Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - lor74cas

Pages: 1 [2] 3
16
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Web planner / portal
« on: March 30, 2021, 16:55:18 »
https://www.openstreetmap.org/#map=14/62.5564/7.7225&layers=Y
no holes

https://www.openstreetmap.org/#map=14/62.5564/7.7225&layers=C
with holes, and I think Locus uses this one

In the image the mystery unveiled.
The following users thanked this post: jajaballard

17
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Web planner / portal
« on: March 18, 2021, 16:15:52 »

...
@lor74cas
1) Not editable filename -> Is it really issue? You can easily rename file once downloaded ... For sure I could add logic to generate name (current time, start and destination - can be tricky one) but I didn't see any big benefit doing so.

Hello,
It is useful for the messy ones like me who leave everything in the download folder. To give the created file a useful name to identify its contents, I always have to open the folder and rename the file, it is not very convenient. By pressing the export button it would be better to simply ask the user for the name, there is no need to take the information from the points, the track or the map to suggest one, you can leave "export" as default, but editable by the user.
The following users thanked this post: janaton

18
Plain/Hill/Mountain makes sense as a triad, and has no rude obscene connotations that I am aware of (an important consideration when using a foreign language).
However, my first thought was actually that the proposed naming appears to tie the Locus tiers rather strongly to the intended usage. If I walk or ride mainly in the plain, do I want the Plain version? Maybe it has no contour lines? Maybe the Hill version stops working above 1000m and the maps disappear in mist?


Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

I totally agree.

I know that free, base, advanced are less fun names, but they better describe the version of locus.
sleeping bag, camping tent, resort, just kidding.  :D
The following users thanked this post: Henk van der Spek, balloni55, Diddi, Michal, hans.castorp

19
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Web planner / portal
« on: March 09, 2021, 08:57:23 »
Export Gpx -> filename not editable the name is fixed to "export"
The points I put on the map to generate the track are exported as waypoints, but they are not. I think that the generic points with just coords in panel does not have to be considered as waypoints, but if I use +add to route on a relevant point on the map or (in future) I edit the coords in the panel with a more human readble text, this are real waypoints also to be exported. 
The following users thanked this post: janaton

20
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Web planner / portal
« on: March 01, 2021, 10:38:45 »
As the number of points increased, I noticed that it would have been appropriate:
1) A dedicated scroll for the points panel with the last inserted always visible
2) The statistics panel always visible at the bottom

Now for me after 10 points (depends on the screen resolution) the stats and new points are progressively moved down becoming invisible without using the scroll.


The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard, janaton

21
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: April 16, 2020, 20:47:28 »
I tried the new circular automatic track, yes it works but why should I use it for ?

What I need is something that connects last point to start point to create a circular track

Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: freischneider

22
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: April 15, 2020, 11:54:46 »
Hello,
I do not understand why this option is the top voted "Long click on "Route type": toggle between "manual" and "selected" routing".
"Toggle" function is a shortcut to change the profile to manual and back, it does not to draw directly a manual point.
With the direct manual point (on the + or on the profile icon, does't matter) if you need to concatenate more points you have two options:
1) with few points, use the long touch for each point
2) with a lot of points just toggle to the manual mode as always

With one point, no contest, just one long touch

I think I do not understand because someone else has different needs than me, but I'm curious.
The following users thanked this post: balloni55, poutnikl

23
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: March 14, 2020, 15:21:46 »
Hello,
In the route planner I agree with another user who wrote about insert the points in the graph.

When showing the detail of the points, there is no reason to see the the graph for each segment because every graph has its own scale and you can not compare the segments, so I disabled this function.

In the attached mockup, I suggest a better use of the point detail panel:
  • When enabled the top should be hidden
  • At the bottom show the whole altimetry graph with the reference of points
  • Highlight in the graph the selected segment
  • Highlight in the map the segment centering and zooming at the top


The REC button still overlaps.

Now, here in Italy we can just play with the planner waiting for the end of this nightmare.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

24
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: March 04, 2020, 10:55:20 »
First impression:
https://gph.is/g/ZPJNoDV

I use auto-hide for all panels, I like the full map, I do not like too much the button of menu visible while all is hided, see attachment.
For my case of use the menu button gives access to something I do not usually need while focusing on the map, It'd be more convenient if it show up with the double touch of the map as the other hided menus.


The following users thanked this post: freischneider

25
Discussion/New features / Re: Locator Beacon and tracking
« on: February 02, 2020, 11:54:20 »
So you need "Of course, it would be better if Locus could read and recognize the SMS automatically."
to open the link in the sms directly in locus? I think you need to show to the developer (Menoin) an sms composed from that device to understand if it's possible.

My previous answer referred to the possibility of creating a similar functionality without a dedicated device, but using a smartphone and the Tasker app
The following users thanked this post: ColdAutumn

26
Discussion/New features / Re: Locator Beacon and tracking
« on: February 02, 2020, 10:53:59 »
For this purpose you can use Tasker,
create a profile that reacts to an SMS request from a specific contact "from +3391234567 and text where_are_U"
with an action, sending sms with coordinates in the form you prefer (the simplest are the built-in gmaps format).
No data connection needed only mobile and gps. (in rooted phones you can enable and disable gps with an action to save the battery, but you need more time to get better accuracy on the position).
Locus is great but I think this is not it's field of use
The following users thanked this post: ColdAutumn

27


Awesome new Beta, because you seem to have fixed the text problem over more than one tile! Haven't seen any more broken text yet!
.3 beta no more broken text, I did not find one anymore.



Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: tapio

28
I hope the new version is out soon. I SO MUCH can't wait to the "sort by elevation gain" feature
Tested
What about an advanced filter for tracks ?
Now there is just name and date.
I think that distance and elevation gain are very important too.
Something to find out:
How many tracks wirh more then 20 km and more than 1000 mt of elevation I did this year?


Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: tapio

29
Hello,
In navigation, the blue labels with km and time are not full visible.

Inviato dal mio SM-A520F utilizzando Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: john_percy

30
Complains about magnifier: I personally found it useful, which is why I do not see problems related to it. Any suggestion how to visualize moving point better? Btw. drag&drop works, it is just needed to move with point immediately, do not wait (otherwise long-click is performed and here comes bug).
The magnifying glass is a nice piece of software, it certainly produces an effect of amazement in the user when first used.
But for example, if you have to move the point on the top or left edges of the screen becomes uncomfortable because the lens leaves the screen, also happens rarely that the possibility of moving the point is not activated.
I prefer to select a track point and from the command menu choose move, then move the point and confirm the new position. In this way I use the zoom already present or the two-finger mode, it is much more precise and the procedure remains the same. This is just my point of view, for sure there are users with habits or maybe different devices that prefer the magnifying glass.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

Pages: 1 [2] 3