Author Topic: error in RMAP calibration  (Read 3948 times)

Offline bongo

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
  • Device: SGS5
error in RMAP calibration
« on: January 30, 2012, 11:03:01 »
looks like there is an error in calibrating RMAP formatted maps. :cry:

my map has the following projection/datum:
projection: Transversal Mercator
datum: Potsdam Rauenberg DHDN
resolution: 2.5 m/pixel

when placing a waypoint on this map, this does not show at the correct position.

example:
coords of the wpt: 48°08.995 11°31.305
the wpt is shown on the map at about:  48°08.900 11°31.215

when using osm vector maps, the wpt is shown where it should be, but when using RMAP, the map seems to have an offset to the north-east and the wpt is shown in a wrong position.

i also checked this with another RMAP which has same projection/datum but different resolution, and the problem is the same.

first i thought that my maps are bad, but i did the following tests:

- loaded RMAP into compegps on the pc, and the wpt is shown in the right position
- loaded RMAP into oruxmaps, and the wpt is shown in the right position

so i think that definitely locus is the problem, which misinterpretes either the projection or the datum settings.

can you please have a look at this misbehaviour?

thanx!
bongo
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • Thanked: 323 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: error in RMAP calibration
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2012, 11:07:03 »
I'll gladly check it, but I need some sample map with this issue. It's weird because I was almost sure then UTM should work correctly but seems not ...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline bongo

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
  • Device: SGS5
Re: error in RMAP calibration
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2012, 11:12:52 »
hm. then map which shows this behaviour is about 1.5gb. not really nice to upload ;-(
maybe, i can find a smaller one, but will still be a few 100mb.
where can i upload this map for you to check (it's definitely too big for email)?
bongo
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • Thanked: 323 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: error in RMAP calibration
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2012, 11:19:31 »
if you can create just some small ... then perfect. If not, 100MB will not be problem. Some web service? Hellshare, maybe one czech service http://leteckaposta.cz/ - very useful for files up to around 150MB. Thanks ...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline bongo

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
  • Device: SGS5
Re: error in RMAP calibration
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2012, 12:40:40 »
i found a small one. sent it to your email address...
thanx!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline krzysiekz

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: error in RMAP calibration
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2012, 21:56:06 »
I,ve got same error, but with last update my maps work perfect.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline bongo

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
  • Device: SGS5
Re: error in RMAP calibration
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2012, 08:45:44 »
i actually have 1.16.3 which shows this problem. think it's the latest one.

seems to be a problem with either Transversal Mercator projection or Potsdam Rauenberg DHDN map datum (or both).
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • Thanked: 323 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: error in RMAP calibration
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2012, 07:19:39 »
uff ... I was playing with this whole evening and night. Finally at morning solved.


I probably understand something wrong, but Datum in configuration file is also used on calibration point. I firstly just converted calibration points from LatLon Datum=WGS84 to defined projection. But this gives me still same errors no matter what I did. Solution is to use LatLon, but Datum= datum from calibration. Hmm good to know :). Probably basic mistake but for sure very very important because I should be error that cause many small calibration issues. Perfect ... so ...fixed, uff :)
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline bongo

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
  • Device: SGS5
Re: error in RMAP calibration
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2012, 09:01:23 »
great!
so i hope to find the new version in the market soon... ;-)
thanx!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • Thanked: 323 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: error in RMAP calibration
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2012, 11:40:38 »
test version viewtopic.php?f=25&t=1537#p9270

regular market version will take some time now
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline bongo

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
  • Device: SGS5
Re: error in RMAP calibration
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2012, 12:39:08 »
looks fine now!...
... but i had to uninstall locus free first. when installing over an existing locus free version (had a former testversion installed) calibration was still wrong.
but now, it seems to work fine.
thanx!
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Online menion

  • Administrator
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • Thanked: 323 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: SGS7
Re: error in RMAP calibration
« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2012, 12:40:41 »
still wrong? hmm interesting. This should not be ... anyway good that works. Perfect
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
Ideas, wishes, problems
Advanced topics, public discussion, sharing of knowledges, testing beta versions: you're here!
 

Offline bongo

  • More than Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
  • Device: SGS5
Re: error in RMAP calibration
« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2012, 12:45:17 »
not really a problem. i think there was a problem with the first installation of 1.16.3 when i installed over a former free version.
when starting 1.16.3. for the first time, it crashed. then i started again and still had the wrong calibration.
so i uninstalled and reinstalled and now it works.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »