Author Topic: Not saving prefs  (Read 1741 times)

Offline durian

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung S7
Not saving prefs
« on: January 17, 2014, 17:24:32 »
Hi,

I bought Locus Pro for my dad, and installed it on his Samsung Galaxy I. Every time I start Locus, it thinks is has never been started before, and I have to press "start", etc. None of the preferences I save are saved - I get no errors, but everything is like new every time I start it.

Anyone has an idea?

-peter
 

Online Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12854
  • Thanked: 973 times
  • Country: cz
    • View Profile
    • https://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 5, A12
Re: Not saving prefs
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2014, 18:50:20 »
Hi,
  it is well known problem on SGS1 ... for example here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=998038 or in many other topics.

  only solution as I know, is a root access and completely delete private Locus directory in device memory (when you have access only with root permission)
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download
 

Offline durian

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung S7
Re: Not saving prefs
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2014, 20:25:49 »
Yes, I found the xda posting with the root-access "solution" but I was hoping for a better one  :)

-peter
 

Online Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12854
  • Thanked: 973 times
  • Country: cz
    • View Profile
    • https://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 5, A12
Re: Not saving prefs
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2014, 20:42:13 »
I'm worried there will be no better ... problem is with permissions that are set for Locus private folder. They are not set correctly and needs to be changed. And for this is unfortunately needed root access ..
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download
 

Offline durian

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung S7
Re: Not saving prefs
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2014, 21:46:44 »
Problem solved by factory reset :) Luckily the phone had just been reset last week, so not much was lost, just needed to reinstall everything.

Locus Pro now works properly!

Thanks for quick advise!

-peter
 

Online Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12854
  • Thanked: 973 times
  • Country: cz
    • View Profile
    • https://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 5, A12
Re: Not saving prefs
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2014, 09:04:23 »
sure, just warning. If this device has such problems, it may simply happen, that some new app you install will suffer with same problems ... :/
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download