Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Andrew Heard

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 8
31
Good day John,
you are right. World vector map from Locus Store is built-in into improved MapsForge V3 system and is rendered little bit different than system suggested by Michael (with automatically selected optimized theme and some other minor improvements).

Anyway, I will have to ask for little patience. For some time, I work on improved system how will Locus Map handle maps and one of the changes will be united system how world map will be handled. And correct (and only) behavior will be as suggested Michael. But you will definitely notice this change (hopefully somewhere in February). Thanks for understanding.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

32
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« on: December 18, 2018, 18:11:58 »
Complains about magnifier: I personally found it useful, which is why I do not see problems related to it. Any suggestion how to visualize moving point better?
My most prefered way of moving things is per map center position. Because there we have the best overview and we can zoom. Move per map center: Which is currently too far away.
I think a dedicated "move mode" would be awesome, which, if map center is close to the track, automatically  highlights either waypoints or, if somewhere in the track, the closest trackpoint. Highlight by just hovering it.
In this mode, there should be a hand button, which toggles between holding and releasing that point.
And on releasing, if it was just a trackpoint, auto create a WP. Movement of points by moving map.

Just my 2c. Because I am convinced, moving points - doing track corrections - is most essential.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

33
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« on: December 18, 2018, 12:40:55 »
Complains about magnifier: I personally found it useful, which is why I do not see problems related to it. Any suggestion how to visualize moving point better? Btw. drag&drop works, it is just needed to move with point immediately, do not wait (otherwise long-click is performed and here comes bug).
The magnifying glass is a nice piece of software, it certainly produces an effect of amazement in the user when first used.
But for example, if you have to move the point on the top or left edges of the screen becomes uncomfortable because the lens leaves the screen, also happens rarely that the possibility of moving the point is not activated.
I prefer to select a track point and from the command menu choose move, then move the point and confirm the new position. In this way I use the zoom already present or the two-finger mode, it is much more precise and the procedure remains the same. This is just my point of view, for sure there are users with habits or maybe different devices that prefer the magnifying glass.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

34
Dear Locus-Friends,

I’ve spent lots of hours during the last months to collect, check and resample data. Just before Christmas I’m going to give you the result – several new DTMs – as a present:

Belgium:
http://data.opendataportal.at/dataset/dtm-belgium

Denmark:
http://data.opendataportal.at/dataset/dtm-denmark

Estonia:
http://data.opendataportal.at/dataset/dtm-estonia

Finland:
http://data.opendataportal.at/dataset/dtm-finland

Lavia:
http://data.opendataportal.at/dataset/dtm-latvia

Netherlands:
http://data.opendataportal.at/dataset/dtm-netherlands

Norway:
http://data.opendataportal.at/dataset/dtm-norway

Sweden:
http://data.opendataportal.at/dataset/dtm-sweden

Enjoy them, Sonny.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

35
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.35.+ ( 7. 12. 2018 )
« on: December 09, 2018, 10:40:16 »
I don't see the need for a message. If user taps a preset, he knows that he does it and he sees it is happening. No need to explain. I mean, time wasters could be everywhere. "Hello user, you are now entering the options". "Hello user, you are now leaving the Locus store".

No need for that. We're not Apple users!?!

---

I also think the confirmation question in Route Planner, "Do you really want to recalculate all" is unnecessary. I mean, until that point, I already expressed my wish twice. I don't need to tell about my will for a third time!  I always think "awww, menion, c'mon, really?" 😁
If user decides against it, he can already exit the prior window where you choose the (brouter) profile. And on top of that, there is Undo.

---

Is GPSies integration broken? Whatever I search for, I get no results.
I really wish for a good integration. Then with Locus' "favourites" functionality, I wanted to find all tracks around the map center, within a specific range, with specific properties, but the results weren't good. In a way gpsies api supports some stuff, but the presentation did not work. See link below.

If the Locus/Gpsies interface could support track search around map center... something common imo...

https://www.gpsies.com/home.do;jsessionid=7C4F3AA6D484C214F24D0C86762A3E78.fe3?trackTypes=jogging#14_51.28060196654988_9.484033584594727_hikebike
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

36
Troubles & Questions / Re: Gradient chart artifact when zoomed in
« on: November 12, 2018, 12:54:06 »
Ah understand. I believe this is a problem in the chart rendering system.
1) I plan to completely change it for a new chart system (already used for example in bottom panel in Route planner)
2) vertical scroll is an advanced feature, not too much used

Result for me is: small problem with really low probability to happen for most of the users and complicated task to solve. So sorry, this won't change. Thanks for understanding.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

37
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.33/3.34 ( 26. 9. 2018 )
« on: November 07, 2018, 07:13:14 »
Sure, it was named "experimental settings", but in the recent version we renamed it to "Expert settings". Because of this you most probably found nothing.

Just long click on main menu icon on the map and there is it.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

38
Troubles & Questions / Re: crash selecting Backup directory
« on: November 04, 2018, 21:21:19 »
Andrew, thanks for a log.
It is something weird in your version of Android. In log is an unexpected crash. Thanks to it I found more people stuck on this and also one hack that may help here. I do not know what exactly it does, but it should work :). So in next version ... thanks.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

39
Dear Andrew and Henk,

I have invorporated your ideas. Please find the new versions on my website (see on top).

Regards,
Bernard
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

40
Fitst look: impressive. Especially the navigation theme. So cleaned up.

Please add a .nomedia file to each base directory.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

41
Ah ok. Anyway, thanks Andrew for your time and if some track will have these incorrect times, send me exported GPX file. Thanks
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

42
This button should forward you simply to BRouter app, it do not download these files automatically.
Anyway for me, this button not work as well ... fixed, thanks!
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

43
Here is my way to reproduce the problem, works for me 100% in Pro and Beta version.

1. Start is to show a track from the database on the map.
2. Now tab on the track and select in “>” context menu “Route planner”.
3. Track is now open in “Route planner”.
4. Now directly open the “Route menu” and select “Clear planner”.
5. Answer query with “Clear”.
6. Now comes the empty “Route menu”.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

44
You mean this  ???



I also had this, but I do not have a way to reproduce it.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

45
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.32.+ ( 31. 7. 2018 )
« on: September 24, 2018, 09:37:04 »
Thanks guys ... new BETA RC2, give it a try.

And Andrew ... special, maybe Dashboard, do not exactly know, but I believe it will work now :).
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 8