Author Topic: Search and Rescue Grid Overlay  (Read 2342 times)

Offline Bob Denny

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Search and Rescue Grid Overlay
« on: May 16, 2014, 20:37:06 »
I have a KMZ with the search and rescue grid system in it. See the image below, showing a little bit of the grid in Arizona. Importing it results in 14000+ points and 8000+ tracks (!!). Not practical. Can anyone think of a way I could overlay this grid system in Locus?


 

Offline gynta

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3550
  • Thanked: 44 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus live tracking service
  • Device: SM-A530F(A8) Android 8.0.0
Re: Search and Rescue Grid Overlay
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2014, 21:25:59 »
please can you attach the kmz?

Offline berkley

  • Expert
  • Master of Locus
  • ****
  • Posts: 900
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: 1+1, N7
Re: Search and Rescue Grid Overlay
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2014, 21:37:07 »
please can you attach the kmz?
Yes, only way for advice.

Is it a kmz with a network link in it?
Search before posting!!!
XDA Orbit, HTC Touch HD, SGS1, SGS2, Nexus S, S4 Active, OnePlus One, Innos D6000
OnePlus X
 

Offline Bob Denny

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: Search and Rescue Grid Overlay
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2014, 02:09:45 »
Here is the KMZ. It is quite crude, many points and tracks. Who had the patience to make it??

« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 14:37:01 by gynta »
 

Offline voldapet

  • Locus team
  • Master of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
  • Thanked: 21 times
    • View Profile
Re: Search and Rescue Grid Overlay
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2014, 14:48:38 »
This complex file has really too much lines and points. Maybe would be possible to rasterize KML file and then create tiled sqlite or mbtile map (I have no experiences with it). Anyway have a look:
gdal_rasterize - http://www.gdal.org/gdal_rasterize.html
gdal2tiles - https://trac.osgeo.org/gdal/wiki/UserDocs/Gdal2Tiles

Would be also probably possible to convert data into Vector mapsforge map format. It depends if you want to only see the grid over the map or if you want to be able to select points.
 

Offline gynta

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3550
  • Thanked: 44 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus live tracking service
  • Device: SM-A530F(A8) Android 8.0.0
Re: Search and Rescue Grid Overlay
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2014, 22:40:04 »
Here is the KMZ.
Who had the patience to make it??

The smallest effort is to split to 6 areas (see attachment), copy to items
and tune Locus (and the cfg)
see clip: https://www.dropbox.com/s/7k31fp1axux447k/clip0096.avi

...but i see no proper solution for this.

Offline Bob Denny

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: Search and Rescue Grid Overlay
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2014, 06:11:42 »
Thank you everyone, I suspected this wasn't suitable for locus. I appreciate your trying.