Note 4 Nougat/7.1
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #136 on: April 11, 2018, 02:19:24 »
More testing: Just noticed one annoying change: if phone Location service is disabled or location not known when Locus 3.30.2.8 is started I now see a new message box "No location devices available... CLOSE" - this is displayed four times. I hope this can be removed. The GPS icon color is sufficient for this fact, or checkbox - "don't display again"; but not each time Locus is run.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2018, 02:22:16 by Andrew Heard »
 

Offline Žajdlík Josef

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 382
  • Thanked: 21 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia M, Alcatel One Touch II, Samsung A3 (2017)
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #137 on: April 11, 2018, 07:27:21 »
So far, three trials version 3.30.2.8, twice walking in the woods, one bike ride, always about one hour. The GPS records absolutely no problem on the Galaxy A3. I confirm the same dashboard problem as Andrew. If a dashboard is displayed on the screen and I choose a different one, the original one will be displayed. Just press the hide / show dashboard button to turn the tan right. The bug was in the previous beta, I forgot to alert.
The problems Condor points to, unconfirmed, on my phone.

CZ: Zatím tři testy verze 3.30.2.8, dvakrát chůze v lese, jednou jízda na kole, vždy asi jednu hodinu. Záznamy  GPS naprosto bez problémů na Galaxy A3. Potvrzuji stejný problém s dasboardy jako Andrew. Pokud je zobrazen na obrazovce nějaký dashboard a pomocí předvolby zvolím jiný, zůstane zobrazen ten původní. Stačí stisknout tlačítko skrýt/zobrazit dashboard a ukáže se tan správný. Chyba byla i v předchozí BETA, zapomněl jsem upozornit.
Potíže na které poukazuje Condor nepotvrzeny, na mém telefonu.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2673
  • Thanked: 125 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #138 on: April 11, 2018, 13:46:23 »
Cache details> click top right button > "Notes" > "Locus Map" wurde beendet "Bericht/OK"
info is in german although BETA is set to english?
Locus PRO 3.46.1
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2673
  • Thanked: 125 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 10
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #139 on: April 11, 2018, 14:00:05 »
Q: sorry can´t find out what this info means :-[
first i thought, it´s the count of additional "found logs", but in this example there are quite more than 5


Locus PRO 3.46.1
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11782
  • Thanked: 409 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #140 on: April 11, 2018, 15:38:42 »
@Condor
it looks more like a problem with your settings. You have disabled settings > navigation > advanced > strict route following (first settings in advanced section).

@Andrew Heard
perfect, thanks for testing!
Issue with satellites.Do you see tiny icon with satellite at top? Here is hidden rest of sats. System report to Locus map some parameters that are used to draw them on correct place. Anyway sometimes sats does not report to Locus correct values, so they cannot be drawn. Nothing I may do here, sorry.
Not refreshing dahboards: I'll look at it, thanks
And popup when disabled location providers ... I've noticed this yesterday as well .. will be improved, thanks.

@Žajdík Josef
thanks, perfect!

@balloni55
crash when click on "Notes" will be fixed. And error is made by system, so it's language is based on your system language.
And "5+" ... small quizz :). I've improved it little bit so you may guess in next version once more ;)
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Condor

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Thanked: 13 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: HTC_One_M9_pro (HTC_Desire_500) HTC_Desire_300_free
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #141 on: April 11, 2018, 19:27:37 »
@Menion

"You have disabled settings> navigation> advanced> strict route following"

This option has been disabled for many years.
Reason: After getting out of the car and walking to the cache I need my position and not the arrow on the road.
All previous versions worked correctly. I have never used the navigation otherwise.

« Last Edit: April 11, 2018, 20:22:41 by Condor »
 

Offline 0709

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 166
  • Thanked: 53 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: THL4000 CM12.1 (A5.1.1) SM-T235 (A5.1.1) MI A2 Lite (A9)
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #142 on: April 11, 2018, 20:10:07 »
Navigation > Advanced settings > Snap to route: Unselect ?
In picture: Navigation is not finished ? (Final point).
Other advanced settings same as before ? (Max allowed deviation)
Did you compare with your succesfull 3.30.2 pro settings ?
 
« Last Edit: April 11, 2018, 21:42:27 by 0709 »
Locus Pro 3.46.2
 

Offline Condor

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Thanked: 13 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: HTC_One_M9_pro (HTC_Desire_500) HTC_Desire_300_free
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #143 on: April 11, 2018, 22:03:29 »
@0709
Thanks for trying ;-)
I know these features and I have been actively using for many years. The picture is a preview for Menion why I do not use this setting.

This is enough for the show. Real use is for example 400 km of route and 100 points. It would mean 100 times to off the navigation and turn on again, which is about 2-3 hours of unnecessary work per day on the road.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2018, 22:11:06 by Condor »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11782
  • Thanked: 409 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #144 on: April 11, 2018, 22:20:48 »
I'm little lost now.
Based on your screenshots and settings, all seems to work as expected.
With disabled "Strict route following", app just display your real location as you know.
For your use case should make more sense to use common settings with enabled "Strict..." and just disable auto-recalculation. Then, when you move out of route for more than defined "Maximum allowed deviation", navigation just switch to guidance and you will see your real location as well.

Anyway, I do not fully understand what now works differently compared to the previous version. Will have to try tomorrow in the field.

Unfortunately you and kyle here, are only two who reports some remaining problem with GPS in this new version so we have to solve it fast to release a new version as soon as possible ;).
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Condor

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Thanked: 13 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: HTC_One_M9_pro (HTC_Desire_500) HTC_Desire_300_free
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #145 on: April 11, 2018, 23:11:56 »
@Menion
I'll watch the navigation screen for 3 years and know when it works. I know how to estimate 3s before Eliška starts talking.
But OK. The current solution for my real use is, unfortunately, going back to the functional version 3.29

I'm attaching a functional navigation screen from the old version.
With identical settings.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2018, 23:47:37 by Condor »
 

Offline Viajero Perdido

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 130
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 (Android 7), Blackview BV6000s (Android 6), Nexus 7 (2013) for Alpha/Beta testing.
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #146 on: April 11, 2018, 23:44:36 »
GPS management seems good with beta 3.30.2.8.

I went for a walk and recorded a track, and the track corresponds very well with earlier tracks and the OSM map.  I noticed estimated accuracy as good as 3m; in a recent version a few days ago I never saw <10m, as others have mentioned.

And it now seems to turn off GPS reliably when Locus isn't using it and isn't focussed.  Earlier I had issues with that.

I'm using Android 6 and have GPS set to Device Only.
 

Offline Condor

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 255
  • Thanked: 13 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: HTC_One_M9_pro (HTC_Desire_500) HTC_Desire_300_free
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #147 on: April 12, 2018, 00:19:54 »
I'm just looking at my backup program that my beta has overwritten my Locus Pro backups so I've lost 3 latest versions of the app! They have the same name Locus map.
So I have no functional version!
 :-\ :( >:(
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11782
  • Thanked: 409 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #148 on: April 12, 2018, 06:58:32 »
I'm stupid ... I talk about "route following" settings, but what you need is simply disable "snap to route" settings below. Sorry! Give it a try ...

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Žajdlík Josef

  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 382
  • Thanked: 21 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia M, Alcatel One Touch II, Samsung A3 (2017)
Re: [APP] - version 3.30.+ ( 15. 3. 2018 )
« Reply #149 on: April 12, 2018, 07:26:15 »
Testing the BETA version on Android 7 runs smoothly. I did not find any trouble in the other three records.
I've only tested Android 4.2 once. The recording went smoothly. But I was having trouble turning off GPS satellites after recording. The GPS signaling icon was white, but a beep sounded to signal the loss of GPS signal. I tried to turn the GPS compass on and off again. Still, I noticed at the end of Locus that the phone still searches for satellites and ends when Locus is turned off. This is not happening on Android 7. I'm still restarting the phone and running a new test. Then let me know.
One more question. After restarting the Locus (PRO and BETA), they create a data backup. It is necessary? It slows down on slow phones.

CZ: Testování BETA verze na Android 7 probíhá bez problémů. V dalších třech záznamech jsem nenarazil na potíže.
Testoval jsem zatím jen jednou na Android 4.2. Záznam proběhl bez problémů. Potíže jsem ale měl s vypnutím satelitů GPS po ukončení záznamu. Ikona signalizující GPS byla bílá, ale přesto se ozval zvukový signál oznamující ztrátu GPS signálu. Zkusil jsem na "kompasu" GPS znovu zapnout a vypnout. Přesto jsem si při ukončení Locusu všiml, že telefon stále vyhledává satelity a skončí až po vypnutí Locusu. Na Android 7 se tohle neděje. Dnes ještě telefon zrestartuji a provedu nový test. Pak dám vědět.
Ještě jeden dotaz. Po restartu telefonu Locus (PRO i BETA) vytvářejí zálohu dat. Je to nutné? U pomalých telefonů to dost zdržuje.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2018, 07:29:31 by Žajdlík Josef »