Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - tapio

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
1
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.39.+ ( 25. 7. 2019 )
« on: August 04, 2019, 15:23:37 »
@tapio
hmm using OAM for some days and did not yet notice any problems, but thanks, I'll be watching it.

Main menu: menu, as well as the whole layout of the main screen, is in process of a redesign for new Locus Map version. I'll keep in mind huge screens. Anyway recording panel will remain as is, so I've added two more possible number of items here.

@Mips
no, no change.

@Christian
And when you now insert description, after save it is still empty? Are there exact steps I may follow to simulate it?
The following users thanked this post: tapio

2
Hi tapio,

I am no Huawei user but I found this or this in Locus Helpdesk.

And you can check this page or this page.

c.s.g.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

3
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.38.+ ( 22. 5. 2019 )
« on: July 03, 2019, 08:53:16 »
@tapio
hmm really weird. I do not see a problem in the app, but on a few places, I've set to completely "ignore case", so hopefully it will help here.

The system is pretty simple ... for every vector MapsForge map Locus finds, it replaces it's ending from ".osm.map" to ":osm.db" and search for this file. It does not matter what map version it is.

And complicated usage of POI.db? May only confirm. It is one of the top priorities to a more radical change in next months.

@michaelbechtold
nice. Just tested it and indeed, Arndt correctly returns required time parameters for segments between route waypoints!
The following users thanked this post: tapio

4
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.38.+ ( 22. 5. 2019 )
« on: July 01, 2019, 22:55:11 »
Naming convention is: <country>.osm.map and ...osm.db
The following users thanked this post: tapio

5
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.38.+ ( 22. 5. 2019 )
« on: July 01, 2019, 14:40:22 »
@tapio
I do not agree. Some value "30 s" has nothing to do in UI. Firstly, no one should be interested in such value. The app works or not, that's the point. I told you this to give a better overview of what happened under the hood. And secondly, I really plan to make this value more dynamic, so there won't be a single "30-sec" value.

POI database should work the same, no matter which map version you have. Do you have correct naming, same as your map?

@Graf Geo
does problem with recalculation in the field happen also when the screen is on? Because if you have Android 8.x, there is a possible problem on some devices in case, the screen is turned off.

@Mips
agree that fake GPS or any similar app is definitelly better and more robust system how to test. But, a lot more complicated (more steps).

Travel time: you mean travel time at bottom panel? In case of GraphHopper routing, times on route segments is estimated on their server. From my experience, they are usually quite precise.

In case of BRouter, there are no time and Locus Map know absolutely nothing about the route itself (surface, city/highway, ...). Just a routing type and is able to compute elevation. So app internally records your traveling speed during track recording or navigation for known activity and then use this average speed for a time estimate. Time is something like an "average" from the last 60 minutes. So these times are usually fine for a hike, where your speed is around the certain average value. In case of a bike, it may be worst mainly if you change a surface or bikes. In case of the car, these values are usually useless, mainly if you combine hour of a ride over the city and then you plan route over highway :). Hope my explanation is clear.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

6
Updated version 2.1 in the first post, please update. Unpack with overwrite.
Improved: streams, rivers, embankments, railways and more. Added traffic lights.  (84 changes)
The following users thanked this post: tapio

7
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.38.+ ( 22. 5. 2019 )
« on: June 27, 2019, 12:40:31 »
Hmm, this is really weird ...

New version 3.38.7 on Google Play (just uploading). I believe I've found a reason why this happens but needs verification from anyone, who has this problem of course. Thanks
The following users thanked this post: tapio

8
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.38.+ ( 22. 5. 2019 )
« on: June 22, 2019, 09:00:08 »
 ... really funny is that: how it works in recent version is exactly the same as it worked in previous (at least from the developer point of view) except one tiny detail ... the map immediately displays (zoom in/out) result of "magnify" change.
Well ... fine, one part of bigger problems solved, uff :)
The following users thanked this post: tapio

9
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.38.+ ( 22. 5. 2019 )
« on: June 22, 2019, 08:31:35 »
@locus.sv@heime.org
then there have to be something, that slow it down. A huge number of points, tracks visible at once?

@jonny.blue
I'm aware of this issue, sorry for this. Needs more work and testing, so till next 3.39, I'll for sure look at it.

@T-mo
current values are chosen to have as close as possible style of raster and vector maps. So in most cases, texts should be the same size for same zoom levels etc. Of course, it highly depends on the map (mainly raster) theme. So I would like to keep it simple.

Map themes ... as I wrote, Locus Map checks for xml files in one subdirectory level. You placed xml files into second subdirectory level (relative to "_themes" directory), so Locus Map is unable to find it.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

10
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.38.+ ( 22. 5. 2019 )
« on: June 20, 2019, 19:47:03 »
In MF4 maps, texts such as town names are frequently truncated at tile boundaries on first display (moving the map to the location, changing map) but display correctly on zooming out and then in, or vice versa.


Sent from my moto g(6) plus using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: tapio

11
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.38.+ ( 22. 5. 2019 )
« on: June 20, 2019, 14:01:20 »
*** Beta 3.38.5.1 with a bunch of updates & fixes *** (not just problematic navigation).

Quick test who is interested. If no serious problem, the release will be tomorrow, so on weekend riding, app, mainly it's navigation, is usable again.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

12
Tiramisù as OpenTopoMap

for the topography, and exploration on the maps

only for V4 maps!

For V3 (lomaps and other)  TOTM 1.9.2 - > https://forum.locusmap.eu/index.php?topic=6027.0

in the future it will be slightly improved:
  • all water except springs (rivers, streams, lakes, canals, etc.)
  • all railway and tram
  • all labels
  • setting priorities
  • streets, driveways and younger roads in the direction of greater elegance (at the moment - too thick)
on my smartphone 282 ppi, 320 dpi

It also works well on Oruxmap, Cruiser, and most likely in other mapsforge-compatible programs
(tested in Oruxmaps 7.4.22, Cruiser 1.7)



Map: ESRI satellite;  Overlay 85%: OAM Ural ML;  Layer "Terrain" in the theme is OFF
Waiting for comments and constructive criticism.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

13
Themes - Vector maps / Re: [Theme] Voluntary UK
« on: June 04, 2019, 16:08:08 »
Updated in the first post for Locus 3.38+ (new rendering engine).

Note if you have installed any of the interim versions of this theme, please uninstall and delete them by means of a long press in the Locus theme selector.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

14
Versions / Re: [APP] - version 3.38.+ ( 22. 5. 2019 )
« on: June 04, 2019, 01:42:59 »
An observation, not a bug or request. For each long ride I keep a record of device power consumption. I have an exact set of apps running, mainly just Locus, firewall, no wifi, no data, track recording, no routing, display off. Until approx. 3.37.2 in April power consumption has been ~2.5 to 3% per hour. This has been consistent over 100s rides over last few years. But since 3.37.2 I have noticed power increase to 3.0 to 4.5% per hour. I only have 5 long rides of data yet so not 100% confident. And maybe this is the price to pay for improved map rendering. But I just thought I mention my experience anyway as power consumption on longer rides is quite important to me.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

15
How does downgrading work? I tried e. g. 3.37.2, but it cannot be installed, see attachment.
Did you uninstall Locus Pro before?
This is likely the mechanism in Android which prevents downgrading installed Apps.
The following users thanked this post: tapio

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6