Menu

Show posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Show posts Menu

Messages - freischneider

#1
@freischneider that is not true, I read all topics and posts :P (except the German thread)! It just sometimes takes me a day or two because of work here and there I have to do (sorry for this delays).

Guys, I spend on this more than a day last week, and in the end, I've found this! It is a problem in the Google library.

Fortunately, at Friday, a new version of the Google library was published so I've immediately updated quite a lot of code and published version 1.5. Well... 7th attempt to publish a new version ended with Google team message: "It is not possible to install on the device". Wtf. My request for detailed info from Saturday > no reaction so far.

Anyway, you may try version 1.5 from Google Drive. It works correctly on two watches we have for testing and also emulator so I believe there is no problem at all. Feedback will be anyway welcome!
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#2
Hi guys,

there are two methods how Locus Map detect & share location ...

1. detect registered navigation apps. This is done in the point navigation menu > bottom "Navigation apps". If the app is not here, it means is not able to handle "google.navigation:q=" request.

2. detect mapping apps. This is done in the point "share" menu > "Other map apps". Here should be all apps that is able to handle very basic "geo:0,0?q=" request. I believe that all map-based alls should be able to do this. So give a try if your missing app isn't here.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#3
Zdravím Henrieto,

zkus se prosím podívat do menu > Nastavení > Navigace > Pokročilé nastavení > Striktní navigace po trase.

To by mělo pomoci a opravdu vynutit navigaci po všech bodech bez přeskakování.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#4
Ich persönlich lasse während meiner Wanderungen via Tasker überwachen, ob die Aufzeichnung läuft (LocusTasker-Plugin, Auswertung von %is_track_rec_recording) - ist sie nicht "true", gibt es einen Alarm. Ansonsten ein subtiler Piepser, der mir anzeigt, dass Locus und Android leben. Bleibt der aus, merke ich das irgendwann. Das habe ich mal gemacht, als mein Android öfter abstürzte und neu startete.

EDIT: Ich habe es mal bis aufs grundsätzliche Konzept verkleinert und hochgeladen.
https://taskernet.com/shares/?user=AS35m8kdDIMDeveQcQfRglam%2Fah1mTW%2FWcg05FZ39c0i1q%2F77iY3E7cIwxCkXqJTaTA%3D&id=Profile%3ARecWatcher
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#5
Waldrand, Nordseite, Stand der Sonne, zu erwartende Dichte der Plagegeister (e-Bikes 😁 - heutzutage fährt ja die ganze Familie und noch der tote Opa die Berge hoch) - ja, meine meist so 20 km habe ich auch schnell zusammengestellt. Vor allem überstimmte ich den BRouter-Vorschlag oft.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#6
Information / Re: Update of the forum (2022/08)
August 30, 2022, 10:38:13
I regularly open the forum by its "unread posts"-link. With the updated forum I noticed that topic themes are not emphasized, but the poster starter of the thread is.
For a better readable layout I would recommend to emphasize the titles (e.g. by bolding and/or coloring in orange) and remove the bolding of the original thread starter.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#7

Deleting and reinstalling the map fixed it.

https://help.locusmap.eu/topic/29278-blue-areas-in-latest-germany-lomap
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#8
Information / Re: Update of the forum
August 19, 2022, 15:38:51
Smooth upgrade, at least from the outside looking in.  I just had to log in again, browser auto-fills the details, a few seconds, done.

Looks good too.  :)
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#9
Link broken?
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#10
The new copyright button on top right is super horrible. Is there any way to disable that pretty please? Like a "I have acknowledged the Copyright for this map, remove the button" link when you first display the message for each map?

Besides of getting in the way visually and being hit accidently (moving bicycle on bumpy roads..
not while sitting in a chair...), it WILL cause OLED burn in with its super high contrast. Other parts of Locus UI have done that as well for me and are now permanent on my current phone... and my previous phones. Which reminds me... any chance of slightly moving the whole UI around by a few pixels every now and then somehow? If you run Locus outdoors, display will always be super bright and maybe always on and burn in will occur after a while for power users. All my Samsung devices going back to at least the S8 suffer from burned in Locus UI actually. S10 does, my GFs S20 does, my current S20FE also does (after 16 months heavy Locus use).

Obviously it's Samsungs fault, not Locus. But anyway... Locus is the only App that runs at 1000 nits many hours a day, so it causes by far the most stress for your Display.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#11
Bei mir hat die Kalorienberechnung in Locus noch nie gepasst. Vor langer Zeit hatte ich das auch mal angefragt, aber da es mir aber nicht so wichtig ist, nicht weiter verfolgt.

Es gibt unzählige Onlinerechner im Netz, die bei Eingabe von Geschlecht, Gewicht, Streckenlänge und Zeit alle mehr oder weniger ähnliche realistische Werte ermitteln.

Bei Locus hingegen bekomme ich immer viel zu geringe Werte angezeigt, meist nur um die 50 bis 70 % des realistischen Verbrauchs (beim Joggen). Egal, es gibt wichtigeres.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#12
Quote from: Andrew Heard on July 28, 2022, 01:35:20
Quote from: Žajdlík Josef on July 27, 2022, 07:45:25
Quote from: Andrew Heard on July 27, 2022, 00:55:08
you probably find only 0.01% of users use Presets, so far bigger fish to fry; maybe there are analytics behind the scenes to justify development in certain areas

Andrew Why do you think so? I think Locus Presets needs. Without them I can not even imagine using locus.
@Žajdlík Josef - LM4 5M+ downloads, LM3 probably even more, but just a few regular beta users in this forum. I agree with you Presets are a great power-user feature but it would be interesting to see how many out of 10M+ Locus users are aware of & use this feature. I'm just trying to say with limited developer resources there are possibly more important areas to develop that would give more bang-for-your-buck for more users.

In this review of 6 best navigation apps for bicycle touring https://wobblyride.com/2022/03/29/best-navigation-apps-for-bicycle-touring/ sadly IMHO Locus is not mentioned. I have experimented with all other 6 apps (long time ago) and settled on LM as the best. I would suggest every LM user who reads the review, adds a comment to promote LM and provide wider exposure.

All cyclists and tourists I know want a simple application of free Mapy.cz do not want to think about the settings and options that Locus applications offer. I think that the Locus team knows it and does not compete directly with them. Mapy.cz or Google have big teams of people.
I agree with Menion that the presets will have to be modified, but it takes more discussion on this topic.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#13
Quote from: Andrew Heard on July 27, 2022, 00:55:08
you probably find only 0.01% of users use Presets, so far bigger fish to fry; maybe there are analytics behind the scenes to justify development in certain areas

Andrew Why do you think so? I think Locus Presets needs. Without them I can not even imagine using locus.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#14
using 4.11 as of today

I suggest to pause latest brainstorming on presets for some releases and updated features, until new calls possible, probably Menion and team save existing links, ideas and comments to some MS OneNote or alike. BR
The following users thanked this post: freischneider
#15
@tapio
right, currently regex "search" works only for points & tracks filter

@arnor
hmm, the problem with Dropbox > app should refresh the required access token automatically, but when this does not happen, please try to logout and login again (top three-dot menu in toolbar), thanks

@baegas
thanks for the log. I see that the app tries incorrectly read RTCM messages, so I've for now disabled some "message analysis". It should work in next version, thanks.

@freischneider
Because of optimizations, the compass should be disabled when the screen is off. Anyway good point, I'll look at it. In the worst case, I should at least disable rotation animation, so it should happen instantly.

--- TASKER ---

I'm also not skilled too much with tasks, so maybe it should be interesting to discuss this in a separate topic(s)? Feel free to create any ... and I've created a board for this here.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider