Author Topic: TOPIC REVIEW: MTP NOTIFICATION (OR HOW TO CALL IT)  (Read 3209 times)

Offline Mek

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
    • http://mekweb.eu/?lang=en
  • Device: SGS4Mini
TOPIC REVIEW: MTP NOTIFICATION (OR HOW TO CALL IT)
« on: May 12, 2013, 20:28:57 »
Hello,
my device is Samsung Galaxy S 2 with latest firmware.
Using Locus Pro, when track recording is stopped, my track is exported and its properties displayed automatically. The KML file is in proper location (sdcard)/Locus/export as I can see it from file manager in phone. But when I connect the phone to my computer and navigate to that folder, the file is not there. I have to restart my phone and then the file appears.
I guess the MTP system in android is so stupid it does not monitor the filesystem at all and needs some way of notification that a file has been created so it is made visible via USB connection. I know that the pictures of built-in camera appear instantly. But that is just my guess as I have no knowledge of android development. Can you pls investigate to see if you can make the kml file of exported track appear when connecting via USB without restarting entire phone? Thanks.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Do you like Scrabble? You can play on SKREBL.EU (my personal project) - free, various language versions available!
 

Offline gynta

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3549
  • Thanked: 40 times
    • View Profile
    • Locus live tracking service
  • Device: SM-A530F(A8) Android 8.0.0
Re: MTP notification (or how to call it)
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2013, 21:04:24 »
This is not really "Locus" specific

Im using a synctool and dropbox for this job (Dropsync):
Coming home and my device sync with dropbox automaticly - all exported tracks and pictures.
-> https://getsatisfaction.com/locus/topic ... to_dropbox


For all other filetransferes, i'm using a Datamanager(PC Total Commander) and a WiFi ftp server solution (FTPServer) on the SGS2

I never connecting my mobile with USB...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline Mek

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
    • http://mekweb.eu/?lang=en
  • Device: SGS4Mini
Re: MTP notification (or how to call it)
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2013, 17:42:01 »
Well, yeah, that's how you use it. But I like to have it always connected to PC for charging - when leaving home it is always fully charged (and my PC is on nevertheless) so I am not using the charger at all.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Do you like Scrabble? You can play on SKREBL.EU (my personal project) - free, various language versions available!
 

Offline voldapet

  • Administrator
  • Padavan of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 495
  • Thanked: 12 times
    • View Profile
Re: MTP notification (or how to call it)
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2013, 17:47:54 »
Hi
try Android ADB plugin for TotalCommander
http://www.totalcmd.net/plugring/android_adb.html
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline Mek

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
    • http://mekweb.eu/?lang=en
  • Device: SGS4Mini
Re: MTP notification (or how to call it)
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2013, 19:07:54 »
I am not using Total Commander, just ordinary Windows Explorer. The phone appears in My Computer and I can browse it there 8-)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Do you like Scrabble? You can play on SKREBL.EU (my personal project) - free, various language versions available!
 

Offline sherman

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: MTP notification (or how to call it)
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2013, 20:29:29 »
Hi, it is a known annoying problem. See here: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1373 ... es-via-mtp
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline tommi

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1232
  • Thanked: 2 times
  • Devices: Samsung S7 + S5 + S3 + Nexus7 flo
    • View Profile
Re: MTP notification (or how to call it)
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2013, 17:08:32 »
Quote from: "voldapet"
Hi
try Android ADB plugin for TotalCommander
http://www.totalcmd.net/plugring/android_adb.html
Hi Peter, thanks for this hint. Though the plug-in doesn't yet fully work with all features of TotalCommander, it makes my life easier!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »