Author Topic: CPU usage while track recording  (Read 7333 times)

Offline joeloc

  • Expert
  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 371
  • Thanked: 11 times
    • View Profile
Re: CPU usage while track recording
« Reply #15 on: December 21, 2011, 14:00:17 »
Did you also test battery usage while trackrecording when
a) mapsforge map is sued
b) blank map is used

imho there should be no difference at all (!) when the screen is off. Yet my tests showed case a) to use a lot more cpu.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12606
  • Thanked: 839 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 5, A12
Re: CPU usage while track recording
« Reply #16 on: December 21, 2011, 14:20:23 »
I'm using mainly vector maps in terrain so the stats reflect using of vector maps also. There was maybe issue on version before 1.15.x, but latest, should work correctly in this way. You may also try ...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download
 

Offline joeloc

  • Expert
  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 371
  • Thanked: 11 times
    • View Profile
Re: CPU usage while track recording
« Reply #17 on: December 21, 2011, 15:24:38 »
locus 1.15.2.5

sorry, but imho this is still very wrong. why does the chosen map make a difference when the screen is off? are you absolutely sure that you arent calling pointless mapsforge functions when the screen is off?

blank map, track recording with screen off, cpu at 200mhz. FINE.
[attachment=0:1yw0l8ts]blankmap.png[/attachment:1yw0l8ts]

mapsforge, track recording with screen off, cpu all over the range. WRONG.
[attachment=1:1yw0l8ts]mapsforge.png[/attachment:1yw0l8ts]
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12606
  • Thanked: 839 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 5, A12
Re: CPU usage while track recording
« Reply #18 on: December 21, 2011, 20:08:13 »
hmm quite interesting. Before your test, I should for sure say, that I'm sure :), anyway I'll check it again because there should not be any difference ... may you just for my curiosity, try this also with any offline map? Thanks ....
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download
 

Offline joeloc

  • Expert
  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 371
  • Thanked: 11 times
    • View Profile
Re: CPU usage while track recording
« Reply #19 on: December 21, 2011, 21:07:04 »
with rmap, it looks good. just like blank map.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline joeloc

  • Expert
  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 371
  • Thanked: 11 times
    • View Profile
Re: CPU usage while track recording
« Reply #20 on: December 21, 2011, 21:15:26 »
... and now it looks good with mapsforge as well!

grmpf. maybe you should just ignore me :/
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12606
  • Thanked: 839 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 5, A12
Re: CPU usage while track recording
« Reply #21 on: December 21, 2011, 21:22:33 »
hmm, this is similar like issue that I was discuss with rijackson here viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1440 ... it's not your problem but have to be some issue in Locus. If you discover some specific issue with some settings, tell me for sure ...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download
 

Offline joeloc

  • Expert
  • Padavan of Locus
  • ***
  • Posts: 371
  • Thanked: 11 times
    • View Profile
Re: CPU usage while track recording
« Reply #22 on: December 21, 2011, 21:33:33 »
could it be related to the compass maybe? and auto-rotation of map? maybe that is called when screen is off?

anyway,  i cant really reproduce the problem at the moment. so better wor on something else :-).
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
 

Offline Menion

  • Locus team
  • Professor of Locus
  • *****
  • Posts: 12606
  • Thanked: 839 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.asamm.com
  • Device: Pixel 5, A12
Re: CPU usage while track recording
« Reply #23 on: December 21, 2011, 21:37:02 »
nono, in moment you turn off screen or screen that need compass goes away, compass is also disabled. Really, in locus is very lot of features that helps keep CPU and battery usage as low as possible. Anyway in every system are mistakes, so ...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by Guest »
- Official help (ideas, questions, problems): help.locusmap.eu
- Advanced topics, sharing of knowledges: you're here!
- LM 4 Beta download, LM 4 final download