Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - michaelbechtold

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
1
Troubles & Questions / Re: Recording the track---problem
« on: August 04, 2021, 22:40:14 »
@michaelbechtold
I'm checking the docs and I do not think so ...

It is still the same list of possible exceptions. Violation of this usually detects some robot that blocks the app. Emails on support usually end on people who are not skilled enough ...

It is another kind of "user protection" that only complicates life ...
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

2
Troubles & Questions / Re: Locus Map Gold is too dark
« on: July 28, 2021, 08:32:02 »
Hi guys, the discussion here is not necessary.

As I wrote, I'm well aware of this issue. I've compared all major parts of LM4 and LM Pro that differ and can't find any reason why it should affect screen dim. I've also updated all possible libraries that the app use and still no difference. It has to be some issue on the Samsung (if on all devices or not is not important now), but it has to be somehow connected to anything in the LM4 app ...

So for now, I blame my code, but ...
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

3
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.2.+ ( 15. 6. 2021 )
« on: July 08, 2021, 15:58:23 »
@michaelbechtold
Damn, this seems to be weird ...

"Swipe" in the list of recently active apps, does not always have to completely kill the app, so do not rely on this!

Slowdown during the start > there should be visible some text, why is app paused. Maybe it waited on finishing automatic backup, maybe it was stuck for a while by testing filesystem permissions, there is really a lot of tasks that happen and if the device is busy with some other tasks at this moment, it may take a few seconds more ...

Only what I may do about recording, is adding some more logs to the app. So in the next Beta (tomorrow), please enable the "Logs to file" option in the hidden menu (long tap on the main menu) and after this problem happens, send me the last log where should be more info, thanks.

@ADiet
hmm, I do not see any crash for your ID  :-\
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

4
https://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php?id=manual:user_guide:maps_settings&s[]=global&s[]=map#pre-load_global_map

https://www.openandromaps.org/en/downloads/general-maps


Settings > Maps > Advanced functions > Load world map > Select personal map.  (Example select downloaded W1-10- J70)
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

5
Troubles & Questions / Re: Incorrect altitude data
« on: June 07, 2021, 11:52:38 »
@ Sonny
I actually tried to download the N51E011.zip directly to my phone when i got back from the hike (from your DTM Germany 1" v1 folder), but it didn´t show up in the list. I think my phone had a problem to display the google drive content correctly, as it went from N50 straight to N54 in the list, with no N51 Files. I just opened the folder on the computer and all the files are there.
I´ll have a look at the files when i get home and download them on the computer this time instead of trying it on the phone.
Thanks a lot for your reply and for all your hard work to combine the elevation data from all the different sources and most of all for sharing your data with everyone. I´ll make sure to send a donation to you.
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

6
[DE] - deutschsprachiger Forumsbereich / Re: BRouter Version 1.5.5
« on: April 27, 2021, 20:52:34 »
Bei Locus werden jetzt auch die Straßen Namen angezeigt. Ich nehme mal an damit die von BRouter kommen. Bei einem Test ist mir aufgefallen damit die Namen von Autobahnen nicht angezeigt werden. Ich weiß damit BRouter nicht für Auto erfunden wurde aber einige benutzen es dafür. Ich lese da immer wieder darüber. Ich selbst benutze da Maps.
Aber ich will auch den anderen helfen. Ich denke es liegt daran damit BRouter hier den Namen aus OSM auswertet. Aber bei Autobahnen wird hier ref = A6 benutzt. Vielleicht müsste man das ref auch auswerten.
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

7
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.0.+ ( 30. 3. 2021 )
« on: April 20, 2021, 08:03:45 »
ROUND TRIP:
I used to play with the "round trip" feature, but after the first wow effect I decided it was absolutely useless. Who would ever rely on a random rotation function around a point?
It is not possible to define preferences of any kind, be they historical, naturalistic or cultural, so rather than relying on a random function my choice at a crossroads would be that of the road I like best, at least it would be based on my choices.
Unless real utility can be found for this feature, integrating it with the options I wrote above (and all the complications of the case), it should be removed, useful and solid functionality better than things like this that do nothing but generate doubts in users.
Those who use a GPS and map device usually want to rely on certainties, not on a roll of the dice.
But this is just my thought, maybe someone else found it useful, but for now I haven't seen a single post.
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

8
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Routing over online/internal BRouter
« on: April 17, 2021, 13:07:10 »
Hi,

I got the "Gold Abo" and did some tests with the new Routing System.

cool stuff, but.....

so here's my list of issues where I think it's not yet golden but a little rusty:

  • I had a hard time to initially set-up Locus to use the external SD card. Found the panel to switch standard directories. "router" missing in the list of detail directories. Switching the global Locus directory to the SD-card worked. But afterwards my first attempts to download routing data files failed with only a generic error message ("operation not successfull"). Very annoying. After copying an initial rd5-file to the {ext-Sd}.../router/segments4 directory subsuquent downloads were successful. No idea...
-
  • "fast recalculations" do not work. With more then 50km routed distance ahead, automatic recalculations are just not usable.
-
  • There's no way to stop a (long-)running route calculations. Don't know if there's a timeout. But with the routing library integrated my expectation was that there's an explicit "stop current route calcilation" funtionality, for the navigation mode as well as for the route-planner. Currently, the only way to stop a long-running operation is to restart Locus Maps
-
  • The online LoRouter does not recognize nogo-areas. Excpectation is that online/offline behave similar. At least for the functionality that is offered to the user, like nogo-areas. For profile modifiers ("is-wet", ..) they are not offererd in online mode, which is good, but gold-standard would be to have them working in online-mode as well.
-
  • I'm not completely sure if the current heading is considered in recalculations. I did some tests but did not found positive proof that it is. Expectation is that it works in favor of going straight ahaed and using the next junction, instaed if doing a u-turn

Don't get that wrong. Great work overall and I would like to switch to the integrated offline-router for my personal use. But missing "fast-recalcluations" is a showstopper for me. I would be happy to help get that working.

regards, Arndt
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

9
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Web planner / portal
« on: April 09, 2021, 12:00:00 »
Sonny has provided 1" LIDAR based DEMs for most of Europe. And size difference is not some %, but a factor 8. That is costly, because most of the Locus users are from those areas in Europe ...
I think mountain freaks do know Sonny anyway, and know how to put those 1" files in place. Don't they?
Surely an old nerd, mountain enthusiast like me, knows how to do it on his phone, but it's not for everyone. Nor can I do anything about the data in your cloud, or maybe I can ?  ::)
"That is costly, because most of the Locus users are from those areas in Europe ..."
I can also read it this way: if there are many users who will benefit from it, then the cost may be even more justified.
But of course I see things as a user, I understand that as a company you need to evaluate costs and benefits


The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

10
Locus Map / Re: [APP] - version 4.0.+ ( 30. 3. 2021 )
« on: March 30, 2021, 14:02:47 »
Hi, I've not yet tried. I firstly need to spend huge amount of time studying little overcomplicated system how app work with file system since A11 and after that, I'll decide if something like this is needed.

Anyway, I expect it won't be necessary. The app will simply live in the own private directory in the internal memory/SD card. Some read-only data should be still accessible from external sources like vector maps or SRTM data now. The big risk is data loss ... automatic backups to the cloud + Premium Gold are savers. There also should not be a need for two app versions (Free/Pro) so life should be a little easier ...
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

11
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (pre-release)
« on: March 26, 2021, 10:26:12 »
@michaelbechtold
correct, "simplicity vs advanced features" is the battlefield for many years :).

So, why deviate here? Because what you suggest about selecting what to sync
a) completely break synchronization system > your data will partially be synced, partially doesn't!
b) even if it may be doable, anyone has to do it, maybe an even bigger problem :)

I've at least created "Compute plan" option in the re-visible "Advanced options" in the sync screen. This will start real sync, but right after the app knows what will happens next, it stops and prints the result on the screen. So you may see if anything will be deleted etc. At least something for now. This, I believe, is a good concept, currently with terrible UI presentation. Something to start with ...

@Frivold
Gold, perfect :)
Elevation data in Norway > ah, fixed, the limit was too strict.

@tapio
may you share the track(s) you try to import? Thanks

LoMaps on MapsForge V4: we wanted to work on this, but because LoMaps works still quite nice I believe, we decided to do more useful tasks for now. So later for sure, just not sure when ...

@Viajero Perdido
damn, exactly this was already reported by two people and I still can't simulate this problem on my own device  :-[ ... ah, as @Diddi wrote below. It is a problem. It all looks perfectly bullet-proof in code and on my Pixel2 as well. Weird ...

@ADiet
good observation. As I see, internal icons are black in normal light mode and are changed to white (when adding) in dark mode. This is not correct I believe because the background of the dashboard (the map itself) does not change its color. I'll fix this.
Is this problem you have or you add your own external icons and you want to colorize it based on the light/dark mode?

@balloni55
hmm as I see, if app recognizes you as an owner, you should in the list of possible types of logs, see header "Owner" and below options "Owner maintenance", "temporarily disabled listing" or "enable listing" and "announcement". You do not see it there? Give me cache code, I'll test it. Btw. logged to geocaching account is not important here. App, based on the old system, still recognizes the owner by the name defined in Locus Map geocaching settings > "Your (owner's) name".

@freischneider
ah good point with "long click". Thanks, fixed.

@T-mo
check mainly content of the "Go Premium" screen, where should try to re-detect valid subscription.

@didado
Carpe Iter, hmm. Do you know what web browser is there? May you also give it a try and install and use for this "Google Chrome" from the Google Play?

EDIT: it looks to me, that we should start splitting some topics into separate posts  :)
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

12
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (beta)
« on: March 16, 2021, 13:23:31 »
"As I remember, Menion wanted to not overstuff the preset system."

Wrong thinking 😁 IMO the preset system should be overstuffed. We use it to batch apply settings. To avoid to visit specific settings. I love to use presets and I totally dislike having to set map or theme manually...
I'm all with you here :)
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

13
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (beta)
« on: March 16, 2021, 11:10:43 »
"As I remember, Menion wanted to not overstuff the preset system."

Wrong thinking 😁 IMO the preset system should be overstuffed. We use it to batch apply settings. To avoid to visit specific settings. I love to use presets and I totally dislike having to set map or theme manually...
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

14
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (beta)
« on: March 16, 2021, 11:00:51 »
Menion, is there a reason why Maps aren't part of the preset system? Would be useful IMO.
For best possible area overview I wanted to create a preset with the wonderful Asamm hike+bike map. But otherwise I use osm based vector maps + themes.
I second that. As I remember, Menion wanted to not overstuff the preset system. I also think that being able to chose a Map theme, but not a Map, is inconsistent. I assume the reason here is that themes can be used anywhere, but map may not be available for the current position. But so what, then the user has to pan, no big deal...
I would like to add Map Overlays, too. This is even more of a case for presets: While maps are just a single selection, overlays have several parameters (which one, alpha, blend mode), which is a pain to select each time. Would be great to have presets for your favorite overlays with the perfect settings.
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

15
Locus Map (4+) / Re: Locus Map 4, discussion (beta)
« on: February 15, 2021, 16:17:35 »
On Android 11 (at least Samsung Variant), when an app asks for Location Permission after first install, you can only allow "while app is being used". This will prevent Locus from recording a track when the display is off, for example. You have to actively enter Android Settings and enable "always" for the location permission.

It would be nice if Locus could check the state of this permission when a user starts track recording and open those settings for him in case they are wrong. Otherwise users will not be able to properly record tracks unless they keep display on and Locus in front.
The following users thanked this post: michaelbechtold

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7