Author Topic: speed of refreshing geocaches via geocaching4locus  (Read 1692 times)

Offline mambofive

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
  • Device: Nexus 6P
speed of refreshing geocaches via geocaching4locus
« on: January 17, 2014, 10:38:57 »
When refreshing a larger number (some more than 1000 caches) via gc4l, I get the attached message ("Slower! You've reached the limit of maximum actions / calls per minute").



I don't know the limitations of the gc API, but if there are limits for total number of refreshes and/or refreshes/minute, IMHO Locus should respect them and warn me (or reduce speed of refreshing) before getting stopped by gc.com.

This is not a big issue of course - I can split my caches and refresh them in several steps (and probably I should do some housekeeping on my device and clean up some old data...  ;D )

« Last Edit: January 17, 2014, 13:12:34 by mambofive »
 

Offline Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12122
  • Thanked: 603 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 2
Re: speed of refreshing geocaches via geocaching4locus
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2014, 10:40:38 »
hehe, this is problem in Geoaching4Locus, not in Locus. But Locus suffer from this also sometimes, mainly in GC Offlinizer. I'll post this to Arcao (G4L developer) topic, thanks
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
Support email: locus.map@asamm.com
 

Offline Martin Sloup

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Czech, English...
    • View Profile
    • http://arcao.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: speed of refreshing geocaches via geocaching4locus
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2014, 17:23:16 »
Damn! I didn't expected that someone reach the limit of calling 30 requests per minute (one request will update 10 caches), because Geocaching Live API server is known for slowness. But as I tested, it's not problem now to reach the limit when you update more than 300 caches. I will try to fix it in a next release.
Autor of Geocaching4Locus add-on
 

Offline Martin Sloup

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 94
  • Czech, English...
    • View Profile
    • http://arcao.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: speed of refreshing geocaches via geocaching4locus
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2014, 13:43:54 »
Could you try this version:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0frs6ahxxcpe2vq/Geocaching4Locus-1.5.4-rc4.apk

When I tried to update 571 caches with this version, it did not get an error any more.
Autor of Geocaching4Locus add-on
 

Offline mambofive

  • Apprentice of Locus
  • **
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
  • Device: Nexus 6P
Re: speed of refreshing geocaches via geocaching4locus
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2014, 19:54:00 »
Seems like Seattle has added some more hamsters to their API servers ... ;-)
Your fix works perfectly, thank you!

Gesendet von unterwegs mit Tapatalk 2.