Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Andrew Heard

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 13
1
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: November 27, 2020, 06:57:46 »
This most probably won't be related to LM4. When you install LM Free/Pro, the result will be most probably the same.

Is the Locus Map directory in the internal memory? If so, all should work correctly so this may only mean really some problem with DB.
The best should be to rename Locus/data/database to something like Locus/data/database-backup. Start the app and try sync, it should work. If all went well, you may send me your backup database directory, maybe there is any issue with it I may fix in the app. Thanks
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

2
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: November 19, 2020, 09:08:28 »
@balloni55
thanks for the info. The link on the second video in your comment is the same as on the first, is it correct?

@Andrew Heard
thanks for the backup, problem found and solved.

Track record button in presets > added.

Missing "hide" options for the bottom & right panels are currently intent to prevent accidental hiding of panels with the content. If you want to have it hidden, simply don't insert buttons there, as you did with your bottom panel.

Problem with the zoom-out > can't imagine a different reason than active "zoom-lock".



Green recording button > it is an optional feature. You may change it's behavior in settings to auto-hide (it was before) or hide it permanently if wanted (Andrew's dream).

Flashing ... I found it hardly visible, but quite useful during foggy days we had in ČR. Give it a try in the field ;). I also miss some animations here and there, so wish me a little fun ;).
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

3
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: November 16, 2020, 11:55:23 »
@Andrew Heard
hmm problem with one-click is really weird. Code that controls this is shared between all versions. In case you tap in the area where no map item is selected, it should simply toggle all panels (in case of enabled "Google-style").

If it really does not work, may you please share with me a backup of your settings? App currently tests if "are all panels visible". To decide if tap should hide or show all panels. And here may be a problem.

A little weird is that if this method has some problem, it should not work for double-tap as well.

Btw. did you noticed new settings in the panel for the recording button?  ;)

@tapio
quite a serious problem, thanks! There seems to be some issue with the deleting of the waypoints as well. I'll look at it, thanks.

Dark mode: yes, it will be in the final version. I hoped a few months ago that I'll have enough time to re-create a track screen similar to the points screen (so new charts as well), but unfortunately, it will have to stay as is till some 4.x update.
At least this minor chart issue fixed, thanks.

@balloni55
thanks, seems to be an unsolvable problem for me. It is HTML code that is in the GPX file I've downloaded from the web and this html text seems to be incorrectly written (missing "escaping").
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

4
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: November 14, 2020, 19:46:09 »
@Andrew Heard
if you selected Google control style, then 1 click should work as a toggle for the panels. It does not work like this for you?

@jonny.blue
Geocaching crash: Hmm seems I'm doing exactly the same steps as you, but no problem on my side. May I ask you to create a log right after the app crash? Thanks.

Cursors: also interesting. Does this happen all the time or just a one-time issue that was fixed by zoom in/out?
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

5
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: November 09, 2020, 08:55:15 »
Did you quote the wrong post? I was talking about the recording side bar and the selection of the recording profile, not about the (new) button.
@slarti76 - not sure now, it's all a bit confusing (sorry) - the (new) (red) button when tapped displays the recording side bar & recording profile right? Are we talking about different things?
Well, the button is new, but the sidebar isn't. And I was only talking about the sidebar, you were talking about the button, that's why I thought that your post was quoting me erroneously, as these are different topics.
And no, the side bar doesn't show the recording profile (directly), that's my point.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

6
Themes - Vector maps / [Theme] active RT5
« on: November 06, 2020, 18:48:48 »
Hello Locus users,

Here I provide you with my current theme, my goal was to imitate the style of the Outdooractive map, before there was already my HiLo theme which was then further developed as active RT3, but then I stopped working on this theme and have Instead, to develop a new theme based on the possibilities of the Rendertheme Version 5 and the Mapsforge maps in Version 4, for this I also tinkered a corresponding generator. You can always find the latest version of all of this on Github.
https://github.com/FrankSchoeneck/active_RT5

I tried to keep the look close to the original style from Outdooractive.com in the newer look 'OSM-Summer'.

This theme is not Locus specific and can be used in all apps and programs that use Mapsforge.

Update 15.11.2020
XML are now with structur and now all symbol sizes are set by symbol-percent tag.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

7
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: November 05, 2020, 11:09:37 »
This is probably not LM4-specific, but I only ever used the Recording side panel here:
Could you add changing of the recording profile to the panel directly? I find the detour via settings too complicated. Perhaps it can be a choosable widget with a combobox.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

8
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: November 04, 2020, 08:28:18 »
@slarti76
ah thanks. I wasn't sure if this notification is from Locus Map itself (my work) or not. I was supposed to learn German at the school as well, life should be so much easier :).

@balloni55
from where are these points? There are attached to any track?

@Andrew Heard
Opinion on the visibility of the recording button is quite individual. I'm still internally convinced that the permanently visible recording button indicates that there something happens with track recording. Missing button means = recording is not enabled for sure. And this is ideal > without any extra actions, I may immediately see if the recording is running or not.

But as you wrote ... "park it" for a while. Some more field testing, more people & opinions > change may come ;).

And "bigger fish to fry"  :D ... I prefer tofu ;).

---

"Current" text ... @Michal (responsible for all texts in Locus world), think it is correct. I'll involve him into this discussion.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

9
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: November 02, 2020, 18:12:03 »
(I'm not paying attention to LM4, but do get these posts on my RSS feed.)

"Turn on/off getting location" is sometimes using the wrong word in the current Pro as well, and has for some time.
1. View satellites while "getting location" active.
2. Turn off screen
3. Turn on screen, unlock*
-> "Turn on getting location" while actually getting location.

(* Two devices with Disable screen lock = basic)
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

10
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: November 02, 2020, 10:03:45 »
@balloni55
thanks for the feedback and tips!

- directly editable coordinates: editing of some point content that was working in the previous version caused quite a lot of dev pain to me, so I still try to avoid it. It already partially works for GC Vote (which is also some kind of edit of the point). I'll keep this in mind.

- indication of clickable trackables, waypoints, and also bigger click area for logs > I'll look at it

- view complete listing without "more": better solution than the current?

- switching between listing > waypoints ... hmm good point. So some link from the listing to waypoints should help here, right?

- white track recording window: hmm, it happens again? Damn. Did not noticed again, but I'll try to pleay with it.

- "always on second start" > like you start recording, stop and then start again?

- text "Right panel...", yes, it will need some more checks. Also, the text of the settings itself will need an update :).

- refresh of the logs: I'll fix it, thanks

@Andrew Heard
"style of track recording panel" ... heh, this settings no longer exists. Removed, thanks.

Recording button: is there any more important button then the button, that clearly informs about running recording? Understand about redundancy ... is it really a problem? Expect you usually hide the side panel with the recording button.

"Use magnifier", same with second "Zoom lock"... these two functions were in old LM in the bottom panel and I'm still not sure what to do with them. Agree, the current solution is not ideal. Most probably, they will be only available as an action button in functional panels directly on the main screen, not in the menu > more list.

Sync: "from a long period of time" > how long? Not too many users use this feature and it sometimes happens, that server is put to "sleep" and take a while (30 - 60 sec) till he "wake up" :). Anyway no data are sent twice, but it is possible that the app sends some metadata about all data to verify, nothing has really changed, so it makes take a few additional seconds.

"Turn on getting location" ... weird, never saw this text wrong. Does it happen always?

"rescale value" from config.cfg ... well, It is not yet implemented. What still works are only some components that are shared between Classic and Map version, sorry.

Missing text in auto-zoom settings ... hmm, thanks. One more reason to pull older Galaxy S2 to verify lower resolutions ::)

Improvement in auto-zoom: this is already "partially" implemented. During navigation, when you get closer to your next navigation point, the app increase auto-zoom settings for up to an additional 20%. I remember I wanted to test this behavior a little more but never did it ...  :-\

@freischneider
hmm, like that this recording button should be visible on the screen permanently, or with a possible "auto-hide" option. Hmm, this would solve the "duplicate button" problem mentioned by Andrew, an interesting idea, thanks.

"Green dot in recording button" to indicate currently running recording ... interesting idea, I'll think about it, thanks!

@tapio
all tasks related to the detail of the track (track screen) ... later. One of my next tasks will be a new screen for tracks, but no sooner than next year. Anyway, no feature was removed > delete of multiple attached waypoints was never implemented if I remember correctly.

Seems you are a "tasker-master"  :D

@jonny.blue
thanks, I'll check ... but I was sure it worked well, hmm

@michaelbechtold
hmm, weird. Sorry, I do not have any experience with it, but LG G5 is definitely a supported device. Isn't there installed some other Locus Map Free version?
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

11
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map - cloud/sync server
« on: November 02, 2020, 08:56:45 »
@slarti76
sync of icons: it should be doable over basic sync of zip files and it probably ends like this, but I would rather discuss this with the rest of the team before I'll post some more info.

Anyway, custom icons & attachments are currently not synced, we know about it, we consider this as a limitation and will definitely work on it with higher priority as the next step.

@Andrew Heard
"More info" button > well, right. More info is not really "more info". Some stats may be useful here, to see exact progress...

Duplication: hmm, there had to be something that caused this problem! Your first and second sync were from the same device? There was no restore of the old manual backup between sync?

@jonny.blue
Sync of the visibility: sync system is not just between the device, but also for the web platform (web planner). As @slarti76 correctly wrote, all these "devices" are most probably used for the different use-cases. Automatic sync of item visibility for the web means always load all visible data = overkill for the web. It will also cause a lot more synchronization operations because not just editing of the point/track will trigger a sync, but also it's simple change in the visibility. I see a few more problems that may come with it. So sorry, no, it is not planned and it brings a lot more negative effects than benefits.

Anyway, as usually ... time and usage in the field may reveal unexpected results/usages that were not visible from the sofa :).

@michaelbechtold
I remember this proposal well. We discussed this for quite a long internally but were not satisfied with any possible solution based on generated hash from title/content etc. So yes, we are going the way, where the first used device should be a master device (it is automatic for new users, existing users have to be a little careful) and all other devices get a choice in updated UI, if they want to keep & merge current data or want's to remove local content completely and pull data from the server.

If we prepare UI for this "flow" correctly, it should be perfectly safe and 100% accurate. I'm anyway curios, what happen to Andrew because data duplication should never happen.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

12
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
« on: October 30, 2020, 06:59:29 »
@ Andrew Heard
Please post LM4 topics here.  https://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=6817.0
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

13
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.49.+ ( 15. 10. 2020 )
« on: October 29, 2020, 12:42:11 »
@john_percy
routing data for integrated BRouter now needs to be download/updated manually. As I wrote before, I'm currently with @radim work on system integrated also in Locus Map.

@Andrew Heard
Ah sure, sorry, I wrote address just from the head without verification. "Locus/router/profiles2" is the correct path. During the update, the app only copied old existing profiles from Locus/data/brouter directory to new Locus/router/profiles2, nothing more.

Crash: nothing un-usual on the GPX file.I've tried it and no problem, so please if this still happens, create a log by common method. Thanks!
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

14
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion
« on: October 27, 2020, 12:01:12 »
14 days without answers, sorry!
Meantime I finished geocaching part of the new point screen and the option to flip the whole main screen layout. Currently, I'm working with Radim on our own BRouter data generator that will be integrated directly into the app, probably in a similar way to downloading elevation HGT files.

But back to discussion ...

@tapio
As I use these popups, width of the popup is partially defined in the system. Anyway, I'll look on it.

Problem with the stop of recording over intent: hmm, I'm checking code and all seems correct. You may check on your own if at the moment you send intent, the required recording profile is really active (highlighted in the track recording settings).

Name of recording profile: what you highlighted is profile base activity selected when creating a profile for once and forever. It is used in many places and affects mainly the compute of energy, activity preselected during saving, an icon of the profile, average speed computed during recording, etc. So if you want to change it, create a new profile.

Mentioned 3 problems
a) are you sure, the profile is not changed over presets?
b) even the start of recording does not work? You wrote only about a "stop" before.
c) will have to verify

Distance along active route: very wanted task, I know. Doable with a new LM4 point screen. Remind me this once LM4 will be out and I'll return from at least a 14-day vacation  ;D, thanks.

@john_percy
I also rarely notice this issue, but never at the moment, I sit behind the computer :). Not a serious problem and I'm aware of it, so it will be solved one day, for sure  ;)

@slarti76
I'm not aware of any problem with the auto-save feature. Only how this may happen is that you have an active different profile at the moment of the save operation. It is important to keep in mind, that profile may be changed during recording (manually of for example over "Presets").

@T-mo
1. good point. Added.
2. this is a little more complicated. Without simulation, I can't see the option to fix it. It looks to me like something specific to your device, because I never saw such a problem. Probably the best suggestion: "don't use this feature"  :-\.

@PeterSpunkt
LM4 beta is a version created from common Locus Map Free, so it may live side-by-side to current Locus Map Pro. Anyway, it is suggested to create a manual full backup over "Backup manager", just for sure. Both versions share most of its data, so to be safe ...

@jajaballard
then is a small white floating button with all available options that are related to maps, so also change of themes. If you had previously "theme button" directly visible on the screen, this feature is not available. So now it's two clicks instead of one to get to the selection of themes.
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

15
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.48.+ ( 28. 8. 2020 )
« on: October 19, 2020, 11:09:06 »
Will there be a 3.49.xx topic? I really like to read about the changes before installing/updating/  or am I the only one who does not do automatic updates. Espescially never before a hiking holiday!
The following users thanked this post: Andrew Heard

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 13