Author Topic: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation  (Read 129007 times)

Offline develar

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Thanked: 7 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: CrossCall Trekker-X4
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #270 on: February 03, 2020, 20:11:33 »
@john_percy Looks like notifications about new messages are not delivered to me :) Better to file issue on GitHub https://github.com/develar/gh-routing-data/issues

> for fast cycle and racing cycle but not for the others. I get T: problem with service on orange toast.

Yes, I confirm that. For the same route `bike` works, but doesn't work for `hike`.
I fixed it (at least, works for me now), please see  https://github.com/asamm/locus-addon-graphhopper/pull/5
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 737
  • Thanked: 107 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #271 on: February 04, 2020, 23:54:00 »
Hmm. Won't install for me when I either install from the zip or extract and install the apk.

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11646
  • Thanked: 367 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #272 on: February 06, 2020, 10:19:25 »
Hi John, others.

I've just generated on the GitHub new version 0.9 . @develar also very quickly generated new data for this version so please re-download necessary areas from the web: https://graphhopper.develar.org/ .

I've tested a new APK version & new data and seems to work correctly for all possible routing profiles. And have to say, that compare to the BRouter, this is sooooo fast, unbelievable :)
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 737
  • Thanked: 107 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #273 on: February 06, 2020, 10:57:14 »
Well it's really odd.
I've downloaded the 0.9 apk and the 0.9 data (have to manually select that option).
Attempting to route
a) select eg fast car
b) after first tap of the blue button nothing happens
c) after second tap gives orange toast as before
d) select eg fast bike
e) select eg fast car
f) tap blue button: nothing happens
g) tap blue button: routing works!


Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 737
  • Thanked: 107 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #274 on: February 06, 2020, 11:33:28 »
@menion
Ignoring double tap issue, none of the travel modes (fast car, fast bike, mtb, racing, hike) work first time, whether I just accept the default or select a different mode. After this failure (*without returning to the map screen*), you can either select a different mode or select a different mode and then reselect the previous mode: routing then works.
Edit: 1. In latest beta, double tap issue is resolved.
2. Second sentence above should now read: After this failure (without returning to the map screen), you can either select a different mode or leave the previous mode selected: click on blue button, routing then works.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2020, 09:32:24 by john_percy »
 

Offline develar

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Thanked: 7 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: CrossCall Trekker-X4
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #275 on: February 10, 2020, 08:58:23 »
0.9 still has issues with "problem with service".

I planned route using "plan route". Saved track, and then navigate.

But when I cut down the route, navigation stopped work (no new voice navigation). I invoke "recalculate", and got "problem with service on orange toast." (several times, no luck to make it working).

The only solution was to change navigation provider to graphhopper online :(
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11646
  • Thanked: 367 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #276 on: February 15, 2020, 19:40:25 »
Hi, after some changes, I've completely included GraphHopper add-on in the latest Beta version.
May you or John give it a try to verify that the problem is or isn't in some kind of cross-app communication/battery optimization? Thanks guys.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 737
  • Thanked: 107 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #277 on: February 15, 2020, 20:59:58 »
At first sight this appears to now be working fine, though Locus Free icon appears twice in the app drawer, and one of them opens the graphhopper set data page.


Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 737
  • Thanked: 107 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #278 on: February 16, 2020, 14:24:38 »
At second sight I discovered the routing engine being used was graphhopper online rather than the new graphhopper internal. Graphhopper internal fails completely for me, as in the main thread for the latest version.

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11646
  • Thanked: 367 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #279 on: February 16, 2020, 18:43:34 »
Ah damn, so the problem is not in separation of the feature into two apps, but in the method, how apps communicate. Oki, thanks!
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 737
  • Thanked: 107 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #280 on: February 16, 2020, 18:50:08 »
The error message is totally different this time. With the previous version, routing worked the second time. The message the first time was "T: problem with service"
With this version, I get "Routing service set incorrectly".
« Last Edit: February 16, 2020, 18:52:40 by john_percy »
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 737
  • Thanked: 107 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #281 on: February 18, 2020, 09:16:52 »
New beta: back to "Problem with service" orange toast on first tap on circular blue navigation button, ok on second tap.

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: February 18, 2020, 09:57:14 by john_percy »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11646
  • Thanked: 367 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #282 on: February 18, 2020, 12:58:06 »
Thanks for tests John. Same issue (hope it's same) happens to Michal and I think I've found a reason for it.
Meanwhile, you are testing it in Route planner with same result right? Give it a try once more, but this time, try to disable GPS in Locus Map. It may help. Thanks.
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline john_percy

  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 737
  • Thanked: 107 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: MotoG
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #283 on: February 18, 2020, 13:12:03 »
1. Seems to work OK in Route Planner mode.
2. My testing recently had been with the pop up "Navigate to selected point". If I navigate between two fixed points (ie not from GPS current position) it finds a route ok, *then* shows orange toast as before. That's with GPS on. I guess with GPS off it won't show that toast as it seems to be checking actual position. (However I can't see how to turn GPS off in the app.)

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

 

Offline balloni55

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2620
  • Thanked: 114 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung XCover 4s Android 9
Re: Offline navigation - GraphHopper - preparation
« Reply #284 on: February 20, 2020, 20:47:58 »
New beta: back to "Problem with service" orange toast on first tap on circular blue navigation button, ok on second tap.
furthermore with V 3.44.0
Locus PRO 3.44.3