Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - menion

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 14
1
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« on: April 20, 2019, 17:57:08 »
Hello Tapio,
this issue happens when you move a track between folders and probably also when you do some advanced edits. In the next version, this should be fixed. Sorry for this.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

2
Discussion/New features / Re: Update of map core (2019)
« on: April 19, 2019, 08:19:59 »
Sorry for a delay, quite a lot of other work over week.

So back to the problem with themes. I do not have the best solution. Rewriting the whole system and do it "theme-centric" (renderer selected based on the version of the theme) instead of "map-centric" (renderer selected based on the version of the map) is quite a big change. And because everything slowly moves to use new engine & new themes, it looks to me like a waste of time.

SO new setup of system:
V3 maps: offer V3 (basic + locus-extended) themes
V4+ maps: offer V4+ themes

I belive this won't be a big problem. Users that use LoMaps, usually use internal themes or themes with "locus-extended" system. Users who wants to use OpenAndroMaps, usually use themes for these maps.

@zossebart
hmm two same theme selectors in one view do not make too sense, agree. The crash is weird anyway in the next version will be only one button to select the theme, so hopefully, it will help.

WMS maps: any map for test?
EDIT: wms sample not needed, I see one big problem, thanks!

@flyingman_ch
only a side effect of horizontal GPS filter you have enabled in settings > GPS. This thin line only displays real GPS coordinates received by Locus Map and may be used for comparing with tracks recorded with Track recording. I'll leave it there for a while for testing and remove it later. But do not worry about it, it has no effect on anything.
The following users thanked this post: flyingman_ch

3
@jerome
we were thinking about this. It is good old method in the world of desktop computers, but unfortunately, there is no simple method, how to do this on the Android platform. The only option is to always publish a completely new application on Google Play, which is a really really bad idea (may needs many changes in app, all addons stop work with every update, rating and reviews are lost on Google Play, all direct links on Google Play will be invalid and many many more problems).

@lor74cas
I see two disadvantages here.
- missing Free version (currently used by approx. 60% of active users!) and
- (mainly) need for current Locus Map Pro users, pay a subscription for next months. Which, as I wrote before, not what I want.

I'm absolutely convinced that is perfectly fair, to keep current Locus Map Pro working and updated for current paid users without the need for any additional payments.
Because of this, change of Locus Map Free to "freemium" application sounds for us still as the clearest and most flexible solution.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider

4
Zdravím, no ta chyba říká, že pro výpočet trasy mezi dvěma body používáš online službu GraphHopper a ta potřebuje k provozu internet. Takže možnosti:
a) nastavit ruční plánování bez pomoci nějakého systému pro výpočet, tedy jen kreslení čáry ( https://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=cz:manual:user_guide:tracks:planning#nastavte_rezim_kresleni )
b) mít aktivní internet
c) aktivovat offline router, pak internet nebude třeba ( https://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=cz:manual:faq:how_to_navigate_offline ).

Snad jsem pomohl, případně se ptej.
The following users thanked this post: De Ratoon

5
Understand. I still think it is manageable. It is very similar to Free and Pro now ...

Anyway, what you suggest is something, we may do later if there will be a problem. These are also our back doors. In case of total fail, there will still be "Pro" version and it's users. So we just refund subscriptions, cut few services and web pages to limit outcome and let's move on ...

Or, in the second case, all will work fine, I can imagine we hire a guy that will communicate with users and one by one (or some web page with the semi-automatic system) and we help them transfer to the new version with some benefits, probably based on the age of their purchase. And "Classic" will be put to ice.

But I still believe that it will be possible, without extra hard work, to manage both versions at once.

Well, look at it also from our point of view. The easiest solution should be to stop Locus Map Pro as is and create new Product "Locus Map 4" based on subscription. This was used some time ago by Sygic (if I remember correctly) and at least two apps I had purchased. This is anyway not what I want even it is the easiest solution. You/users expect lifetime updates, but this may hardly work on a long term basis. On the Android it works for games (with very short life-cycle per user) and for old apps that were created in times when no option for subscription existed (like Locus Map). But most of the apps try to use it and there is a really good reason for this ... maintainability.

So my solution is to give a try and keep Locus Map Pro (Locus Classic) updated, so users get what they paid for > working Locus Map application with all features they paid for.
The following users thanked this post: tramp20, tapio, freischneider

6
Thanks guys for positive and constructive thinking.

I believe there is no need to worry about the usage of BRouter. Firstly, there is nothing in my head except "It is really needed to integrate offline navigation better into app". Currently, using BRouter or offline GraphHopper is really cumbersome and I really want to improve this.

But
a) I did not discuss this with Arndt or Peter Karich (GraphHopper), so nothing is decided or "allowed"
b) I can't imagine limiting using of BRouter or GraphHopper, so no need to worry about

And maps.me as Andrew wrote is an interesting app. Marketing for sure do a lot, I was never able to understand this no matter what I learned :). Also simplicity and target group? Locus is far more specialized and "tuned". And well, made by a lot smaller team :)
And btw. 3x12€ is far more then we plan. I believe we will be somewhere between 10€-15€ per year, definitely no more.
The following users thanked this post: freischneider

7
Discussion/New features / Re: Update of map core (2019)
« on: April 06, 2019, 12:04:11 »
Hi guys,
one month delay ... not too bad I believe.

So who is brave enough to try the new special Alpha version? :)

How to:
Download 3.37.2.4 Map-alpha: https://asamm.myqnapcloud.com/share.cgi?ssid=04Wcqtt
Download 3.37.2.6 Map-alpha: https://asamm.myqnapcloud.com/share.cgi?ssid=0H4qEQX
Download 3.37.2.7 Map-alpha: https://asamm.myqnapcloud.com/share.cgi?ssid=0qcpBbS

Version is based on 3.37.2 + latest fixes + months of work on new "map core".

What to test:
Best: use as you usually do with the regular version.

I mainly try to achieve:
- better support for MapsForge V4 maps
- the good old Map manager that looks exactly the same as in current public version (it use different map system on background)
- improved suggested maps in "Quick map switch"
- better display of raster maps on devices with higher DPI
- correct work of overlays
The following users thanked this post: tapio, Andrew Heard, erfi

8
Troubles & Questions / Re: Navigate a tracktrack disappears
« on: March 31, 2019, 12:36:48 »
Good day tapio,
really interesting workaround have to say :).
What you see is the correct behavior. The original track is hidden at the moment, you start navigation and instead, a new line with predefined parameters is visible on the map. If there are cases, when both lines are visible, then this is! the bug, because Locus Map then draws both lines (so additional CPU usage & battery consumption). I'll check it, but unfortunately, expect that original track really should not be visible at all during navigation.

I think that this idea from Andrew is what you need.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

9
Troubles & Questions / Re: Trouble with Swedish WMS maps
« on: March 29, 2019, 14:26:53 »
Hi,
I made some bigger changes in the core of Locus Map application during last months and most probably after two or three months, we would like to publish a bigger update where this limitation should be removed. So later will be possible to combine all possible maps together without limit. Give us some time, but I'm sure it will work ;).
The following users thanked this post: 2012

10
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« on: March 27, 2019, 13:18:19 »
Aaaaand, new version 3.37.2 is out :)
The following users thanked this post: tapio

11
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« on: March 25, 2019, 22:05:33 »
@LocusUser#1
weird problem. Seems in your database was incorrectly stored statistics for tracks, do not know why. So I've updated them manually. I've shared your track database (place it to Locus/data/database) over PM (personal message) here at forum. Let me know if it works correctly.

@tapio
issues related to LT web, or generally to some generic problems with LT in Locus (not directly related to some quick changes in beta version ... hard to decide, I know), post it here: https://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?board=60.0 . It should be useful to have this on the same place, mainly because I've made Milan responsible for whole Live tracking feature, so it will be easier for him to track this on simple place. Thanks for understanding!
The following users thanked this post: tapio, LocusUser#1

12
Troubles & Questions / Re: Weird compass behavior
« on: March 24, 2019, 17:27:34 »
Hmm, I think I'm able to simulate it.

Simply enable orientation of the map by GPS only, enable new location filter, GPS and rotation of the map. And I've got the same result as you. With disabled location filter, the map does not rotate (so correct old behavior). May you confirm it on your device, if this is the same issue? Thanks.

EDIT: it really looks like this reason, so consider as fixed, thanks!
The following users thanked this post: tapio

13
Troubles & Questions / Re: Provider id of non-custom map?
« on: March 22, 2019, 13:04:09 »
Good day,
unfortunately, due to the security of paid content, an ID of private maps remains private in app. Even if known, using them for the background of custom maps is still not possible, app refuses it. Thanks for understanding.
The following users thanked this post: 2012

14
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« on: March 20, 2019, 16:33:43 »
@Andrew Heard and @john_percy
guys, it is really necessary to live in the area with negative latitude or longitude? Next time, choose better and live in middle Europe ;). Thanks John, fixed :) (thanks to your backup)
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

15
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.37.+ ( 18. 3. 2019 )
« on: March 18, 2019, 14:52:24 »
Important links
- blog post about major version
- list of news of public versions

Versions
18. 3. 2019 - Locus 3.37.0
20. 3. 2019 - Locus 3.37.1
27. 3. 2019 - Locus 3.37.2
The following users thanked this post: Bucky Kid

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 14