Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - lor74cas

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
31
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: April 14, 2020, 13:39:53 »
It is clearly visible to me how (almost) everyone here thinks... it's expected :) ... "I need this, dot".
Nah, I think most of us are aware about many more aspects like UI clutter, change of functionality vs. user behaviour, multiple wishes resulting in additional options, resulting in software complexity... But it is not useful to always write walls of text.

So my approach now and here is: I WANT THIS, PERIOD 😁
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

32
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: April 14, 2020, 07:36:35 »
When planning MTB routes, I often have segments that are not in OSM. These are illegal trails. They are not allowed in OSM. I often have to switch to manual route type and then back to MTB.
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

33
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: April 14, 2020, 06:51:48 »
I got it the same, as I have expressed above, which I see as quite nice.

( * = "long press routing button" )

+   = routing segment(via currently selected profile)
+   = another routing segment
*    = straight segment
+   = routing segment
*    = straight segment
*    = another straight segment
+   = routing segment

I do not use such approach often, but I understand for heavy off-road hikers it would be useful feature. It is not only a workaround for missing/wrong OSM mapping, but also for the true lack of OSM ways to be passed, or their intentional avoiding.

And LocusMap is for heavy off-road hikers more than most of other applications.

Sent from my Xiaomi MI A2 / Android 10, via Tapatalk
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

34
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: April 14, 2020, 01:36:55 »
I often need this feature. I like to draw my proposed hiking routes beforehand and many times the paths are either incomplete on the oam maps or fail to join up properly. If I allow the routing engine to compute the leg in that case I get either a ridiculously convoluted route or a failure. I don't like @menion's slightly shorter recompute technique.

I thought @lor74cas  was suggesting:
- long press on "Route type" button adds single "manual line" segment
- another press on "+" button adds current selected "Route type" segment
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

35
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: April 13, 2020, 20:39:02 »
@poutnikl
- scale ruler in Route planner .. same with the zoom buttons. I've to discuss this with Michal and change the title and description for these functions a little bit and yes, agree, it should.

@jonny.blue
nice search UI issue, thanks. I've not yet tested it on tablets and this is the result :)

@Ricardo Borges
auto-rotation is active as long, as you are centered. Behavior in the current public version is a little problematic as the map rotates even if you move with the map.

@Žajdlík Josef
Ah sorry! My mistake. It was removed by accident, not intent as Libor wrote. Current GraphHopper API does not offer more options for some fine-tunning so I see no option to make it better (from a technical point of view). Anyway, fixed. Btw @tapio, what is the advantage of OpenRouteService routing compare to Locus Map?

---

Quick toggle between routing & manual drawing ...
- extra button ... eh, no, the screen is already too covered by UI, right? ;)
- change in the "+" button ... the current solution has perfect sense I believe
- toggle by long click on the "Route type" button? That's it ... easy, quick and allows to insert more than just one manual button. Once done, long-click to continue in automatic routing.

Implemented, nice discussion, thanks.
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

36
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: April 02, 2020, 23:22:43 »
Experts and novices alike will always suffer from changes, yet changes are key to improvements and progress.
Hence - AGAIN - my advise to spend energy into a 21st century help and function (*) search capability. Android settings in many new devices deliver that: you type a word about what you want to do and get a number of matching functions/settings at your fingertip.
That does not address the ongoing UI discussion, I know. But the overwhelming (yet USEFUL!!!) settings have been a reported pain since years.
(*) each function and setting needs to have a number of keywords and synonyms associated. In the selected language and always plus English.
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

37
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: April 01, 2020, 15:23:28 »
What I see in the test version is not bad. I still can keep the screen free from elements. It's still the complex and capable app I love. Very much appreciate the new point approach. The UI changes I see are a small thing for me. I just wish the poi database, pois in general would get more love.
I must  honestly say my thoughts about Locus Alpha are more and more "after all, not much can change and will change". Not bad for me personally.
I feel Menion is having a hard time to bring changes in software and payment system to life. And I wish them success. Locus = Most important Android app for me.
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

38
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: March 03, 2020, 16:53:14 »
It's far from clear that Settings is to be found not be tapping More Functions (picture 1) but by sliding the pop up menu further up (picture 2).

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

39
@Žajdlík Josef
hmm so it seems to be bug on Android 5.0 so thanks, this start logo removed from this Android version.

@zossebart
forget mentioned tool is intent in this case. I'm a) still not sure if this is a really useful method and b) I believe it needs few more parameters, not just related to navigation but at least for track recording.

@lor74cas
heh ... it's quite extreme in your case. Garmin & Geoching4Locus are not inside in Locus Map, so there is no chance. Rest ... it is complicated. Every "big service" needs own notification that say user that it's running and consume device resources. Since Android 7 or 8 (not sure now) you may specificy in the app system settings, which notifications will be visible (as on attached screenshot) so you may remove them over this tool.

@slarti76
I can't imagine it display sooner. G5 is not so old so 10 seconds is way too much. The same delay is in all other app starts or just for the first time? Weird, anyway really can't imagine why this happens and how to speed up. In the first moment, Locus notice that UI is visible, it displays loading dialog.
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

40
Live tracking / Re: live-tracking.locusmap.app web page
« on: August 12, 2019, 08:48:48 »
@lor74cas
Hello, I wrote you an email through help desk 2 weeks ago (I hope it got through to you?). But it might be a good idea to share it here for others as well.
I tried once more after your report and finally hopefully found the cause of the problem. It should be fixed in the current version of LM Pro and the LT service should wake up correctly after connectivity state change.

Regarding unlimited session timeout usability problems we will probably limit upper bound to some more sensible limit like 1 or 2 weeks, at least until more mature group management is in place.

And by the way, web is still not fixed the way we would like to. We unfortunately have to find somebody else to fix it, since our current contractor is apparently not up for the task.
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

41
Live tracking / Re: live-tracking.locusmap.app web page
« on: July 24, 2019, 16:33:04 »
@lor74cas
Hello, I did not want to bother you with the help desk unnecessarily. It is just that I kind of missed the problem previously and did not try to reproduce thoroughly which was my personal mistake. I am sorry about that. The help desk just helps me to organize problems better and resolve them separately, especially because there was a lot of confusion and various errors concerning the LT web.
Anyway I tried to replicate again while locking the phone during the connection loss and could finally reproduce with my Samsung phone. The fix should be out with the new app version in a few days.

@Andrew Heard
Hi, I have checked the backend database and I can see the problem regarding your two positions. One position was recorded by the Locus Map Free and the other one by the Locus Map Pro. They are technically two separate clients due to some implementation details even when running on the same phone and with the same account. Leaving the group LM Free should hide your old position. Alternatively I could delete both last recorded positions on the server if it bothers you.
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

42
Live tracking / Re: live-tracking.locusmap.app web page
« on: May 02, 2019, 10:32:58 »
@Andrew Heard Thank you for mentioning this, it is true that private groups can set the "time out" to longer time.
But @lor74cas is right, this seems like a bug and increasing the time limit will only mask the problem somehow. I will add to my live tracking issues to solve.

@lor74cas Might only be a bug on the web, will have to try with two phones. The live tracking not reporting any failed transmissions might not be a problem. If there is no connection available Locus will notice this and postpone the attempt until the connection is available. The same should apply with GPS I think, so there should be no attempts to send the position until GPS fix is available.
But I would expect that as soon as a GPS or a connection is available there should be an attempt to synchronize position immediately (if last scheduled attempt had already been missed). So this is definitely not intended behaviour.
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

43
Discussion/New features / Re: Update of map core (2019)
« on: April 06, 2019, 14:47:28 »
Nice work. The map scaling is working.

I have done some quick map and theme versions checks.

Map v3: ok
Map v4: ok incl. multilanguage, ? symbol in the menu.
Map v5: ok incl. multilanguage, ? symbol in the menu.

Theme Locus: ok, but only for map v3
Theme v1: ok
Theme v4: ok, but only for map v4 or v5
Theme v5: not selectable
Are these restriction still needed?

I have seen some symbols and text on the map which are not coming from the actual selected theme. Not all elements are cleared during a theme change.
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

44
Complains about magnifier: I personally found it useful, which is why I do not see problems related to it.
@menion - I never found the UX intuitive/ only worked over short visible distance.

Any suggestion how to visualize moving point better? Btw. drag&drop works, it is just needed to move with point immediately, do not wait (otherwise long-click is performed and here comes bug).
now there are excellent alternatives to tap/ drag with magnifier it doesn't bother me.
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

45
In 3.32.2.8: as Andrew writes, the new planner is very good. I just have one comment. When I change the shaping point to a transit, I have no option to confirm the name. With the back button, changes are canceled, so the only confirmation option is a click on the map screen. I do not think this is a procedure that would follow other Locus control.

CZ: V 3.32.2.8: jak píše Andrew, nový plánovač je moc dobrý. Měl bych jen jednu připomínku. Když změním tvarovací bod na průjezdní, nemám žádnou možnost potvrdit název. Tlačítkem zpět se změny zruší, takže jediná možnost potvrzení je klik do obrazovky s mapou. Myslím, že to není postup, který by navazoval na jiné ovládání Locusu.

The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4