Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - luce

Pages: [1] 2
1
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.2.+ ( 15. 6. 2021 )
« on: July 01, 2021, 12:29:09 »
Seems everybody is enjoying sunny/rainy weather (that is at least now in central Europe), nice.

Fortunately seems that I did not miss, because of the small holiday I had, nothing important. Fine. So enjoy summer  ;)!
The following users thanked this post: luce

2
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.1.+ ( 4. 5. 2021 )
« on: May 13, 2021, 09:28:25 »
I think that new track screen is a bad idea. First of all previously user has choice between small pop-up and roll down, configurable list of options or full screen info. Now it is gone. This huge, half screen has less usefull info than previously smapp pop-up. No info about distance at selected point of track or distance to the end of the track. This data are available four click later at track analyzator. New screen works very bad for me, especialy when accidently tap sany track on screen. Scroll up animation and map shifting is anoying, track planer hidden in 3 dots menu etc. Is there Any chance to get back choice between new and old track detail info?
While I enjoy the new screen, especially the quick availability of a track chart, I understand your point. Menion said he first wants to implement the screen and then think about customization. Imho the customization should have the following aspects:
  • Parts to show/hide
  • Order of parts (below title, of course)
  • Up to where the screen scrolls up initially
With that, you could customize a screen that only shows title and current position info initially, taking much less space, but still offers all the other info with an additional scroll.
Would you agree that'd be a solution?

PS: About the point info: I also proposed that the track chart should spell out the values for distance/altitude of current point in numbers. However, you only need one click on the icon in the lower left to get to the track point details, not four.
The following users thanked this post: luce

3
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.0.+ ( 30. 3. 2021 )
« on: May 04, 2021, 11:55:13 »
Topic ... is ... closing.
Damn, the list of news of the just-published version 4.1 (Locus Map Pro 3.52) is soooo long. Without the feedback here, it will be half that long. Hmm, less feedback, less work ...  :P
The following users thanked this post: luce

4
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.0.+ ( 30. 3. 2021 )
« on: April 28, 2021, 07:44:55 »
Looks good.
Menion, you know there's some people asking for customization of the new track screen, are you planning to do so, will it be possible at all?
For me, changing of order, hiding sections comes to mind. And initial visibility (vs. fully dragged out). Eg, one may only interested in seeing the tracks name and stats in the initial view, but not the elev. profile. You could allow to define # of elements which are in the visible area initially.
The following users thanked this post: luce

5
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.0.+ ( 30. 3. 2021 )
« on: April 27, 2021, 14:22:33 »
Hmm, it is partially an accident, because I've generated APK as a final version, not Beta, sorry for this.
On the second side, I'm just preparing a new screen for all places where the app work with tracks, so give me a day or two to finish and test it correctly. Thanks.
The following users thanked this post: luce

6
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.0.+ ( 30. 3. 2021 )
« on: April 15, 2021, 10:38:06 »
@freischneider
Hmm long title is not usual so I do not want to complicate it here. I've improved the track (and also point) metadata edit screen. So now, the long title will be clearly visible there. There you may also copy&paste it.

@Christian
"Platinum Eternal Edition"?  :) .. you may just publish of Locus Map 4 version? Is there any serious problem in current public version?

@luce
hey, ID works, perfect!! And issue fixed. So it will need another version ... thanks.

@slarti76
description: change is a side-effect of the change I made. In case, description will be longer than on 5 lines, it will be cut just to these five lines and the button "more" appears. It has also the big benefit that description in the main view is a simple text field. But with the "more" button, a big internal web browser opens! So in case, you for example copy&paste some description on the web, it will be perfectly working here together with styling, images etc. Same for points now!

And the copy of the description: thanks, fixed for points & tracks.

---

Problems in the second post. Very nice description, thank you very much!
Interesting is that exactly the same steps are done on my device display always on A device "push: 1, pushDelete: 1", which is expected for now. On the second device then "pull: 1, pullDelete: 1". Interesting.
I'll try to fix this now and making edits in the Route planner really as "update" of existing and not delete old and creating new. We will see if it helps.

The crash that appears after edit in the editor is the same as the crash that @luce reported. It Will be fixed, thanks.

@Andrew Heard
crash info is stored in the app and send when app starts next time.

Swiping point/track panel > you mean on the tablets where is attached to the right side right? I know I know ... tablets are still not well supported ...
The following users thanked this post: luce

7
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.0.+ ( 30. 3. 2021 )
« on: April 15, 2021, 09:00:42 »
Some thoughts on trackpoint/track view.

1. Stay in view... When I am in new trackpoint screen and tap the track at some position, I wish it would stay in trackpoint screen and display the selected point.
2. Intuitive toggle button needed, toggle between track screen/trackpoint screen.
3. In trackpoint screen I think there's a lot wasted space. The from start/to end information is important, but not initially visible. I hope for some user config/reorder possibility.
If we can intuitively toggle, there may be no need for the track/folder info in the trackpoint screen.
4.In Trackpoint screen, the statistics section with "To start/to end". If navigating a route, there would be the right place to display track distance and todo elev, relative from current position.
The following users thanked this post: luce

8
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.0.+ ( 30. 3. 2021 )
« on: April 14, 2021, 10:53:05 »
Thanks guys. I've probably found the error. Will try to publish a new version today (in the worst case tomorrow).
The following users thanked this post: luce

9
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.0.+ ( 30. 3. 2021 )
« on: April 11, 2021, 07:37:37 »
As for the track screen AND if I am navigating the track... I wish for more nav related information, like

distance from current position until selection
distance to end/from start (cur. selection)
pos elev todo... to end/from start (cur. selection)
The following users thanked this post: luce

10
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.0.+ ( 30. 3. 2021 )
« on: April 10, 2021, 07:54:32 »
Thanks for the feedbacks regards the new track screen. I won't comment this yet, but seems you are +- Ok with this change, fine :).

@balloni55
Placing magnifier and zoom lock as you wrote is of course doable. Any idea how to solve this? Btw. is it really a problem?

@Andrew Heard
- hidden "Map-screen content" is no option for me, sorry. This is the correct button that has to be always available. Many features are accessible only from this panel (and will come more probably).

@luce
Automatic sync has to be enabled for sharing a track over Url, it is necessary requirement. I'll check what you wrote, thanks.

Crash when opening tracks, hmm. I've of course did not notice such a problem. Will have to open more tracks probably :).

---

New version 4.0.2 released at the night. Should mainly fix troubles with the sync of tracks that some users suffer with.
The following users thanked this post: luce

11
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (pre-release)
« on: March 30, 2021, 07:28:18 »
Yes, we are finally official  :-*

I'll re-organize a few categories on the forum and the new topic for LM4 is here: https://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=7273.0 .

Well, what to say ... is Thanks enough? Maybe not, but it is probably not important. I believe, you here are mostly satisfied with the changes we did last in almost two years. Weather at least in central Europe starting to be really nice so I wish you mainly: stay healthy (families as well) and enjoy at least a little hike & bike adventures. It is something that connects us right?  ;)
The following users thanked this post: luce

12
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (beta)
« on: March 19, 2021, 15:32:15 »
Hi guys,
so the version is uploaded on Google Play and waits for some validation process. After that, it will be available as the final version over the Beta test channel, same as Locus Map Free before.

Unsolved topics from last discussion(s):
- accidental long clicks
- crashes on Samsung A11+ devices
- maps as a part of Presets

Final pre-release topic for Locus Map 4: https://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=7258.0

Final release data is 30. 3. We firstly wanted 23. but rather wait a week and do some more tests & fixes.

I was also testing Promo codes, because I want to give most of you codes to use Gold for some time for free as a small thanks for your amazing help here, but I have some technical problems with it for now, so it will take a few days probably, sorry.
The following users thanked this post: luce

13
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (pre-release)
« on: March 19, 2021, 07:23:23 »
@Andrew Heard
nope.
- LM Pro never had "inner" Brouter. If you talk about using an external BRouter app from Google Play, it remains possible no matter what version/premium plan you use.
- alternative routes were also not part of the Pro version.

Maybe you used some beta versions where this was enabled? But never in official production.

Family subscription: look, we almost two months computed expected cost on our servers etc. For a very long time we worked with only a single subscription. But it looks that running servers, LoMaps, LoPoints, all these stuff are so expensive, that the price can't be lower to be safe on our side. So increase? Yes it is. On our side, as well, a huge. Because of the price, we decided maybe a month ago, to create also a Silver tier. This is quite a cheap alternative for users without the need for cloud services and also a big risk for us.
The following users thanked this post: luce

14
Locus Map (4+) / Locus Map 4, discussion (pre-release)
« on: March 18, 2021, 13:00:40 »
The final phase in creating Locus Map, version 4.

Today/tomorrow will be published a final version of LM4 into the public Beta channel on Google Play of Locus Map (Free) app. All systems are now up and ready.

Because I've not yet decided how Beta versions will be published, for now, this will be a regular public version that requires an active subscription. So no features will be unlocked like it was till now.

Final status
Locus Map Free > will be renamed to Locus Map (version 4+)
Locus Map Pro > name remains for now as is (for a month or two) till we will be 100% sure, LM4 is stable and perfectly working. Then it will be rename to Locus Classic. Version continue in 3.5+ row.

Final prices and comparison of functionality if you are interested: here. Silver tier is close to the current Locus Map Pro, but gives few bonuses, so something like the "Pro+" version.

Pro users
Locus Map 4 = Locus Map Free - so it remains like before, you may have both apps installed at once (Locus Map, Locus Classic). If data are stored in the root of the internal memory, data will be shared without any worry (for now, in September 2021 things starts to be more complicated, thanks to Google)

Pro users anyway receive one year of the Silver for free or Gold with a 50% discount, which both compensate the price of the Pro version.

FAQ

How to use Beta versions
- how to. The text is old but the bottom part with "What to do to become a tester" is perfectly valid.
- latest version wins, so a new regular update will update your Beta version and opposite
- settings, data, subscription, all remain untouched no matter which version you use!

Discount on the purchase as Pro user
- essential is, to use the Pro version logged into Locus Store with the same account you will use in the LM4
- steps: open in Locus Map Pro > menu > Locus Store. Check in the side panel account
- start Locus Map 4 > menu > Locus Store and check, the account is the same
- if you do not see the "Exclusive" offer, immediately send me PM with your email, I'll check it

The following users thanked this post: luce

15
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (beta)
« on: March 15, 2021, 09:02:20 »
@0709
Hi Willy, I probably do not get all your points.
Anyway:
- your file imports correctly to me. I do not see any problem, not even with the GIF image
- the increasing size of the "Locus/data/import directory > I know, this is terrible behavior  :-[
- improvements in export/re-import > this will have to wait a little more, sorry

@dyoghenes
Why you would like to attach existing points (LoPoints) to track during track recording?

@luce
hmm, an interesting problem with the volume. I'm unable to simulate this issue on own device but found something in the automatic bug-reporting system. Seems you are not allowed to change volume in case, Do-not-disturb mode is enabled in your device. I've improved this method so it should only display some ugly warning, but app should not crash anymore. Give it a try in the next version, thanks!

@john_percy, @michaelbechtold
thanks for the feedback regards the "Overlay" system.

1. interesting idea. Currently, I see main problem that map theme is unique across whole app. So the button in the overlay dialog change also theme for the main map, not just for the overlay.

2. this seems to happen only when picking from "recently used" section right? Fixed, thanks

3. nice, thanks. Fixed

4. blend modes were reduced some time ago. I simply can't remove some of them based on discussion here. It needs some deeper analytics and check which are really not used. So maybe later.

5. good point and exact explanation John! Interesting problem. Technically, when Locus Map decide to set base raster map rescale to 200% (and vector maps remains at 100%), raster map simply can be used at X/100%. If I disable this "100%" option in selector, it may still cause a problems on huge-DPI devices where base rescale for raster maps may be +-300%.

For now, in the dialog will be at least visible base scale parameter for the overlay so it will be easier to see reason why overlay is not visible. I'll anyway think about better "solution".

@joeloc
there is still something wrong with your device. Please double check device settings, there have to be some more optmization settings. Don't you have any other app that do some memory optimizations?
My colleague Jan has S10 with A11 as well, and he does not have any issue with latest app version(s). Anyway as you pointed on topics in Android issue tracker, as well as many many topics on the internet, over-optimized Android devices are causing huge problems, not just to Locus Map. Unfortunately ...

Killing apps together with overcomplicated system internal memory/SD card is making me mad and forcing me to waste weeks of time testing and searching for hacks that may work ...  >:( :o

About heatmap: yes, I'm keeping denying it because I'm unable to simulate any problem. I was playing with your heatmap today during improving of the overlay dialog and now it works fast and without any problems.

I'm not against any improvements in loading of online maps, but only in case, it makes sense. Here, you use some russian server to hack Strava heatmaps. There is no reliability, no certainty that server will work tomorrow and I already received few compains from the map providers that ended with blocked custom user-agent for online maps in latest app version. So sorry, I do not plan any improvements here for now.

@tapio
ah, this is really nice usage of quick bookmarks :)

All existing add-ons should remain working. Locus Map 4 is for them (add-ons) still Locus Map Free, so no problems are expected.

@Raddino
thanks for the report. Exactly this was already reported by @balloni55 some time ago, but unfortunately I'm still unable to simulate this problem on own device ... weird  :-\.

@Rainman2de
this probably happens because imported track does not have any navigation instructions, so app simplify track a little bit and try to generate instructions based on it's shape.

Re-calculation after import: something similar is planned, but it really is not so easy task so it will take some more time. Anyway, my main question: why you import track from Komoot to navigate in Locus Map? Why do not using navigation directly in Komoot or plan your route in Locus Map?

And as @freischneider wrote, this topic is mainly for finalization of new LM4. Thanks for understanding.
The following users thanked this post: luce

Pages: [1] 2