Author Topic: [Q] timestamp in added / edited route  (Read 1614 times)

Offline Christian

  • Premium
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 799
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
[Q] timestamp in added / edited route
« on: August 26, 2014, 21:28:58 »
Hi menion,
I often use the nice feature "add & measure route" to plan a new tour. Sometimes I edit  the added track afterwards by using features from the left bar.
I noticed that for each trackpoint a timestamp is added. (also for an edited part of an track)
Until Locus has more capability to display statistics I have to use external desktop programs. Some of those show error messages like "start end end time has same values. No statistics are generated".

I would prefer to have a create-date tag in meta header instead of wrong (!) timestamps in case of manually generated tracks...

So do we need timestamps with same values?
Regards,
Christian
 

Offline Christian

  • Premium
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 799
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
Re: [Q] timestamp in added / edited route
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2014, 17:59:21 »
In the meantime trees and weed growed over me while hiking over mountain ;) see screenshot.
With V3.3.0 statistics are introduced and this is a nice feature.
But unfortunately time stamps in tracks created by function " add / measure route" are a bitch.
And when you sort in tracklist by  "travelling time" the mentioned track is always on the end of the list.
So my question to @menion again:
Do we need timestamps with always the same values?

regards,
Christian

 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11304
  • Thanked: 284 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [Q] timestamp in added / edited route
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2014, 07:43:46 »
every data that are stored in database also contains time when these data were stored. So generally, whats are possible improvements?

1) do not export times to GPX/KML files, in case, start and end time are same (generated tracks)
2) better checking for times for stats

ok?
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Christian

  • Premium
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 799
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
Re: [Q] timestamp in added / edited route
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2014, 22:47:35 »
Sorry, this is a misunderstanding...
When I create a route within Locus the create date is written in all time-tags. Imho that's wrong and make no sense.
Create date belongs to the header only.

If there is no progress in time, the time tags should be empty. Empty tags are valid in xml.
Alternatively there can be no time tags.
So no time values have to be stored in database.
This prevents from wrong statistics, wrong sorting and errors in other programs.

My suggestion: avoid time tags in case of tracks created by "add / measure route".

Christian
 

Offline Christian

  • Premium
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 799
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
Re: [Q] timestamp in added / edited route
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2014, 22:28:36 »
Solved in v3.4.0
:)
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11304
  • Thanked: 284 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: [Q] timestamp in added / edited route
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2014, 22:27:41 »
hmm perfect.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Christian

  • Premium
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 799
  • Thanked: 9 times
    • View Profile
Re: [Q] timestamp in added / edited route
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2014, 20:02:25 »
I'm sorry. I have to reopen this thread.
: Created a track by add / measure route = _First.gpx = w/out time tag.
: Than cutted this track twice = _First_01.gpx,  _First_02.gpx, _First_02_01.gpx, _First_02_02.gpx = each w/out time tag.
: Created a new track = 3.gpx = w/out time tag.
: Than i merged _First_01.gpx and 3.gpx.
: The merged track _Final_with_time.gpx contains time tags with worthless values :(

So i guess there is a code snippet left in function for merging tracks.
@menion: can you please change this also?

Many thanks,
Christian
« Last Edit: November 27, 2014, 20:07:02 by Christian »