Author Topic: Smart zoom - Instant change  (Read 2695 times)

Offline Wojtas82

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 92
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia S
Smart zoom - Instant change
« on: June 24, 2014, 10:08:11 »
Hi,
Could you please change smart zoom settings so it works instantly when changing speed? Or maybe add a slider with delay. Thanks
 

Offline jusc

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1896
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 and Note 2
Re: Smart zoom - Instant change
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2014, 15:38:46 »
does settings--> maps advanced --> auto zoom (scroll down) not work for you?
Regards J.
 

Offline Wojtas82

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 92
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia S
Re: Smart zoom - Instant change
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2014, 11:07:28 »
Yes, I use this option. The problem is when I drive, let's say, 20 km/h and stop to 0 km/h I have to wait at least 5 second before zoom changes. It should happen immediately or should be adjustable.
Also, the stepping should be adjustable, for example, right now it's good for a car, but for bike I would like to use 5 km/h or 10km/h stepping. How do you think?
 

Offline szebenyib

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 176
  • Xperia P
    • View Profile
Re: Smart zoom - Instant change
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2014, 13:14:18 »
I guess that data is slow from the GPS thus the delay is not in Locus. Check roaming around and you will see that it takes time after you stop to show 0 kmh.
Maybe the stepping could help you if it were of finer grain.
 

Offline Wojtas82

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 92
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia S
Re: Smart zoom - Instant change
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2014, 14:10:25 »
Actually it's not. I can see the speed displayed 0 kmh and the zoom is still in 15-30 kmh range. After few seconds I can see zoom change.
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11390
  • Thanked: 305 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Smart zoom - Instant change
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2014, 14:56:55 »
Hi,

this is correct. Locus do not react with auto-zoom on speed values immediately, but with a small delay. It's caused by function, that compute average value of speed during last few seconds. This is required to keep zoom value stable, when you move along some spped "border".
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline Wojtas82

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 92
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Xperia S
Re: Smart zoom - Instant change
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2014, 12:46:14 »
Hi,

this is correct. Locus do not react with auto-zoom on speed values immediately, but with a small delay. It's caused by function, that compute average value of speed during last few seconds. This is required to keep zoom value stable, when you move along some spped "border".
I understand, but could you make it editable value in Locus? It's very annoying ... :)

edit
Could you please add an option "Zoom at manuver" ?
« Last Edit: June 30, 2014, 14:00:37 by gynta »
 

Offline gynta

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3553
  • Thanked: 40 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus live tracking service
  • Device: SM-A530F(A8) Android 8.0.0
Re: Smart zoom - Instant change
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2014, 14:06:24 »
Could you please add an option "Zoom at manuver" ?
Hello Wojtas82
May you please add an idea @ http://help.locusmap.eu/response/add

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11390
  • Thanked: 305 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Smart zoom - Instant change
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2014, 17:13:36 »
I think that generally everything around "auto zoom" in Locus is bad :).

I think that this request http://help.locusmap.eu/responses/auto_zoom_based_on_distance_to_waypoint is quite close to what you need, so I suggest to vote for it (a lot better then create new similar)
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!