Menu

Show posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Show posts Menu

Messages - freischneider

#1
Quote from: slarti76 on Yesterday at 11:37:29
Quote from: Tapio on Yesterday at 09:52:06Well, do you really think there's another person on earth using orux maps in Locus?
It's supported, and it worked before the initial display of map name was fixed (which it is), so am I not allowed to report that bug?

I find it a little weird that two people thank you for a post basically telling me my bug report is of no importance? I don't complain when others report bugs that are of no concern for me...
The many options provided by Locus make it very versatile on the one hand, and on the other very prone to having ultra-complicated menus that scare the average user who seeks simplicity as a first approach. Some of these options are used by maybe 10 people so it makes me smile when someone finds a bug on one of them, even more so when it relates to maps of an application in direct competition with Locus. My "thank you" was not a personal attack, if a function exists it is right that it works properly, but it is more to point out the fact that sometimes we should also think about removing and simplifying instead of always adding something new.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#2
Well, do you really think there's another person on earth using orux maps in Locus?
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#3
Maybe time to upgrade Locus, too?
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#4
Quote from: luce on July 02, 2024, 09:00:31app crashes instantly whenI'm trying to start the route planner. Everything else works fine. Log attached.

Edit: App crashes also when pushing the map content button.
Not here. Android 10.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#5
Hi @Graf Geo,

you are right, there is no way to edit caption when the photo is already uploaded. Implementation of this feature does not have high priority for now, but we will consider it in future plannings.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#6
Thank you Menion,
Are you perhaps planning to manage LoPoints on the web too?
Insertion, comments, rating ...
For me it would be much more convenient to do it on the PC than on the smartphone.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#7
Thank you very much, interesting features. Just tried to earn my first photo LoCoin as a test ;) 
The option to (de)activate the notifications is well placed in the profiles.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#8
New pre-release Beta 4.23.1.6!
One interesting piece of news (for someone) -> possibility of adding ratings and comments to online LoPoints! We still believe we should be able to create a usable database of useful places with photos, mainly for hike & bike usage. Offline version (so online and offline LoPoints (almost) identical) is planned on rest of this year.

And second, partially secret (for now) -> you should now receive 1 LoCoin for every uploaded and validated photo. So 2099 photos -> Gold for one year :)

@balloni55
Unfortunately, I'm still unable to simulate it, no matter what I do. Could you please enable logging to the file in the Beta, try it again (maybe twice), and send me a log file? Thanks!

@Graf Geo , @Andrew Heard
One minute was in the previous version. For now, five minutes is better than nothing  ;). Once it is reliable good enough, we may discuss sooner notification or some extra adjustments. I also need to test it more in the field and not sit permanently behind the desk :)
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#9
New function "Notification on invalid pause and pending recording states":

Hello Menion, even though I am not a friend of the new function, I would have a few suggestions for improvement if this function is to be included in the next stable version:

It would be good to have a settings menu similar to the point alert (see screenshot). There you can enable the function and also set the type of notification (sound, beep, text-to-speech).

I don't think the current visual notification (orange-coloured message box) is ideal because it usually indicates errors or problems. Perhaps it would be easiest to open the screen automatically and display the track recording panel, where the three large buttons "stop", "pause" and "add point" can be seen at the bottom. Then you can quickly press the desired button (screenshot 2).

But these are only suggestions.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#10
Quote from: Graf Geo on May 23, 2024, 12:18:32and after about a minute the announcement comes on
@menion can you please explain a little bit more about this new feature? I have read the suggestion webpage) and like the general idea because I've sometimes been in the same situation of pausing then riding on & forgetting to unpause. And because I try to have the display mostly off I don't notice the orange icon anyway (even if large & in the middle of screen). I have LM4 notifications disabled but 4 times yesterday while using LM for navigation & track recording I hear this voice... I had no idea what it was about until I read various comments here (thanks others) (PS. & now reading help suggestion I very much like the idea & was going to suggest years ago). Should TTS be enabled if notifications are disabled? Maybe the TTS first says "Locus Map..."?

Sorry for the muddled comment.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#11
Once again about the new function "Notification on invalid pause and pending recording states":

I tested it outside this morning and it's as annoying as I feared. I stop and after about a minute the announcement comes on. Do I now have to listen to it every time I have to wait a little longer at a traffic light, meet a friend on the road and want to have a quick chat, read an information board or need a quick wee? :)

Please NO! I urgently want to get rid of it or be able to deactivate it.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#12
4.23.1.5 nice update, thanks!

New setting "keep (or not) manual segments" works fine, and good that it is activated by default.  :)

Notification on invalid pause and pending recording states: fine and I understand that it might be useful for some users, but please let it be deactivatable in the settings. I don't need it and it bothers me. I don't like unwanted messages at all.  8)
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#13
Quote from: Andrew Heard on May 17, 2024, 17:04:06Has anyone else experienced this?
Not a problem here.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#14
For 100+km, missing decimals cause less than 1% error.
Decimals for such distances are not visible, because they are not needed in most cases.

In case, you need a higher precision, it should be possible to enable the display of "meters" only (for distance units in the app settings), so you get precise values in all cases.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#15
Quote from: Andrew Heard on May 10, 2024, 18:41:51working for everyone else?
AFA.4 work for me

#50 confirm solved
The following users thanked this post: freischneider