Locus Map - forum

Support => Troubles & Questions => Topic started by: ralhil on August 19, 2011, 19:24:10

Title: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: ralhil on August 19, 2011, 19:24:10
Hi.First--thanks for this great work.With internal GPS and Tracking it works but when i use Bluetooth my Tracking freeze.I think its not a problem of my phone,with (sorry) Orux it works great.
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: Menion on May 29, 2013, 17:32:23
Hello Ralhil,
  I found your new topic here viewtopic.php?f=27&t=3125 (http://forum.locusmap.eu/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=3125) . When I look on your post, almost all are related to Bluetooth GPS. This post is almost two years old, so sorry for a quite late response :)

  Anyway, if there are any problems with connectivity, it's better to contact me, then in German section (sorry, I don't understand German even a word). Gynta and many others are very very kind and helpful, but are short on problems that should be in Locus. Also they're not developers, so it's not necessary to bother them with bad mood and repeating problem. I'm here for this ..

  So back to topic ... seems you still have some problems with BT GPS. Is this only problem? If so what happen, Locus do not even connect to BT device? May you write me which phone, android version and BT device you use?
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: ralhil on May 30, 2013, 15:31:38
Hallo menion,thanks for your answer.
1: i can connected with Bluetooth to my Devices (Samsung Galaxy S3) but not continuously.Sometimes it works for 1 hour and the next time for only 10 minutes.
2: i use the newest Android Version for the S3---it's 4.1.2.
3. my Bluetooth Devices are--Qstarz 1000xt and the new Garmin Bluetooth GPS Mouse GLO.
Otherwise Locus works fine for me.I love this App,because this Bluetooth Problem makes me crazy.
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: Menion on May 30, 2013, 18:27:28
sure, you're welcome ..

so you write it works for limited time. And then what? I ask because Locus has reconnecting mechanism, so if you lost connection to any BT device, Locus should try to connect again after few seconds. Isn't there problem that Android itself completely close Locus after some time? That for example you put Locus into background and after few hours, it's completely closed together with connection to GPS?
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: berkley on May 30, 2013, 18:53:00
Ralhil,
are you using stock Android 4.1.2 or some custom ROM?

I'm owning a Qstarz 1000xt myself. And it works well together with Locus. My older and newer testing devices are SGS1, SGS2, Nexus7, Asus Transformer, some other phones from friends of mine, even a Micro-Android-PC connected to my TV are holding the bluetooth connection.
I really can confirm the reconnection mechanism Menion is talking about.

We really like to help you, but you need to answer our questions, so we CAN help you!
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: ralhil on May 30, 2013, 19:46:37
Hi berkley,
please look at my first post.Point 2.
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: Menion on May 30, 2013, 19:54:23
so after almost two years, you have exactly same problem? Interesting ... between that I completely changed way how Locus works with BT devices and you still have this problem with latest 2.12.0 version?

If so, then why you do not try any external program? There is no need to use Locus internal system for BT GPS. I may suggest for this application https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... roid.btgps (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=googoo.android.btgps) which make a working connection between BT GPS and any application that use GPS location. So you may try this.

And if you want to fix this problem in Locus, there is need for logs. You may create them by this method http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php/manual ... eation_log (http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php/manual:how_to:creation_log)
Title: Re: AW: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: jusc on May 30, 2013, 20:27:20
@Menion,

I just tried to use Locus with Bluetooth directly, but I couldn't get it to run.
Phone is Note 2 with a  Cyanogen 4.2.2 custom rom derivat.
The Bluetooth device is a Jentro GPS mouse.
With a Bluetooth app it works.

So if I can help, please let me know.
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: Menion on May 30, 2013, 20:36:50
jusc I think you already know methods :)

if you want to make some problem working
1. I need exact description, what happen, where is stop etc..
2. usually helps logcat for start. If not, I may create some testing versions with additional debug information
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: berkley on May 30, 2013, 20:42:02
Menion,
in general, you can point them to new "Android Studio". So they don't need to root their device to create a log file.
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: Menion on May 30, 2013, 20:43:20
there is already prepared pack for this case http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php/manual ... thout_root (http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php/manual:how_to:creation_log#jelly_bean_devices_without_root)
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: berkley on May 30, 2013, 21:32:21
Quote from: "menion"
there is already prepared pack for this case http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php/manual ... thout_root (http://docs.locusmap.eu/doku.php/manual:how_to:creation_log#jelly_bean_devices_without_root)

nice, perfect!!!
Title: Re: AW: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: jusc on May 30, 2013, 22:17:36
Quote from: "menion"
jusc I think you already know methods :)


Yes I know, but in the moment I am not at my PC. What I mean, after pairing the system  Bluetooth with the GPS mouse, the Locus internal connection to Bluetooth mouse doesn't work. If I choose the connection over an other Bluetooth app, the connection works fine.
I'll go to make it more clear tomorrow.
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: Menion on May 30, 2013, 22:37:03
I thought that BT GPS works fine in all cases in Locus, but seems not ... if you'll want spend some time with this, we should fix it. I'll be out-of-service tomorrow, maybe also in Saturday, so no hurry ...
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: berkley on May 30, 2013, 22:41:41
Quote from: "menion"
I'll be out-of-service tomorrow, maybe also in Saturday, so no hurry ...

I guess chances are not good that you'll be out of service for 2 weeks?
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: Menion on May 30, 2013, 22:55:19
no they aren't. max two days, sorry :)) ... vacation is planned on June/August, not sooner
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: berkley on May 31, 2013, 06:54:19
Quote from: "ralhil"
Hi berkley,
please look at my first post.Point 2.

Ralhil, guess how many custom ROMs are based on Android version 4.1.2?
BTW, it was your second post...
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: jusc on May 31, 2013, 08:15:09
@menion,
send you an email.
I need to use an external Bluetooth GPS app for the connect the GPS mouse with Locus. Internal Locus Bluetooth GPS function doesn´t get the GPS infos from GPS mouse.
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: Menion on June 01, 2013, 19:22:37
hello Jusc, thank you for an email. Seems there are no serious problems that should be recorded in logs. This probably means that communications with your BT device should work fine, but locus incorrectly handle received data ..

anyway, just to be sure
1. in Bluetooth manager in Locus, you choose "Enable GPS from bluetooth device"
2. then you turn on this "GPS device"

and then what? Locus write you that connection to your device was done? Or you see some error message that Locus is not able to connect to BT device?

In case, Locus connect to BT device, but you don't see any data in screen with satellites, then best is to enable "NMEA recording" in settings > GPS. This will cause, then in Locus/data/nmea directory will be (after a while of enabled connection) file with raw data from BT GPS. I can then use this recorded file to simulate connection on my device and fix problems

In case, Locus do not connect to BT device at all, I'll need to create some test version with more debug information, if you'll be interested in fixing of this problem.

Using external program is working solution that have one main advantage and one main disadvantage. Good is, that you may then use BT GPS data in more then one application at once. In case you want to use BT GPS just in Locus, it's much better to do it directly in Locus, because Locus will correctly enable/disable connection when it's needed. Let me know, I'll gladly help
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: jusc on June 02, 2013, 08:32:41
Quote from: "menion"
anyway, just to be sure
1. in Bluetooth manager in Locus, you choose "Enable GPS from bluetooth device"
2. then you turn on this "GPS device"

and then what? Locus write you that connection to your device was done? Or you see some error message that Locus is not able to connect to BT device?

I get this screen. "drevice connected".
I only can quit. Afterwards Bluetooth GPS is no longer "active".
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: Menion on June 02, 2013, 08:40:59
you got this screen ...

did you tried to tap on BT-GPS8 JENTRO? Ah you tap on it and then you see small message "device connected"? If so, then you should try to record nmea messages as I wrote above

sorry for my stupid questions, I'm just not sure where exactly are you stuck
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: jusc on June 02, 2013, 14:57:07
aahh, damn, I did not recognize that I have to tap on the shown device field.  :oops:
I thought, that the message "Gerät verbunden" (translated as device is (already) connected) should automatically disappear, or should be confirmed by an OK button. The translation has a bit confused me. For simple minds like me  :lol:  it should better be translated as "Verbinden mit:" than you tap on the device you find in the list.

Sorry for wasting your time, but for me it was good to talk about it. Now I can finally make a few tests  :mrgreen:
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: gynta on June 02, 2013, 16:25:56
@jusc
Quote from: "jusc"
The translation has a bit confused me.
-> viewtopic.php?f=27&t=301&p=21221#p21221 (http://forum.locusmap.eu/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=301&p=21221#p21221)
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: ralhil on June 02, 2013, 22:18:48
Quote from: "berkley"
Quote from: "ralhil"
Hi berkley,
please look at my first post.Point 2.
Ralhil, guess how many custom ROMs are based on Android version 4.1.2?
BTW, it was your second post...
Sorry, its right. i'm on original stock rom from samsung.
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: silber1 on June 04, 2013, 13:38:24
I just returned from a 14 day travelling through Poland by bus and walking.
I used the Poland vector map in a Samsung S3mini and a Note 10.1 together with an external Qstarz 1000P.
For additional power I had a TeckNet iEP 7000mAh external pack with me.  So I could be online all over the time.
Bluetooth worked flawless with Qstarz 1000P. Thanks for that great Locus software!
Title: Re: Locus and Bluetooth
Post by: Synapse on June 18, 2013, 19:41:26
Hello, I have some issues conecting a GlobalSat BT 359 with my new smartphone built around a MT6589 combo chip.
There's an  error popup when I try to link it with the built in bluetooth of Locus.
The only way to make it working is to run the app linked in this thread, bluetooth gps
There was no problem with my last phone and his older MTK chip,  I tried to reset locus parameters but no sucess.
Is the MT6589 supported ?