Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - menion

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 16
16
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« on: May 01, 2019, 23:37:24 »
@CabrioTourer
thanks for dashboard file. It helped and issue found & fixed

Well, navigation in the app is somewhere ... in the middle. It works well in the case, you ride based on instructions correctly along the road. But once something happens, like a shortcut, change in directions, pause in GPS signal ... bad things sometimes happen.

I currently have priority in finishing updates in improved map system, anyway the number of complaints on navigation is growing so rather start now and improve it till the main season starts :).

@jajaballard
ah damn, thanks, fixed!
The following users thanked this post: CabrioTourer

17
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« on: April 30, 2019, 21:24:59 »
Understand Josef, I'll try to do it :). But just inform, that most probably in next Beta, this feature will be missing.
The following users thanked this post: Žajdlík Josef

18
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« on: April 30, 2019, 20:35:17 »
I had to remove this preference completely (from the quick switch and from presets).
The new system is internally completely different and I have to write this setting different (do now know exactly how yet).

I'll also try to create something more generic that cover also selecting specific settings of every theme as requested by many people over the help desk. It will anyway definitely take more than a day so little later ...

@erfi
ah thanks, I'll check it.
The following users thanked this post: Žajdlík Josef

19
Troubles & Questions / Re: Problems with navigating a route
« on: April 30, 2019, 14:52:06 »
Good day Jonny,
long post full of testing ... sorry for some bad moments you had with the navigation system.

In recent few days, I made some improvements, mainly related to "route priority" recalculation system. It will need some tests, but I think it looks good. If you are using beta versions, next Beta (end of this week) will include these changes.

I wrote about the coming changes here: https://help.locusmap.eu/topic/via-point-converts-to-sharping-pount#comment-69788 . Required behavior should be exactly what you need. App should with disabled "stick" option, try to push you back on route, but not force you to go back on some trackpoint far away behind you.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

20
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« on: April 26, 2019, 16:38:10 »
Hi guys,
firstly I wanted to test big changes in map system privately a little longer but seems it is enough stable, to put it into Beta test.

So new Beta version 3.37.2.9.

The long list of changes after an update like usually. Major changes are related to a big rewrite of how app work with map files, with scaling system etc. More about it in the related topic here. Version merges all changes I made in preparation to the new 3.38 version + half of year work on new map core.

Wish you nice coming weekend!

The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

21
Thanks guys for the feedback.

It is possible that it will be one big fail as Christian wrote (based on "field test"). There is always a risk. My intuition works correctly since begin and I believe, it will work again.

Well, from long term sustainability, there is no other choice. Anyway, we have something useful to offer, we try to have fair friendly style regards to price, communication etc. Market with hike/bike apps is big. Which is good. It a) learn users to use mobile phones for this kind of activity and b) everyone may choose. Win:win for all.

Options like bigger paid updates are a big technical problem, mainly because such system is not natively supported by Google Play. So subscription, which usage is globally highly growing, is the best choice.

And it's correctly only partially Andrew. Big companies are able to pay services from other incomes in their product portfolio. Google Maps are free for users because they are paid by income from ads etc. So yes, it is hard for small teams, because they are unable to offer "all for free" system. Fortunately, some people understand it and are willing to pay one/two beers for something that has benefit for them.

It's funny, but I understand the problem we discuss here well. I'm paying subscription for Medium, Google Play Music and few other services, but it took me also some time, till I realized that this is a perfectly logical and expected solution of "where to get the useful content/feature" problem :).

So I believe, all was said. I'll gladly answer any specific questions, but general discussion if the subscription is or isn't an ideal solution, is not useful. We globally confirmed in the whole team this week that it is a way we will go this year.

One summary: Locus Map Pro will be renamed to Locus Classic. It WILL BE still developed and updated! Huge source code base will be still shared between both versions, so fixes and changes in existing features will be updated in Locus Classic as well! So worries that app stop work in the near future are useless. Dot.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

22
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« on: April 23, 2019, 13:02:29 »
@john_percy
1. hmm point screen is really old and is on top of my priorities right after I get rid of map & LM4 stuff. In the moment you do a tiny change in "new point screen", the back button is equal to "save". The correct system is made in "Track edit screen" and the same needs to be applied here.

2. look on this from the opposite side: on the trip, you are in an interesting place you want to save. And the fact you play with map does not change anything on the fact, that you stand on the place you want to save.

There are situations where the first or second option is useful. Currently, Locus Map use GPS if available. If you do not like this behavior, feel free to change it in the settings > points & tracks > new point default location.

Bringing a paper map to the digital world is not always ideal I think. Here (digital world) we have one powerful information you miss on paper map: your location.

@poutnikl
do you know any other application that sort data by the center of the map? At least Google Maps definitely do not do this. Locus is a little special here.

---

Anyway in config.cfg exists parameter "gui_data_point_list_sort_by_gps" that should affect this. Expect fact it is incorrectly named, it also does not work as expected in all cases, heh.

So in the next version will be in "expert settings" new "Sort data by" settings for this. As I see, we had to discuss this long time ago. My bad > default parameter is already set to "map center", sorry :). So I'll leave it as is.

---

So based on the above paragraph, an important change to keep system same (no matter what I think now): sorting of content in the app will remain by default by "map center". Searching, to keep consistent, will use the same settings, so by default, it will use "map center" as searching center-point. Global agree?

@Andrew Heard
hmm, if possible: give a try next Beta version that will come this week. If there will still be this problem, should be again possible to share with me your current track database + current map coordinates you have? Thanks

@slarti76
hmm I see where this "toast" appears, but to fix it correctly, I need to know steps to simulate it. It should appear only when you try to do something and by some accident, no trackpoint is selected (so it should work only as a rare warning in case of a problem).
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

23
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« on: April 20, 2019, 17:57:08 »
Hello Tapio,
this issue happens when you move a track between folders and probably also when you do some advanced edits. In the next version, this should be fixed. Sorry for this.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

24
Discussion/New features / Re: Update of map core (2019)
« on: April 19, 2019, 08:19:59 »
Sorry for a delay, quite a lot of other work over week.

So back to the problem with themes. I do not have the best solution. Rewriting the whole system and do it "theme-centric" (renderer selected based on the version of the theme) instead of "map-centric" (renderer selected based on the version of the map) is quite a big change. And because everything slowly moves to use new engine & new themes, it looks to me like a waste of time.

SO new setup of system:
V3 maps: offer V3 (basic + locus-extended) themes
V4+ maps: offer V4+ themes

I belive this won't be a big problem. Users that use LoMaps, usually use internal themes or themes with "locus-extended" system. Users who wants to use OpenAndroMaps, usually use themes for these maps.

@zossebart
hmm two same theme selectors in one view do not make too sense, agree. The crash is weird anyway in the next version will be only one button to select the theme, so hopefully, it will help.

WMS maps: any map for test?
EDIT: wms sample not needed, I see one big problem, thanks!

@flyingman_ch
only a side effect of horizontal GPS filter you have enabled in settings > GPS. This thin line only displays real GPS coordinates received by Locus Map and may be used for comparing with tracks recorded with Track recording. I'll leave it there for a while for testing and remove it later. But do not worry about it, it has no effect on anything.
The following users thanked this post: flyingman_ch

25
@jerome
we were thinking about this. It is good old method in the world of desktop computers, but unfortunately, there is no simple method, how to do this on the Android platform. The only option is to always publish a completely new application on Google Play, which is a really really bad idea (may needs many changes in app, all addons stop work with every update, rating and reviews are lost on Google Play, all direct links on Google Play will be invalid and many many more problems).

@lor74cas
I see two disadvantages here.
- missing Free version (currently used by approx. 60% of active users!) and
- (mainly) need for current Locus Map Pro users, pay a subscription for next months. Which, as I wrote before, not what I want.

I'm absolutely convinced that is perfectly fair, to keep current Locus Map Pro working and updated for current paid users without the need for any additional payments.
Because of this, change of Locus Map Free to "freemium" application sounds for us still as the clearest and most flexible solution.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider

26
Zdravím, no ta chyba říká, že pro výpočet trasy mezi dvěma body používáš online službu GraphHopper a ta potřebuje k provozu internet. Takže možnosti:
a) nastavit ruční plánování bez pomoci nějakého systému pro výpočet, tedy jen kreslení čáry ( https://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=cz:manual:user_guide:tracks:planning#nastavte_rezim_kresleni )
b) mít aktivní internet
c) aktivovat offline router, pak internet nebude třeba ( https://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=cz:manual:faq:how_to_navigate_offline ).

Snad jsem pomohl, případně se ptej.
The following users thanked this post: De Ratoon

27
Understand. I still think it is manageable. It is very similar to Free and Pro now ...

Anyway, what you suggest is something, we may do later if there will be a problem. These are also our back doors. In case of total fail, there will still be "Pro" version and it's users. So we just refund subscriptions, cut few services and web pages to limit outcome and let's move on ...

Or, in the second case, all will work fine, I can imagine we hire a guy that will communicate with users and one by one (or some web page with the semi-automatic system) and we help them transfer to the new version with some benefits, probably based on the age of their purchase. And "Classic" will be put to ice.

But I still believe that it will be possible, without extra hard work, to manage both versions at once.

Well, look at it also from our point of view. The easiest solution should be to stop Locus Map Pro as is and create new Product "Locus Map 4" based on subscription. This was used some time ago by Sygic (if I remember correctly) and at least two apps I had purchased. This is anyway not what I want even it is the easiest solution. You/users expect lifetime updates, but this may hardly work on a long term basis. On the Android it works for games (with very short life-cycle per user) and for old apps that were created in times when no option for subscription existed (like Locus Map). But most of the apps try to use it and there is a really good reason for this ... maintainability.

So my solution is to give a try and keep Locus Map Pro (Locus Classic) updated, so users get what they paid for > working Locus Map application with all features they paid for.
The following users thanked this post: tramp20, tapio, freischneider

28
Thanks guys for positive and constructive thinking.

I believe there is no need to worry about the usage of BRouter. Firstly, there is nothing in my head except "It is really needed to integrate offline navigation better into app". Currently, using BRouter or offline GraphHopper is really cumbersome and I really want to improve this.

But
a) I did not discuss this with Arndt or Peter Karich (GraphHopper), so nothing is decided or "allowed"
b) I can't imagine limiting using of BRouter or GraphHopper, so no need to worry about

And maps.me as Andrew wrote is an interesting app. Marketing for sure do a lot, I was never able to understand this no matter what I learned :). Also simplicity and target group? Locus is far more specialized and "tuned". And well, made by a lot smaller team :)
And btw. 3x12€ is far more then we plan. I believe we will be somewhere between 10€-15€ per year, definitely no more.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider

29
Discussion/New features / Re: Update of map core (2019)
« on: April 06, 2019, 12:04:11 »
Hi guys,
one month delay ... not too bad I believe.

So who is brave enough to try the new special Alpha version? :)

How to:
Download 3.37.2.4 Map-alpha: https://asamm.myqnapcloud.com/share.cgi?ssid=04Wcqtt
Download 3.37.2.6 Map-alpha: https://asamm.myqnapcloud.com/share.cgi?ssid=0H4qEQX
Download 3.37.2.7 Map-alpha: https://asamm.myqnapcloud.com/share.cgi?ssid=0qcpBbS

Version is based on 3.37.2 + latest fixes + months of work on new "map core".

What to test:
Best: use as you usually do with the regular version.

I mainly try to achieve:
- better support for MapsForge V4 maps
- the good old Map manager that looks exactly the same as in current public version (it use different map system on background)
- improved suggested maps in "Quick map switch"
- better display of raster maps on devices with higher DPI
- correct work of overlays
The following users thanked this post: tapio, Magellan, Andrew Heard, erfi

30
Troubles & Questions / Re: Navigate a tracktrack disappears
« on: March 31, 2019, 12:36:48 »
Good day tapio,
really interesting workaround have to say :).
What you see is the correct behavior. The original track is hidden at the moment, you start navigation and instead, a new line with predefined parameters is visible on the map. If there are cases, when both lines are visible, then this is! the bug, because Locus Map then draws both lines (so additional CPU usage & battery consumption). I'll check it, but unfortunately, expect that original track really should not be visible at all during navigation.

I think that this idea from Andrew is what you need.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 16