Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - menion

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 20
1
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.42.+ ( 5. 12. 2019 )
« on: December 07, 2019, 10:11:58 »
We discussed this quite a lot and nope. In this case, I need to figure out a useful-enough solution and replace them with something more consistent with the rest of UI.

I personally find "track recording" left button super useful as informative button > clearly see if the recording is running. Anyway on the bike or even during a walk, tap on these buttons is something really horrible experience. At least for me. And now with Android 10 and it is new "Gesture navigation", it sometimes ends with the completely closed app (because of two failed attempts that very recognized as "back" gesture).

I think in worst case, most of functions may be created as "Action". It means function that may be placed into functions panels or the main menu.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider

2
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.42.+ ( 5. 12. 2019 )
« on: December 06, 2019, 14:57:45 »
Nice, thanks. I believe that most of the users are happy that's I'm a little lazy and most of the tiny changes are not included. Many errors I found or are reported are work on a few minutes and these are usually not included in the list.

And based on automatic crash reports, this again looks like quite a stable and serious-bug-free version. Nice :)
The following users thanked this post: freischneider

3
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.42.+ ( 5. 12. 2019 )
« on: December 06, 2019, 08:19:47 »
Thanks Andrew, I've noticed it as well ... just a too late. The little stupid system when I always create notes for Free version and then copy&paste them to Pro version ... and this time I have a) forget to copy and b) forget to manually check if Pro version is generated correctly.
News are on the help desk (link in the first post).
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

4
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.41.+ ( 7. 11. 2019 )
« on: December 05, 2019, 13:55:51 »
Oki, it's in new 3.42 version in Expert settings. Thanks ;)
The following users thanked this post: tramp20

5
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.41.+ ( 7. 11. 2019 )
« on: December 04, 2019, 11:41:27 »
It is necessary to look at this from the point of view of the common user, not us who do some testing. From the user's point, the automatic enabling of GPS makes perfect sense.

So I see here two options.
- disable this automatization in Beta versions as I wrote before
- add extra options into Expert settings like "Enable GPS upon the start of guidance" with "true" by default

Is the second option needed, do you want it?
The following users thanked this post: tapio

6
Troubles & Questions / Re: Can I search OpenAndroMaps addresses?
« on: November 19, 2019, 13:57:07 »
Few facts

- LoMaps are not made primarily for an income. Their cost is computed based on hosting and distribution prices + small provision.
- because of this, we do not push users to download/purchase them. They serve as an easy way to get usable maps
- their pricing system is wrong, we know it and it will be changed in Locus Map 4 (not yet 100% decided how)
- offline search works well, but it is based on steps from city > street, not always usable. Current LoPoints are terrible (planned rework during Q2/2020). So I really do not think, that address & points have major effect that LoMaps are used.
- the problem I see is mainly that we did not yet open-sources our tools for creating points and addresses. Which I want to do, just time and priorities complicate it.
Howgh ...
The following users thanked this post: hans.castorp, casagi

7
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.41.+ ( 7. 11. 2019 )
« on: November 19, 2019, 10:27:47 »
I removed these zoom numbers some time ago for a moment, but on requests, I've added them back.

Seems it is time to remove them completely. "Zoom" as a number is generally nonsense, only what makes sense is how much of the map is visible, so "scale".

Zoom in the top toolbar display "Which map layer is used", not precisely zoom value as you know from OpenStreetmaps. Where the zoom value in this "quick zoom" match scale precisely. So in your case, you have a resolution like when you use any online map at zoom 13, but your vector maps here use data from zoom level 11.

Really really suggest to forget on zoom values and used them only for some bug reports etc. Otherwise, they have no usage mainly in the latest app versions when internally app does not work with zoom values anymore.

The following users thanked this post: tapio

8
Troubles & Questions / Re: Can I search OpenAndroMaps addresses?
« on: November 19, 2019, 10:01:05 »
Heh funny ...
The following users thanked this post: casagi

9
Troubles & Questions / Re: Can I search OpenAndroMaps addresses?
« on: November 19, 2019, 06:34:41 »
Hello,
1) no
2) no

None of these features is available or planned (for now).
The following users thanked this post: casagi

10
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.41.+ ( 7. 11. 2019 )
« on: November 10, 2019, 09:39:30 »
I do no like ideas that sound too interesting for me :)

New Beta version 3.41.0.1 ... just publishing.
- improved "Quick www bookmark", mainly added option to specify the preferred application
- in Track screen > waypoints > new option to edit points
- the first attempt to use Instabug for more easy automatic/manual (just shake with the device) bug-reporting for beta versions.

If there will be question on most complicated part of Locus Map, it will be for sure detail screen for points. The over-complicated old system (more than 5 years old code) with "view" and "edit" in the same screen and huge complexity. I need to split these screens and simplify ... and it will hurt, sorry. In this version is the first attempt simply just for track waypoints. More will come ...

EDIT: John, may you share a link you use? I'll check it.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

11
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.41.+ ( 7. 11. 2019 )
« on: November 08, 2019, 13:56:56 »
@tapio
hmm probably better this url, thanks. Anyway keep in mind, that I'm able to change it only in samples. In already existing definitions, this won't change.

And @john_percy, we talk about a nice small feature "Quick www bookmark".

Btw. this was recently improved and now supports also Android based intents, like mentioned google.navigation intent. So in this case, it may look like

Code: [Select]
google.navigation:q={mapLat},{mapLon}
which immediately starts the navigation app on current map center > very handy :).

Generally, it may be used to some kind of inter-application communication if the second app is able to handle "intents".

@balloni55
I know about this issue and was never able to find out a reason why this happens and also how it solves. Your method seems to cause this always, perfect! Still not sure why this happens, but will be solved in next bug-fix version, thanks a lot!
The following users thanked this post: tapio

12
Hello,
seems you try to compute route with an engine that requires internet. Not sure what exactly you try to do, anyway suggest to read about route planner in our manual, mainly this section that probably solve your issue.
The following users thanked this post: casagi

13
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.40.+ ( 2. 10. 2019 )
« on: November 07, 2019, 20:53:15 »
And another month behind us ... and winter is almost here ... seems to be a quite "quick" year for me this time.

The little sentiment, sorry. New version published *** 3.41 *** and available to all users already for a few hours. No serious issue is known to me after a day of public testing = so looks good :).

@lor74cas
Garmin is always too strict with handling its own format. I and many users spend many days to give proper support for Basecamp app so what you wrote is no surprise. On second side, I remember reports that FIT from Locus worked to some people also in Garmin Connect. So there maybe is something to fix.

@Christian
I never noticed this problem, but it will be definitely a little complicated to solve. Tracks stored in Locus Map database has, among others, stored small configuration how they may be loaded into route planner. Any of this config is not exported to any format. So to be able to properly fix it, I, unfortunately, need a) exact steps to simulate it or b) full backup of your Locus Map where will be points&tracks database so I'll be able to use the same data as you.

New version: https://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=6789.0
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

14
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.40.+ ( 2. 10. 2019 )
« on: November 01, 2019, 09:28:50 »
@tapio
heh, you have really sophisticated system, nice :)

@CabrioTourer42
thanks for the log, got it!

And "This app will not work in Android 11. Wtf." ... it will, just app will have to store data in private "android/data" directory => a) not shared between Free & Pro and mainly b) whole directory deleted when app un-installed  :(
The following users thanked this post: CabrioTourer42

15
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.40.+ ( 2. 10. 2019 )
« on: October 30, 2019, 20:24:04 »
Hi Christian,
partially understand. So just a few points
- The quality of the code is average. It always was. I never wrote tests and did all testing in the field and thanks to active users. Can't imagine different workflow for a complex app with a single developer.
- the way I respond: direct, open, friendly ... anything wrong? Point me on a problem to make my communication better, thanks.
- your wasted time: we communicate maybe 6 or even more years? I just hope, not all the time you spend on the forum and with Locus was not completely wasted ...
- problems & questions from bikemates: you may always simply forward them on our support, it is our problem, not yours.
- Platinum Eternity version is our chance to have more than three people in the team and also a chance for all to receive updates for more than a few next years.
- quality of the app based on subscription has to be definitely higher, so I expect less frequent updates and more internal testing
- If I do not miss anything, you did not reported crashes in RP or TE. You spend more time writing about it here and writing about "I won't do any logs" , then, in reality, take creating one log. But ok, the issue won't be solved until I receive from any other guy log, or information on how to simulate this problem.
For your information, I use the so-called "Crashlytics" system for automatic collection of app crashes. Currently, I see total of 9900 crashes during the last 30 days (557 different problems). I always solve the first 10 - 50 most often. So rare problems like yours are definitely hidden somewhere deep ... maybe 50% or more problems are specific for some devices. Most of them is currently unsolvable because they are in some system component and I spend days and days by searching how to hack it ...

Thanks all ... anyway, understand your points and no one force anyone to help fix bugs I made during my dark nights.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 20