Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - daled

Pages: [1]
1
Solved / Question about lock ICON
« on: January 19, 2011, 02:36:46 »
Sorry, but I don't understand what the Lock ICON does after reading the manual and playing a bit.

Could you elaborate about what is meand to "lock layer and allow to change zoom only in one layer"?  How do you display multiple layers?  I can switch between maps, but they do not appear to be layered.

2
Solved / Question about cached maps
« on: January 19, 2011, 02:32:23 »
I've read the "manual" and played around a bit with the offline maps but still do not quite understand how the caching of maps work.  The manaul implies that you need to explicitly request that a region be stored for offline use and give a set of four options for saving the map: 1) Online shared map (SQL) 2) Separate map (SQL) 3)External map (SQL) and 4) Older download map (TAR).

Even when I do not select any of these types explicitly the program appears to cache maps after I view them.  That is, I can view some maps, close the application, disable wireless access, start the application again and successfully browse to those areas that I viewed previously.  It is acting like option #1 is always enabled.  Is this true?  If so, does the cache eventually fill up?  When do maps get purged if not explicitly saved?

If you use option #2 (Separate map), how and when does the data for that map get used vs. the online map data?

By the way, I think Locus is great.  It is fastastic to be able to use multiple different map sources, switch between them and also have the map data availabe for offline use!

3
Troubles & Questions / Force Close when trying marker icon
« on: January 19, 2011, 02:17:15 »
Originally when I pressed on the little icon on the side of the screen (man holding flag) I was prompted to allow access to my google credentials. The first time I said "deny" because I wanted to understand what the credentials were for. After reading a bit I decided to try the feature (which allows the application to link with Google "My Tracks", correct?), but now whenever I tap the icon I get a notice about the feature being a beta feature and then the application does a force close.

I'm using version 0.9.3.

Pages: [1]