Author Topic: I cannot get zoom lock to work  (Read 2899 times)

Offline rob54321

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
I cannot get zoom lock to work
« on: May 22, 2015, 11:28:32 »
Hi, when navigating or just moving without navigating I selected zoom lock. The zoom changes and ignores the setting.
What else should I do to lock the zoom?
Thanks,
Rob
 

Offline gynta

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3550
  • Thanked: 41 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus live tracking service
  • Device: SM-A530F(A8) Android 8.0.0
Re: I cannot get zoom lock to work
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2015, 12:37:16 »
...The zoom changes and ignores the setting. What else should I do to lock the zoom?
Hello Rob
The question is - what do you expect exactly from function "zoom lock"?

Offline rob54321

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: I cannot get zoom lock to work
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2015, 12:42:09 »
To lock the zoom so it stays on the same zoom level.
 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3061
  • Thanked: 183 times
  • Country: de
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 11
Re: I cannot get zoom lock to work
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2015, 12:56:26 »
take a look to
menu/settings/maps advanced/Auto zoom
is this option checked?
Locus Map Classic 3.60.2 AFA
Locus Map 4.10.0.3 Gold AFA
LMP User ID 7ee4dad32
LM4 User ID e06d572d4
 

Offline rob54321

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: I cannot get zoom lock to work
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2015, 12:57:06 »
No it is not.
 

Offline ohgood

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
  • Thanked: 2 times
    • View Profile
Re: I cannot get zoom lock to work
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2015, 13:13:34 »
ditto, zoom lick has never worked for me either.
 

Offline rob54321

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: I cannot get zoom lock to work
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2015, 13:15:15 »
Wonder if it is possible to get a refund? I have asked. Waiting for a reply. Thanks for your help/confirmation.
 

Offline Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12823
  • Thanked: 952 times
  • Country: cz
    • View Profile
    • https://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 5, A12
Re: I cannot get zoom lock to work
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2015, 13:33:37 »
never worked? refund? automatic change of zoom?

Wait ... are we all talk about "Locus Map" application? Because

1) I never heard that zoom lock do not work
2) I see no refund request on our support email
3) with disabled! automatic zoom (as balloni55 mentioned) in settings, Locus do not do any other automatic zooming. At least as I know :)
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download
 

Offline gynta

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3550
  • Thanked: 41 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus live tracking service
  • Device: SM-A530F(A8) Android 8.0.0
Re: I cannot get zoom lock to work
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2015, 13:45:46 »
i fear there is only a wrong interpretation of "zomm lock" or a simple user/handling problem :)
that's why im ask on first my reply...

@rob
The zoom changes and ignores the setting
...means Locus zomm map automatically and you do nothing - only look on your display?
« Last Edit: May 22, 2015, 13:49:41 by gynta »
 

Offline prawns

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Page
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 2 GTN7105T
Re: I cannot get zoom lock to work
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2015, 09:46:21 »
I think it works as advertised from my perspective anyway

You notice on maps if your zoomed right out - it doesnt display things like street names until you zoom in closer? with zoom lock you can zoom in until the street names show - then lock the zoom and you can then zoom out without losing the street names disapearing on the screen.

 Conversley...you can zoom lock whilst zoomed out where the details arnt showing on the map, hit zoom lock and then you can zoom right in without any further details like street names popping up.

Think of it like a "digital zoom" on a digital camera - It is actually locking the "zoom level" to say the maps zoom level 15, but still allows adjustment while still staying on the zoom level 15 and associated map details which normally display at that specific zoom level

Offline rob54321

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: I cannot get zoom lock to work
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2015, 09:47:22 »
Thanks for your help.
 

Offline prawns

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Page
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 2 GTN7105T
Re: I cannot get zoom lock to work
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2015, 10:52:07 »
No worries - I can see how that option could be confusing. Possibly better to rename it to "Lock detail level" as thats the main thing it really affects