Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - john_percy

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
1
AFAIK the underlying map data from Openstreetmap does not record Open Access Land in England so neither LoMaps not OAM maps can display it.
There is an Ordnance Survey type theme available for Locus that mimics the OS display of Open Access Land but the areas it marks are not actually open access as far as I can see.
Also, to clarify, land being open access does not make wild camping legal in England and Wales without the permission of the land owner. (You might be more likely to get away with it there however.)

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: GusGF

2
Looks very good. I'm impressed. I did some work on an OS emulation and I recognise the work it takes!

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: karlchick

3
Themes - Vector maps / Re: [Theme] Voluntary UK
« on: May 09, 2020, 10:30:30 »
Thanks for the detailed report. I'm afraid late night fat fingers struck. Bugfix version in the first post now.
The following users thanked this post: Henk van der Spek, Andrew Heard

4
Themes - Vector maps / Re: [Theme] Voluntary UK
« on: May 09, 2020, 00:28:10 »
I have improved the rendering of unpaved roads in the Voluntary theme, available in the first post in this thread.
Unpaved roads of various kinds are shown by pecked edges. In general terms, the greater the pecking, the worse the road.
There is no doubt that Elevate/Elements shows far more detailed information and shows it well, but my aim in Voluntary/Velocity has been simplicity and clarity rather than the fullest detail available.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

5
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: April 24, 2020, 16:06:39 »
@menion
1. Geotagged photos were taken with phone camera and found by Locus in phone camera DCIM folder. Exactly the same behaviour for Locus quick photo point. It's the jpg icon that's the issue: Locus Pro has a middle sized version as well as a small thumbnail and full size attachment. (Edit: I've just found *one* of my photos works properly.)
2. If the blend mode doesn't work, either mend it or don't offer it! However I'd never had any problems until now. The biggest issue seems to be with Multiply blend though the failure to redraw was happening with SrcOver.
3. The "no base map" and "overlay disabled" messages only appear (sometimes) on first opening the map contents side menu immediately after loading Locus. A timing issue?


Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk
The following users thanked this post: menion

6
[En]
There may be a better way:
Put all the OAM maps and databases in a new folder that is not part of the Locus hierarchy. So, instead of <storage>/Locus/mapsVector/zzzOAM/ use just <storage>/OAM (the actual path of "<storage>" will depend on your device set up).
Now add that folder to the locations where vector maps are stored:
- map manager
- (+) button
- external maps
- (+) button
- select folder with OAM maps and data
- (✓) button
This won't work with a folder that is part of the Locus hierarchy (though I think that is a bug).
This seems to work for me. I think it ignores the OAM databases for reverse address lookup (address pop up on long tap) and with no Locus databases it falls back to an online search for that. This may be what some of us are wanting.
LoPoints search and display works with OAM poi data.
If you are interested could you please check and see if this arrangement works for you and let me know.

[De]
Es kann einen besseren Weg geben:
 Legen Sie alle OAM-Karten und -Datenbanken in einem neuen Ordner ab, der nicht Teil der Locus-Hierarchie ist.  Verwenden Sie also anstelle von <Speicher> / Locus / mapsVector / zzzOAM / nur <Speicher> / OAM (der tatsächliche Pfad von "<Speicher>" hängt von der Einrichtung Ihres Geräts ab).
 Fügen Sie diesen Ordner nun zu den Speicherorten hinzu, an denen Vektorkarten gespeichert sind:
 - Kartenmanager
 - (+) Taste
 - externe Karten
 - (+) Taste
 - Ordner mit OAM-Karten und -Daten auswählen
 - (✓) Taste
 Dies funktioniert nicht mit einem Ordner, der Teil der Locus-Hierarchie ist (obwohl ich denke, dass dies ein Fehler ist).
 Das scheint bei mir zu funktionieren.  Ich denke, es ignoriert die OAM-Datenbanken für die umgekehrte Adressensuche (Adress-Popup bei langem Tippen) und ohne Locus-Datenbanken greift es auf eine Online-Suche zurück.  Dies ist vielleicht das, was einige von uns wollen.
 Die Suche und Anzeige von LoPoints funktioniert mit OAM-Poi-Daten.
 Wenn Sie interessiert sind, können Sie bitte überprüfen, ob dieses Arrangement für Sie funktioniert, und mich informieren.





Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: tapio

7
Themes - Vector maps / Re: [Theme] OS Map (v3 maps)
« on: April 20, 2020, 14:37:33 »
Dash arrays can scale in v4 (possibly it's a v5 feature, available in Locus). Check my Voluntary Mapsforge theme as an example.

The following users thanked this post: karlchick

8
Themes - Vector maps / Re: [Theme] OS Map (v3 maps)
« on: April 20, 2020, 12:39:06 »
@poutnikl
Thanks for the tip
@karlchick
Congratulations! You've done a very good job of emulating OS maps.


Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: karlchick

9
[En] For online search I have the option of Google, Bing or Graphhopper. Offline search allows me to choose the database to search in, either LoMaps databases or OAM databases (which don't work as they have no address data).
But the pop up addresses come from the LoMaps database, so no search options. If Locus finds LoMaps data for the area, then you get the address. Locus seems to enumerate the available databases in a pseudo random manner. If it finds OAM data "first" you get only the map name as OAM poi data doesn't include addresses. If it finds LoMaps data first, then it works.
My guess is that putting all the Locus map and data files in one subfolder and all the OAM map and data files in another, and then renaming the OAM subfolder may allow you to game the system. It worked for me.

[De] Für die Online-Suche habe ich die Wahl zwischen Google, Bing oder Graphhopper.  Bei der Offline-Suche kann ich die Datenbank auswählen, in der gesucht werden soll, entweder LoMaps-Datenbanken oder OAM-Datenbanken (die nicht funktionieren, da sie keine Adressdaten enthalten).
 Die Popup-Adressen stammen jedoch aus der LoMaps-Datenbank, sodass keine Suchoptionen verfügbar sind.  Wenn Locus LoMaps-Daten für den Bereich findet, erhalten Sie die Adresse.  Locus scheint die verfügbaren Datenbanken pseudozufällig aufzulisten.  Wenn OAM-Daten "zuerst" gefunden werden, erhalten Sie nur den Kartennamen, da OAM-Poi-Daten keine Adressen enthalten.  Wenn zuerst LoMaps-Daten gefunden werden, funktioniert es.
 Ich vermute, dass Sie das System spielen können, wenn Sie alle Locus-Karten- und Datendateien in einem Unterordner und alle OAM-Karten- und Datendateien in einem anderen Unterordner ablegen und dann den OAM-Unterordner umbenennen.  Es hat bei mir funktioniert.







Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

10
Troubles & Questions / Re: Locus vs. BRouter, path confusion
« on: April 15, 2020, 09:39:59 »
I have my *.brf files in Locus/data/brouter/ and they work there for both Pro and beta.

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: PeterSpunkt

11
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: April 14, 2020, 01:36:55 »
I often need this feature. I like to draw my proposed hiking routes beforehand and many times the paths are either incomplete on the oam maps or fail to join up properly. If I allow the routing engine to compute the leg in that case I get either a ridiculously convoluted route or a failure. I don't like @menion's slightly shorter recompute technique.

I thought @lor74cas  was suggesting:
- long press on "Route type" button adds single "manual line" segment
- another press on "+" button adds current selected "Route type" segment
The following users thanked this post: lor74cas

12
Troubles & Questions / Re: Locus vs. BRouter, path confusion
« on: April 09, 2020, 13:51:45 »
You are correct, the set up is incredibly confusing now, due largely to Android security restrictions.
I also now have two folders of profiles. As I understand it:
- in Locus mode Locus can access its own internal Brouter profiles plus the ones in /brouter/profiles2. It then communicates with Brouter via an api and Brouter then writes a copy of the selected profile into _its_ system data folder (Android/data...) under the name of remote.brf and uses this to calculate a route.
- in Brouter mode, Locus relies entirely on Brouter and the settings in Locus cannot be used and are greyed out. Brouter accesses its own system folder directly and uses either its default profile/mode mapping or the one you can set up yourself in the Brouter app. So, this uses the Android/data... folder. As far as I can see this way of doing things has little to commend it now and is largely historic.

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk
The following users thanked this post: menion

13
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.44.+ ( 20. 2. 2020 )
« on: March 22, 2020, 18:33:31 »
I think this is a known issue if you have Automatic map loading turned on for offline vector maps. (Settings - Maps - Offline maps - LoMaps & other vector maps).



Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

14
Themes - Vector maps / Re: [Theme] Voluntary UK
« on: March 07, 2020, 15:12:15 »
Minor bugfix for Locus version in the first post.
The following users thanked this post: T-mo, ThomasD.

15
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: March 05, 2020, 13:54:46 »
What I'd like is for the map to recenter on the appropriate Via Point or Shaping Point when I tap its icon in the new Route Planner - or it could be an option on the triple dot overflow menu. Or is there already some other way of achieving that?

Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard, freischneider

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6