Author Topic: Purge cache  (Read 1735 times)

Offline yrtimiD

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Purge cache
« on: November 29, 2010, 22:19:32 »
Hi!
Can you implement simple "purge cache" feature? It can purge whole cache or only viewed area or only specified map cache.
OSM is always changing, and needs constant updates.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11346
  • Thanked: 292 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Purge cache
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 06:48:54 »
Hi,
  currently all maps are cached by little stupid mechanism into one directory on card. I want to cache them separately into database so when this will be done, I'll keep in mind your request and probably will do it. Currently it's not easy to create.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline yrtimiD

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Purge cache
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2010, 08:08:10 »
Yep, currently I just delete whole maps directory from time to time. Can you implement such feature for start? :)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline Ronin9

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Purge cache
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2011, 16:16:44 »
That would be a nice enhancement. It could be just like downloading maps, but in reverse: after selecting the area, Locus, gives you the list of tiles per zoom level in that area, and you select the zoom levels you want to delete.

For example, I have just downloaded from Google the cities of NY and Miami (because I am going there soon) in great detail, plus BRasil and some areas in it in less detail (bacause I live in Brasil and travel a lot :) ). I wished I was able to delete only the portions for NY and Miami (about 150MB each) , without having to deleted the whole Google file (which has some 150MB relating to Brasil and other stuff).

Rodrigo
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11346
  • Thanked: 292 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Purge cache
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2011, 18:43:45 »
I already created purging cache when online cache file reach 2GB size. This is now working. But clearing cache should take up to 2 hours so it's not recommended!
I'll do some access to this tool from "Tools menu" ... maybe. But recommended way, how to handle maps on various places is to create separated maps for each place! I think, that this is clear...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!