Author Topic: Location correction  (Read 2153 times)

Offline arhoi29

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Location correction
« on: October 07, 2012, 08:45:04 »
Hi Menion,
I know there is altitude correction in the Locus GPS setting.
I would like to know if it is possible to have location correction as well?
It is because I realized that the GPS location is shifted a bit in some countries.
Thanks,
Hoi
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline tommi

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
  • Thanked: 2 times
  • Devices: Samsung S7 + S5 + S3 + Nexus7 flo
    • View Profile
Re: Location correction
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2012, 09:51:33 »
Hi arhoi29, welcome in the Locus forum.
If I understand your problem correctly you ask more for a geographical shift for some maps which's settings are described here: http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php/manual:map_offset.
Does this help?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline arhoi29

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Location correction
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2012, 04:16:16 »
wow, it looks like to be
sorry for missing it out, i will try it out next time when i go to that country again
thanks a lot
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline jusc

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1896
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
  • Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 and Note 2
Re: Location correction
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2012, 08:54:00 »
btw. which countries or maps do you mean?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Regards J.
 

Offline arhoi29

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Location correction
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2012, 11:39:12 »
well its china


edit

Hi, I have got a problem again and that makes me to have an idea of points coordinates offset setting.

Previously, I had spotted some points on google map, exported the points as kml and import the points to Locus.
Then I applied map offset to the map, but the points do not lie on a correct place on the map.
So will that be possible to have points coordinates offset setting in Locus or GPS coordinate adjustment?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11223
  • Thanked: 271 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: Location correction
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2012, 20:18:02 »
hmm to be true, this is not planned. I do not expect that someone will pick up points on incorrect map and then want to display them on correctly calibrated map ...

do you have a lot of points with this "offset"?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline arhoi29

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Location correction
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2012, 03:53:27 »
I have got around a hundred points plotted.

I usually plot the points on google map before traveling to the place.
However the map is wrong so the points are also wrong... /.
Map offset corrected the map and I can get my actual location when I arrive there, but I may not get to the points easily.
I have no idea how it can be done better /.

edit

after thinking again, if i can choose, i would like to have gps location adjustment rather than points coordinates offset
the reason is that after i recorded a track with correct gps location, if i import the track to google map, the track will not lie correctly on google map...
or maybe i should find google support instead of locus support, and ask them to let me set map offset in google map instead  :roll:
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »